Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 22-04-2019, 22:22   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 132
Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Please prove me wrong.

Thanks

Mike
__________________

Mike1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 09:55   #2
Registered User
 
blubaju's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: where my little boat is ;-) now Philippines
Boat: Catamaran Schionning Wilderness 1320, built myself
Posts: 284
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike1956 View Post
Please prove me wrong.



Thanks



Mike
Check the compatibility of the nmea sentences. Icom is very selective and different icom models require different nmea sentences, guess how I came to know! I bought a multiplexer with translation capabilities.
__________________

blubaju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 17:39   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 46
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

I’m not sure what your specific problem is, but Blubaju is right. For example, if you’re trying to get GPS data from the HDS 5 to the 411, you’ll find that some of the Icom radios required that the RMC sentence to be exactly “$GPRMC”. If the sentence was fed from an N2K converter ($IIRMC) or repeated from an autopilot ($APRMC) it wouldn’t work. Don’t ask how many hours it took to find this out.
Bycrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 23:32   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 132
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Thanks to you both,

So it is NOT a simple issue!.

In fact I have found contradictory instructions regarding which wires to connect but have tried all combinations. I also discovered I need to enable NMEA on my Lowrance HDS 5 which was switched off. Nothing I have tried has worked yet. I am aware I have read which sentences are used for communicating but did not pay much attention, assumed there might have been a degree of compatibility built in. Will need to have study.

Mike
Mike1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-04-2019, 23:43   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 132
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Just fished my ICOM IC-M411 manual out.

"Connects to a GPS receiver for position indication.
A NMEA0183 ver. 2.0 or 3.01 (sentence formatters RMC, GGA, GNS, GLL) compatible GPS receiver is required. Ask your dealer about suitable GPS receivers."

Mike
Mike1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2019, 11:55   #6
Sponsoring Vendor
 
Sea-TechSystems's Avatar

Community Sponsor

Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Seattle WA
Boat: 45' Jeanneau Sun Odyssey
Posts: 220
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike1956 View Post
Please prove me wrong.

Thanks

Mike
Without connecting the plotter to a computer or device and monitoring the output it's hard to know for sure which NMEA sentence prefixes it is sending.. As others have mentioned, if the sentences are GPGLL or similar, the Icom 411 will accept those messages. If they are ECGLL, etc.. then the Icom will ignore them.

However, you first need to make sure that HDS5 is setup properly.

HDS5 Installation Manual - Page 30
Icom ic-M411 User Manual - Page 42

1.) Pick one of the two ports to use for this (port 1 or port 2) for HDS... Looks like HDS5 units only have 1 port)

2.) Identify the positive and negative TX/Output wire on the Gen5 that corresponds to that port, and make sure they are wired to the corresponding RX/Input wires on the 411.

HDS5 - (On the power/data cable)
TX+ = Yellow
TX- = Blue

IC-M411 - (The wire on back of radio without a connector)
RX+ = Center Wire
RX- = Outer Shield

HDS5 User Manual - Page 107

3.) Set the HDS5 Port to NMEA or RS422 (not RS232)
4.) Set the HDS5 port to 4800 Speed (NOT 38400)

HDS5 User Manual - page 108

5.) Enable the GLL and GGA sentences to be output (Page 108 of the User manual) Note: HDS5 does not seem to support RMC and GNS (per Installation Guide)


Assuming you've done all of the above, and verified the settings.. If it doesn't work, it's likely that the issue is the NMEA0183 sentences are being "bridged" or converted from NMEA2000 inside the HDS5, and the prefix is not GP. If you have any other source of GPS, you may be better off trying to get the data directly from the other device (such as an AIS Transponder if you have one, but of course there may be configuration complexities there too.)
__________________
Richard Anderson, SV Mobert. Owner - Sea-Tech Systems - Communications, Navigation, and Weather packages and services for the offshore cruising boat.
Sea-TechSystems is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2019, 00:55   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 132
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sea-TechSystems View Post
Without connecting the plotter to a computer or device and monitoring the output it's hard to know for sure which NMEA sentence prefixes it is sending.. As others have mentioned, if the sentences are GPGLL or similar, the Icom 411 will accept those messages. If they are ECGLL, etc.. then the Icom will ignore them.

However, you first need to make sure that HDS5 is setup properly.

HDS5 Installation Manual - Page 30
Icom ic-M411 User Manual - Page 42

1.) Pick one of the two ports to use for this (port 1 or port 2) for HDS... Looks like HDS5 units only have 1 port)

2.) Identify the positive and negative TX/Output wire on the Gen5 that corresponds to that port, and make sure they are wired to the corresponding RX/Input wires on the 411.

