Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 30-06-2011, 05:33   #1

Low-end Audio Installation Advice Sought

I'm a newbie here, and I don't know much about marine audio. You guys are in a whole different league than me; I'm just an old man on a fixed income with a fishing boat, asking for advice. Maybe one of you can give me a pointer or two.

I have a 1994 Alumacraft Dominator that has a radio/tape player in it. I want to replace it with a CD player before my upcoming fishing trip, in a few weeks.

I see a number of such devices for sale -- on Amazon, for example. What I don't know if whether the mounting and wiring is standardized on these units. Can I buy a CD player and reasonably expect that I can just remove the old unit, reconnect the power, speaker, and antenna cables, and be in business? Will it fit? I know that these things are pretty standard in cars, but have no idea about boats. I don't want to buy one and find out that it isn't an easy installation...

In case it means anything, the unit that I'm replacing bears the brand name AquaTech. I had it installed in the boat when I bought it new in 1994. I've never had to dig into it, so I don't know about the connectors (yet). Have they changed? From the front, it looks like a vanilla car stereo.

As long as I have your attention: any advice on great low-end units, or units to avoid? I see units from 'Pyle' on Amazon for about $100 and down, and a few Sonys for not much more. That's my price range. I notice that they mention '4x' speaker outputs; I have only two. It would be fun to have something that would accept a USB flash drive and/or SD card, but that isn't mandatory. (But if I don't get that, I'll probably be sorry later when CDs all but disappear...)