Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2012, 16:01   #16
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 7,930
Re: Marine-grade wire for NMEA signals

+1 on what Dave says. Unless you run the cable to a breakout box and then run single pair shielded out to each item as you install it.
__________________

__________________
DeepFrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 16:24   #17
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Marine-grade wire for NMEA signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpeer View Post
So now I have to find a 15 conductor, stranded 15 pin sub D to 15 pin sub D cable.
Good video extension cables have all pins wired, some skip pin 9.

ciao!
Nick.
__________________

__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 17:01   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Isla Saboga, Las Perlas, Panama
Boat: 1994 Hunter 37.5
Posts: 163
Re: Marine-grade wire for NMEA signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
There is no point and in fact your making things harder for yourself in installing more pairs then needed. 2K uses a fixed connector, so to utilize the spare pair, you have to gunter the cable to access the extra pair. Thats a mess and interferes with the integrity of the cable

Pull a proper NMEA 2K stranded twisted pair/shielded cable. In you want extra pairs pull an additional cable.

dave
I havn't boned up yet on NMEA 2000 since I don't have anything yet that needs it. Is it full-duplex, so that one pair both transmits and receives? All my stuff is NMEA 0183, so it needs one pair to transmit, and a separate pair to receive. Then with one high speed and one low speed signal both in and out, that's 8 conductors right there. The chartplotter needs the high speed, but I think the autopilot is happy with low speed.

So I may run a NMEA 2000 cable for future use, then an 8 conductor for all the 0183 stuff, and I should have all I'll ever need.
__________________
oldjags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 17:21   #19
Senior Cruiser
 
hpeer's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Posts: 3,898
Re: Marine-grade wire for NMEA signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
Good video extension cables have all pins wired, some skip pin 9.

ciao!
Nick.
OK Nick and thanks for the tip.

I did find it at Cables to Go.

I do see that most of the cables there are missing pin 9 as you pointed out.
__________________
hpeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 18:18   #20
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Re: Marine-grade wire for NMEA signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by hpeer View Post
OK Nick and thanks for the tip.

I did find it at Cables to Go.

I do see that most of the cables there are missing pin 9 as you pointed out.
Yes, but is pin 9 used on your AIS? You can always just buy a connector at a place like Electronic Components Distributor | DigiKey Corp. | US Home Page

ciao!
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2012, 19:57   #21
Senior Cruiser
 
hpeer's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Posts: 3,898
Re: Marine-grade wire for NMEA signals

Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
Yes, but is pin 9 used on your AIS? You can always just buy a connector at a place like Electronic Components Distributor | DigiKey Corp. | US Home Page

ciao!
Nick.
Yes, all 15 pins.

1 ground
4x3 = for 3 NMEA connections, bi directional
2 for alarm output

1+12+2 = 15

I found a neat little break out box somewhere, a 15 pin connector with circuit board mounted wire terminations. I have that hooked up at the moment.

#1 NMEA goes to spare chart plotter (Standard Horizion) down below
#2 NMEA to Ray Marine C-80 plotter in cockpit
#3 to ICOM VHF and Pactor Modem

Alarm will go to a Sonalert eventually.

I don't need all 15 wires, but I don't get to say which ones are connected to what. Normal VGA connections killed high speed NMEA to C-80.

Cables to Go 6ft Flexima HD15 UXGA M/M Monitor Cable claims to have all 15 wires "loaded."

Never heard that term before but I think it means they are all there. Seems self evident.
__________________

__________________
hpeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Village Marine pw 200 - Older Watermaker leon17 Plumbing Systems and Fixtures 14 05-04-2012 18:26
Explanation for the Increase in Multihull Popularity deckofficer Multihull Sailboats 284 28-02-2012 22:18
For Sale: West Marine Inflatable PFDs FoReel Classifieds Archive 3 18-02-2012 02:18
Charter a boat for a day in E. Caribbean? redpointist Atlantic & the Caribbean 1 17-02-2012 20:21
Inflatable PFD with Harness for Short Person eddy Health, Safety & Related Gear 2 17-02-2012 06:30



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:08.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.