HDS5 - (On the power/data cable)
TX+ = Yellow
TX- = Blue

IC-M411 - (The wire on back of radio without a connector)
RX+ = Center Wire
RX- = Outer Shield

HDS5 User Manual - Page 107

3.) Set the HDS5 Port to NMEA or RS422 (not RS232)
4.) Set the HDS5 port to 4800 Speed (NOT 38400)

HDS5 User Manual - page 108

5.) Enable the GLL and GGA sentences to be output (Page 108 of the User manual) Note: HDS5 does not seem to support RMC and GNS (per Installation Guide)


Assuming you've done all of the above, and verified the settings.. If it doesn't work, it's likely that the issue is the NMEA0183 sentences are being "bridged" or converted from NMEA2000 inside the HDS5, and the prefix is not GP. If you have any other source of GPS, you may be better off trying to get the data directly from the other device (such as an AIS Transponder if you have one, but of course there may be configuration complexities there too.)
Thank you Richard,

Cannot believe you have spent so much time trying to solve this for me, it is very much appreciated. Although I am not at the boat at the moment I have made notes and can confirm I have the wires connected correctly. This is good!.

However the protocol is RS232. This is not good!.

I have no idea what the BAUD rate is set to but by default I think it will be 38,400. This also not good!.

Armed with this additional info I now feel I have a very good chance of getting this sorted. Will be going to the boat in the next day or two. Will let you know how I get on.

In fact I do not have a hard copy of the manual for this set (HDS5) and have downloaded the USER MANUAL and was unaware there was a separate INSTALLATION MANUAL. The installation manual does make one or two things clear to which you refer.

Thanks again

Mike
Mike1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2019, 10:04   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northport, Michigan
Boat: Trailerable cruising boat
Posts: 409
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Regarding what particular NMEA-0183 sentences can be used by ICOM radios: I would not rely on either the ICOM literature or the ICOM technicians.

With my ICOM IC M401 radio I found that there was NO MENTION in the literature about a particular sentence, and that the only NMEA-0183 sentence that worked was $GPGGA.

ICOM technicians told me this was not true, but extensive experimentation showed it to be correct. Try $GPGGA with your ICOM.

Some other suggestions for older ICOM radios can be found at:

ICOM IC-M402: Rehabilitating an older VHF Marine Band Radio
ICOM IC-M402 Radio Rehabilitation - CONTINUOUSWAVE
continuouswave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2019, 10:08   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northport, Michigan
Boat: Trailerable cruising boat
Posts: 409
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike1956 View Post
...I have found contradictory instructions regarding which wires to connect...
For advice on making NMEA-0183 connections, including much specific information about specific devices, see

NMEA-0183 Interface Data Collection - CONTINUOUSWAVE
continuouswave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2019, 10:48   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 132
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Thank you CONTINUOUSWAVE,

I was sailing yesterday and did have a few minutes checking the settings suggested by Sea Techsystems and to my surprise the settings on the Lowrance HDS 5 were correct. I will have another look when I have more time but it is clear there is no simple solution.

I have emailed Navico (agents for Lowrance in UK) and they advise they have not tested the particular combination I have but the blue and yellow wires should provide the information required by the Icom VHF. If only it was that simple.

Will have a study at the links you have provided and will advise of progress (if any) in due course.

Mike
Mike1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2019, 00:22   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 132
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

UPDATE....

As well as posting on here I have been communicating with Navico (UK agent for Lowrance) and they have advised the HDS 5 may require a software update. Will be getting round to this as soon as I have chance and will advise of any progress.

Thanks all

Mike
Mike1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2019, 00:45   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 132
Re: Lowrance HDS 5 Gen2 to Icom 411 DSC impossible!!

Further update....

I checked the date/time on my HDS 5 yesterday and it was incorrect. The year is 2099. Navico/Lowrance advises a software update

HTTPS://downloads.lowrance.com/softw...ex.html?r=1887

Apart from the issue with the communication with the VHF for DSC the set works perfectly, it does everything the way I like it and I would not wish to change this.

The update is 133Mb and will take me an hour to download. I am concerned once installed on my HDS 5 the units functionality will have changed.

Any advice/reassurance.

Thanks

Mike
__________________

Mike1956 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
dsc, icom

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Matsutec HP-33A NMEA183 output AIS to Lowrance HDS Gen2 Touch Chartplotter Caroline Joan Marine Electronics 15 31-03-2017 08:14
Lowrance HDS12 Gen2 Touch Combo For Sale daniel212 Classifieds Archive 1 19-07-2013 17:47
Lowrance Gen2 Gen Touch new features JNoel Marine Electronics 1 17-06-2013 08:37
Nautic Insight charts on Lowrance HDS Gen2 Ziggy Marine Electronics 3 19-12-2012 16:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.