Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-09-2008, 12:06   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
Maxsea GPS Connection Problem

Hello everyone

I am looking for help with the connection between maxsea v11 (running on Windows vista) and GPS (Furuno 32). When I connect them in the Data input window I tried NMEA 183, or to change it to Furuno CIF. When I run on NMEA 183 there is no data display, when I change to Furuno CIF there is data display, but Maxsea still does not recognise the position. THe connection between GPS and the computer is by USB to Serial Port.

Please somebody help. I spend already days and days on it.

irma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 13:17   #2
Registered User
speciald@ocens.'s Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the boat - Carib, Chesapeake
Boat: 58 Taswell AS
Posts: 1,139
Have you checked which port has the data in NMEA. Run hyperterminal to look for the data sentences.

speciald@ocens. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 15:51   #3
Registered User
scotte's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: SF Bay Area, CA, USA
Boat: Privilege 39
Posts: 664
OK, so if it works in SeaClear that's a good sign that NMEA output from the GPS is making it to the computer. I would bet it's a configuration setting in MaxSea that's not right, especially since you mention that it worked fine with a previous system.

My approach would probably be to delete the current port in MaxSea and add a new one to get back to a vanilla configuration; then changing the bare minimum things needed and checking the data display tab (whatever they call it) that shows the NMEA sentences as they are received.
scotte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-09-2008, 16:12   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 7
I tried that already. but nothing changed. Any other ideas?
irma is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-01-2010, 13:15   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3

I had the same problem.
In the data input/Output Add new Instrument. Select the com port, select NMEA183 and choose which Baud rate your gps uses. if you dont know leave 4800. Now under advanced settings or just double klick the new entry to open the advanced settings menu. in the first line make sure position is checked under select. now under "sentence" there is a drop down menu. Try selecting RMC or GLL. Those 2 worked for me. If not try using the others one by one.

Now my only problem is how to get MaxSea to update the GPS info more often. It updates like once every 10 seconds. SealClear does it in real time no problem.
jablonsa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2010, 09:20   #6
Eternal Member
imagine2frolic's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Las Brisas Panama AGAIN!
Boat: Simpson, Catamaran, 46ft. IMAGINE
Posts: 4,508
Images: 123
mrsi2f, and I are having the same problem. We started last night, and still we can't get the gps to be read. We have tried RMC, & the rest, but no luck so far. We have gone back, and made sure the baud is 4800, and the gps is working properly. Any ides of what is next?.......i2f
SAILING is not always a slick magazine cover!
BORROWED..No single one of is as smart as all of us!
imagine2frolic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2010, 10:41   #7
Registered User
tartanss's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Thailand
Boat: Tartan S&S 48
Posts: 32
gps offset

Hi everyone. Havent run Maxsea for some time and have forgotten lots but i was sure a facility exists to offset the gps position when it is known ie when you are anchored on top of an island. can anyone enlighten me on on how.
tartanss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2010, 11:54   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Yet another gps-maxsea connection problem: I use a very cheap GPS logger (50) that declares NMEA protocol. If I connect the GPS to a PC running a generic GPS program, it seems that the connection between the two device is performed in port 4 and at a 115.000 baud. If i try to slow the speed rate of the generic GPS program, I can se no NMEA strings but only strange and undetectable strings. And THAT is seems to be the problem: switching to MaxSea, the maximum baud rate available is 38.400 and when I connect the two devices I can see the same, boring, incomprensible strings. Technically speaking, i seems that the GPS logger and the USB port handshake is performed at the higher avialable speed and later noone can change this settings. Does anyone can suggest something?

fabio is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MaxSea and USB GPS sokari Navigation 27 27-04-2010 16:30
Maxsea 10 GPS / Chart Calibration Captain Jaz Navigation 5 19-10-2009 07:48
Maxsea 10 and usb gps issue moongoose Navigation 7 03-05-2009 14:14
Maxsea problem Ray Navigation 69 03-05-2009 14:11
NMEA to VHF from GPS thru MaxSea geekoutofwater Marine Electronics 9 16-07-2008 02:23

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:13.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.