Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2014, 08:09   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11
MaxSea Instalation Support

hy, i have this ecquipment at board i whant to know what i need to connect to maxsea tz plot ?
koden kat100 ais
furuno gp-33
furuno -fcv-291
__________________

__________________
bolfescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 06:33   #2
Registered User
 
ranger42c's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Maryland, USA
Boat: 42' Sportfish
Posts: 2,985
Re: MaxSea instalation support

I've gotten good support in the past from MaxSea customer service in France.

-Chris
__________________

__________________
Selby Bay, South River, Chesapeake Bay, USA.
ranger42c is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 06:58   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 4,583
Re: MaxSea instalation support

Did you check the TZ manual under Getting Started - Setting Up Instruments?
You are either going to use a serial connection with NMEA0183 on it (probably using a USB port and USB/Serial dongle) or an ethernet network connection (if any of your Furuno gear offers one).
__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 07:39   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11
Re: MaxSea instalation support

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
Did you check the TZ manual under Getting Started - Setting Up Instruments?
You are either going to use a serial connection with NMEA0183 on it (probably using a USB port and USB/Serial dongle) or an ethernet network connection (if any of your Furuno gear offers one).
Im new in this, i dindt have any serial(only ais ) output connection...niether ethernet connection from all...how can i do this modification from nmea0183/2000 to ethernet connection for pc?
__________________
bolfescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 08:15   #5
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,586
Images: 240
Re: MaxSea instalation support

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, bolfescu.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 09:26   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11
Re: MaxSea instalation support

:-)


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
bolfescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 10:35   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 4,583
Re: MaxSea instalation support

The GP33 offers NMEA serial output. If the GP33 is connected to the other devices, then it is probably easiest to use. You would go GP33 NMEA 0183 output to Serial/USB adapter to PC to Maxsea.
__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-10-2014, 14:59   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11
Re: MaxSea instalation support

I didnt see at the back of gp33 nmea 01833 output...


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
bolfescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 05:06   #9
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 4,583
Re: MaxSea instalation support

I don't have a GP33, but Furuno sells a NMEA 0183 cable for it: 000-156-405 according to their website.
__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 06:23   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11
Re: MaxSea instalation support

This is the back of gp33
Sow...?Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByCruisers Sailing Forum1413375770.318113.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	156.7 KB
ID:	89750
Where is nmeo 0183there is the output?


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
bolfescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 07:21   #11
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 4,583
Re: MaxSea instalation support

It is the middle one in the image. See page 9-5 of the manual AKA RTFM
__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-10-2014, 17:51   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11
Re: MaxSea Instalation Support

Ok teoretical i buy a cable i will connect to the pc
Via usb, im able to run with maxsea tz plot? And what should i get in maxsea?gps location and speed right?


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
bolfescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 06:11   #13
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 4,583
Re: MaxSea Instalation Support

It depends on what you setup in the GP33 to be relayed out the nmea0183 port. You will need both the gp33 serial cable and a serial-to-usb adapter.
__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 07:37   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 11
Re: MaxSea Instalation Support

Ok but is in the settings of gp33 the option for the gps location?ive saw on the internet one cable for nmea to usb ...not 2...ok until here i understand....if i will connect via usb the gp33 on maxsea tz plot, it will be ok?im asking because in the software maxsea at wizard connection is only usb gps garmin,everithing else ita via ethernet /serial...


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
bolfescu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-10-2014, 12:21   #15
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 4,583
Re: MaxSea Instalation Support

You will be using a serial connection (i.e. com port) on maxsea on the PC. The serial connection can get into the PC one of two ways. The first is a serial port on the side of the PC, it is typically a DB9 connector. Most newer PCs do not have a serial port. In this case you use a serial-to-usb adapter. This takes the serial connector on the cable from the gp33 to a USB connector on the PC. It then creates a (pseudo) serial com-port, like com14, that can be seen by Maxsea. There maybe a cable for the gp33 available that includes the serial-to-usb adapter -- if so I am not aware of it.
If you look at the setup on the GP33 menus, you should be able to find what can be relayed to the nmea0183 port in your configuration. The gp33 is a very flexible device with lots of options. It can only relay info that it has received. I'm sure at least GPS position is available.
Hope this helps.
__________________

__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
maxsea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help with stove instalation bucky Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 2 16-12-2012 02:17
Garmin Wind Gauge Instalation binkmann10 Marine Electronics 2 03-10-2012 18:56
When health issues happen aboard & support given. sundari Families, Kids and Pets Afloat 12 29-04-2006 08:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.