Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2018, 17:21   #1
Gav
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Lowrance 3G radar installation

I'm was planning on installing a new radar in the same location as the old one,which was on the mitzen mast just below the spreaders.The masts are made of spruce. This dome is a little bigger than the old one, Just out of the box this thing looks huge. Looking around the dock i don't see to many domes of this size up on the mast. The boat is a Megellan 36 a ketch rigged sailboat. What do ya think? Thanks.
__________________

Gav is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 18:48   #2
Registered User
 
wrwakefield's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Still enamored of higher latitudes; exploring Southcentral and Southeast Alaska— and British Columbia— for now...
Boat: Nauticat 43
Posts: 1,120
Re: Lowrance 3G radar installation

Gav, Welcome to the forum.

Our 4G RADAR dome is mounted as you describe; on our Mizzen mast just below the spreaders.

I assume it is about the same size as the 3G, but don't know for sure. It doesn't weigh much.

We were lucky in that the old RAdome platform worked for the 4G dome [after we drilled the new mounting hole pattern.]

It works well from this position. The one exception is we get an errant shadow ostensibly from the main mast typically appearing as a bogie about a mile ahead of the boat— always dead in line, and it doesn't stay visible. With your wood masts you may not have this same experience.

Does this cover what you were asking about?

Cheers! Bill
__________________

__________________
SV Denali Rose

Short on opinions; focused on research, facts & experience [yours and ours...]
wrwakefield is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 19:15   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Posts: 1,159
Re: Lowrance 3G radar installation

It is a standard 18 inch radome, not unusually large at all.

Certainly there are 12 inch domes around, but they are typically used on very small boats, and have really poor angular resolution.

The mizzen is a good place for it.
billknny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 20:34   #4
Gav
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 2
Re: Lowrance 3G radar installation

Thanks Bill, that covers it. I too should be able to use the original platform.
Gav is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
installation, radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OpenCPN SIMRAD/LOWRANCE Radar Overlay PlugIn cowelld OpenCPN 513 03-11-2016 13:35
Simrad 3G radar compatible wilth Lowrance HDS? andreas.mehlin Marine Electronics 6 28-05-2014 10:54
Any Lowrance 3G radar feedback? artist Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 38 03-03-2014 23:10
Lowrance/Garmin radar --energy saving feature Bradley Marine Electronics 0 12-01-2009 07:51



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:18.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.