Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-05-2016, 18:35   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 28
Mast top wind not working

HI all, so I have a data collection wind direction and speed monitor on the mast head. Direction works fine. The wind speed does not record. The receiver has an unrecognisable line on it and does not show wind speed. so question A/how do I find out if it is the transmitter at the head of the mast or three receiver/display in the cockpit.? Seems to me having looked at the mast head all seems well and as wind direction data gets through the cable works so maybe the receiver (which of course is the pricier bit)....Any thoughts on how to isolate (make is Autohelm).
__________________

__________________
Smudge601 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2016, 18:52   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
Captain Bill's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: On the boat
Boat: Endeavourcat Sailcat 44
Posts: 2,313
Re: Mast top wind not working

What brand and model?
__________________

__________________
Captain Bill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2016, 19:46   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 201
Images: 1
Re: Mast top wind not working

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smudge601 View Post
HI all, so I have a data collection wind direction and speed monitor on the mast head. Direction works fine. The wind speed does not record. The receiver has an unrecognisable line on it and does not show wind speed. so question A/how do I find out if it is the transmitter at the head of the mast or three receiver/display in the cockpit.? Seems to me having looked at the mast head all seems well and as wind direction data gets through the cable works so maybe the receiver (which of course is the pricier bit)....Any thoughts on how to isolate (make is Autohelm).
How old is it? These don't last forever.

Try this: If you are in an anchorage or even a marina when the wind is light, look around at the mast-top anemometers (wind speed cups). You'll notice some spinning and some not. I think that's often down to age. Ours always spins when the wind is under 1kt, but many around us do not.

I replaced this (the mast-top speed rotor thingy on B&G wind device) on our Pacific Seacraft not long ago. It's very, very easy to do: five minutes (but we have mast steps; it would be a much bigger job without them). Pictures here:

https://pacificseacraft37.com/more-photos/
__________________
Lantau is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2016, 20:09   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Cayuga Lake NY - or on the boat somewhere south of there
Boat: Caliber 40
Posts: 1,096
Re: Mast top wind not working

easy first step is to clean up all the connections you can reach without climbing the mast. I thought my masthead wind transducer was bad and replaced it. Turned out to be a bad connection on the back of the instrument at the helm. Do the easy stuff first;
__________________
sck5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2016, 21:19   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Location: NNW Chicagoland
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Odyssey 40 "Voyageur"
Posts: 41
Re: Mast top wind not working

Most of the issues with Raymarine ST-60 package wind sensors on our boats were caused either by spiders tying up the wind cup assembly or the sun weakening the vane until it fell off, perhaps aided by a seabird.

I put the B&G system on last summer, but the wind direction indication failed. Navico replaced it under warranty. A Navico rep at one of the boat shows suggested that there had been a bad production run of these.
__________________
so34chi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2016, 22:21   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
maxingout's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Fort Pierce, Phoenix
Boat: Privilege 39 Catamaran, Exit Only
Posts: 2,606
Re: Mast top wind not working

My original wind speed and direction instruments from Autohelm lasted three quarters of the way way around the world before they failed (eleven years). The wind indicator at the top of the mast did not make it around the world either. It fell to the deck in pieces.

After that, I used a handheld anomometer, and I used my two wind generators to estimate wind speed and direction.

Not ideal, but it got the job done.
__________________
Dave -Sailing Vessel Exit Only

http://SailingUNI.com
http://maxingout.com
http://PositiveThinkingSailor.com
maxingout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 08:54   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Vilamoura - Portugal
Posts: 23
Re: Mast top wind not working

How can I tell if I'm getting a good signal from the wind transducer
Answer ID 51 | Published 07/11/2001 12:48 PM | Updated 07/11/2001 12:54 PM
How can I tell if I'm getting a good signal from the transducer? I am not getting any direction and speed readings on my display?
If you have a junction box in line with the masthead cable(typically near the base of the mast) you can verify if the wind transducer is functioning properly. You will need a DC Voltmeter to perform this check

