Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 16-02-2013, 12:03   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 68

Anyone using MacENC and have any views? Looking to use with a Raymarine E7 and Gold Navionics charts.

Sailormannn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 00:38   #2
Registered User
steve.garlick's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Fethiye
Boat: Bowman 40
Posts: 180
Send a message via Skype™ to steve.garlick
Re: MacENC

Brilliant bit of kit. My Mac connects to GPS via a ShipModule mix which puts the data onto the ethernet. Router sends signal to wi-fi which my Mac picks up. Can also tcp/ip to iPad as well, which I use as a repeater in the cockpit.

I'm using the Med charts, the coverage and price were great for all-med cover.

Great customer service, they're replied within 10 minutes to any query I've had.



steve.garlick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-02-2013, 02:19   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 102
Re: MacENC

Ditto what Steve said.
There is a simpler way to connect a GPS receiver. I use a BU 353 "hockey puck". Connects to a USB port, powered from the computer. Usually costs about $40. US on amazon. Can also be purchased on the inavX web site.

My iPad has its own GPS, so it was not necessary to send GPS data to multiple devices.
Rick R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2014, 03:59   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 1
Re: MacENC

I agree with Steve. I am using similar setup with Shipmodul coverting SeaTalk to NMEA. NMEA to SeaTalk is not possible. If you want routedata on your Raymarine repeater you should check if you have a Raymarine autopilot with NMEA port, like ST260. Connect a output from your Shipmodul to this port and everything will be working.
Due to MacENC shortcoming you need a Shipmodul with USB for this. MacENC is only repeating routdata through USB. For the WiFi setup you will use a Shipmodul with ethernet and set your gps in MacENC to 'ip only'. Repeating routedata is then no longer possible. May be 2 Shipmodul? Anyone has a better solution?
Gerriib is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:20.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.