Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-01-2012, 10:18   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,243
Lowrance HDS-5 or 7 displaying AIS via NMEA 0183?

I am trying to get my Lowrance HDS-5M to display AIS targets that the Standard Horizon GX2150 is putting out via NMEA 0183.

Having searched the forums, what I have gleaned is that this should definitely work, or should definitely NOT work, depending on who you believe.

So is there anyone WITH a HDS-5 or 7 that is showing AIS data via NMEA 0183?

That would be nice to know, that at least it SHOULD work.

The Lowrance documentation (FAQ, manuals, etc) is hopeless.

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
MarkSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 11:52   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Lowrance HDS-5 or 7 displaying AIS via NMEA 0183?

I have the 2150 but not the Lowrance. I looked at their manual and it looks like you should do the following:

1. Set the baud rate on the 2150 to 38400
2. Connect the 2150 grey wire to the HDS green wire. Connect the 2150 blue wire to the HDS yellow wire. Connect the 2150 brown wire to the HDS orange wire. Connect the 2150 green wire to the HDS shield wire.
3. Go to page 85 in the manual and set the networking to NMEA0183
4. Go to page 86 and configure the serial settings to RS-232 protocol and 38400 baud rate on both comm ports
5. Also on page 86 select NMEA output sentence "RMC and RMB"
6. Go to page 87 and select show and display all vessels.

If I understand this correctly, that should work. The HDS definitely will show AIS data.

Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 12:27   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,243
Re: Lowrance HDS-5 or 7 displaying AIS via NMEA 0183?

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
I have the 2150 but not the Lowrance. I looked at their manual and it looks like you should do the following:

1. Set the baud rate on the 2150 to 38400
2. Connect the 2150 grey wire to the HDS green wire. Connect the 2150 blue wire to the HDS yellow wire. Connect the 2150 brown wire to the HDS orange wire. Connect the 2150 green wire to the HDS shield wire.
3. Go to page 85 in the manual and set the networking to NMEA0183
4. Go to page 86 and configure the serial settings to RS-232 protocol and 38400 baud rate on both comm ports
5. Also on page 86 select NMEA output sentence "RMC and RMB"
6. Go to page 87 and select show and display all vessels.

If I understand this correctly, that should work. The HDS definitely will show AIS data.

Mark
That wiring diagram is for the models with 2 com ports.

Lowrance's own manual is full of errors. Firstly the 5 and 7 only have one com port. So in step 4 you can only set RS422 when 38400 is set.

On page 87 : on my plotter there is no display all vessels option. There is a "dangerous vessels" option.
__________________
MarkSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-01-2012, 12:41   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,049
Images: 12
Re: Lowrance HDS-5 or 7 displaying AIS via NMEA 0183?

Yes, I saw that there was only one comm port in the installation guide for the 5 and 7-series, but I downloaded the specific operating manual for the HDS5 and it describes it as two comm ports like above and shows how to set them up like that.

If you really do only have a single 422 port, then my best guess would be:
1. set the 2150 to 38400
2. Connect the 2150 blue wire to the HDS yellow wire. Connect the 2150 Brown wire to the HDS orange wire. Connect the 2150 green wire to both the blue and green wires on the HDS. Leave the 2150 gray wire and the HDS shield wire disconnected.
3. set the networking to NMEA0183
4. set the serial settings to 422 and 38400 baud
5. select the RMC/RMB output sentence
6. select display all vessels

You will be left without DSC capabilities on the chartplotter, but it will still work on the radio.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2014, 18:07   #5
Registered User
 
scgator2001's Avatar

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbia, SC
Boat: Privilege 39 FROLIC
Posts: 7
Re: Lowrance HDS-5 or 7 displaying AIS via NMEA 0183?

Did it work?
__________________
scgator2001 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-04-2014, 19:35   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 2,243
Re: Lowrance HDS-5 or 7 displaying AIS via NMEA 0183?

Yes it is now working perfectly. Standard horizon have a diagram on their website, which is the one to follow.
__________________
MarkSF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2014, 06:07   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northport, Michigan
Boat: Trailerable cruising boat
Posts: 303
Re: Lowrance HDS-5 or 7 displaying AIS via NMEA 0183?

Quote:
So is there anyone WITH a HDS-5 or 7 that is showing AIS data via NMEA 0183?
I have interfaced an HDS-8 with an AIS receiver using NMEA-0183. I show several screen captures of the display of AIS targets on the chart plotter at

continuousWave: Whaler: Reference: AIS Ship Spotter

The HDS chart plotter draws all AIS targets with a generic ship icon. The HDS does a nice job of presenting ship information. A screen shot in the above article shows that presentation. The article section under the heading "AIS Target Display on HDS-8."
__________________

__________________
continuouswave is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ais, nmea, nmea 0183

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Blue NMEA for Android via bluetooth familycruisers OpenCPN 42 30-12-2011 09:08
OpenGL for OpenCPN bdbcat OpenCPN 72 15-11-2011 01:17
Getting NMEA 0183 Data to a Laptop via Raymarine S1 Autopilot night0wl Marine Electronics 9 19-10-2011 08:18
VSPE to Connect AIS and NMEA Bus to One Serial PC Port Helmsmatt OpenCPN 12 15-08-2011 12:24
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:41.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.