With the wind instrument turned on check between the following colors using the bare wire as your reference -vdc(ground)

Red Wire = 8+vdc(voltage supply from head unit to the transducer)
Blue Wire = 2-6vdc (wind direction from transducer)
Green Wire = 2-6vdc (wind direction from transducer)
Yellow Wire= 0-5vdc (wind speed from transducer. This signal will varying with changes in wind speed

If the above signals are not present from the wind transducer then there may be break in the cable or the transducer has malfunctioned. The transducer must then be repaired or replaced. The wind transducer is not field serviceable and should be serviced by our factory repair or an authorized Raymarine distributor or dealer.
__________________
dietervoegeli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 09:57   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Charleston SC
Boat: 2001 Catalina 400 MKII
Posts: 52
Send a message via MSN to CCR2580
Re: Mast top wind not working

I had similar problems with my ST60+. Voltage readings on the back of the wind instrument were all too high. Wind indicator pointed straight to bow and had three dashes on the speed screen. Raymarine tech support said I needed to replace transducer so I replaced the transducer and still the system still would not work. Same results! I did notice the bare wire had frayed on the back of wind instrument so replaced that part of the bare wire and reconnected the bare wire to the back of the wind instrument. Also I applied a small amount of dielectric grease to each connector on the back of the wind instrument and now it works. Good luck!
__________________
CCR2580 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 10:39   #9
Registered User
 
sowwaninii's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Massachusetts
Boat: sabre 456
Posts: 44
Re: Mast top wind not working

Had similar problem with Raymarine st60. Checked voltage at junction box at base of mast and got bad reading on yellow. Went up them mast and removed unit and cleaned all the contacts. Problem resolved!
__________________
sowwaninii is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 11:28   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: virginia
Boat: islandpacket
Posts: 1,835
Re: Mast top wind not working

They have a st 50-60 tester on ebay
__________________
That derelict boat was another dream for somebody else, don't let it be your nightmare and a waste of your life.
Badsanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 12:00   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 4
Re: Mast top wind not working

Hello Smudge601. I agree with most, in that if the unit isn't too old and seems to spin properly like the others around you, the problem may well be a connection. I have an ST60 and the voltages at he head unit were there, but all wrong by quite a margin. I nipped up the mast and removed the unit, wired it up directly to the head unit (a bit Heath Robinson like) and it worked fine. Al that was left was to trace through the wiring and eventually find the fault. Someone had used a terminal block behind the headlining in the forward cabin and the ground had all but separated with corrosion.
Good luck.
__________________
Lanzarotetrevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 12:10   #12
Registered User
 
Manos1955's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Thessalonki Greece
Boat: Westerly Centaur 26
Posts: 153
Send a message via Skype™ to Manos1955
Re: Mast top wind not working

I have the same exactly problem with the ST 60
__________________
Manos1955 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 15:41   #13
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Lakeland, Florida
Boat: Irwin Citation 34
Posts: 131
Re: Mast top wind not working

I have an extra ST 60 masthead wind transducer for sale if anybody needs one.
__________________
Captndave1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2016, 16:49   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 28
Re: Mast top wind not working

Thanks all, I have a project for the weekend. I will as many of you suggest start at the display and work up from there stopping at said Junction box. Cheers I will report back.
__________________

__________________
Smudge601 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mast, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Who has a wind generator on top of their mast? natraps116 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 23 13-09-2015 13:03
How hard is it to attach a wind transducer to the top of the mast? northoceanbeach Marine Electronics 23 24-08-2015 06:30
420: 420 inverter issues. Our inverter is not working and we are not able to find a manual EW-WE Lagoon Catamarans 1 25-05-2014 09:27
Tacktick wind speed not working. svstrider Marine Electronics 3 07-01-2013 07:04
Working Through Retirement - AKA Working Retirement CNC-Charters Boat Ownership & Making a Living 21 01-09-2012 20:58



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.