Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-04-2017, 16:24   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

Hi all,

I purchased a boat 2 years ago with a raymarine e80 screen, DSM 300 sounder module and thru hull airmar b164 transducer. Fantastic soundings at all speeds and at depths up to 80m. I've been going further out lately and started to notice that I lose all info after I go deeper than 80m, drifting or going over slow. Heard about issues with the dsm 300 module so I got a new CP370 from raymarine. No difference. It's 1kw setup so it should do 500m easily. I've increased ping speed, changed from 200 to 50hz, left it in auto settings, turned it off, reset settings, increased gains. Have I missed anything. The depth display just flashes and shows nothing until I go shallow again.
Any ideas??
__________________

Fishmn28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 16:36   #2
Senior Cruiser

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,655
Re: Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

One thing that comes to mind is maybe the transducer is fouled.

Another thing is if you have a drop off at say 60m. How deep is the water actually when you lose the readout?

b.
__________________

barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 16:51   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 2
Re: Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

I thought it might be the face of the transducer but when I inspected it there was no sign go of fouling. Maybe a wipe or light sand just to make sure. 50-60m is where I do most of my soundings and it's perfect. Picks up everything on the bottom, but at 80-100m it starts blinking and reads nothing. My cheap hummingbird is still reading 100
Fishmn28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 17:56   #4
Registered User
 
rwidman's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: North Charleston, SC
Boat: Camano Troll
Posts: 4,669
Re: Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fishmn28 View Post
Hi all,

I purchased a boat 2 years ago with a raymarine e80 screen, DSM 300 sounder module and thru hull airmar b164 transducer. Fantastic soundings at all speeds and at depths up to 80m. I've been going further out lately and started to notice that I lose all info after I go deeper than 80m, drifting or going over slow. Heard about issues with the dsm 300 module so I got a new CP370 from raymarine. No difference. It's 1kw setup so it should do 500m easily. I've increased ping speed, changed from 200 to 50hz, left it in auto settings, turned it off, reset settings, increased gains. Have I missed anything. The depth display just flashes and shows nothing until I go shallow again.
Any ideas??
Why not ask the manufacturer?

What sort of boating are you doing that you need to know depths greater than that? In my boating experience, I only need to know that it's shallow enough to anchor and deep enough that I won't go aground.
__________________
Ron
HIGH COTTON
Sent from my laptop using Windows 7
rwidman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-04-2017, 18:41   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2016
Posts: 37
Re: Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by rwidman View Post
Why not ask the manufacturer?

What sort of boating are you doing that you need to know depths greater than that? In my boating experience, I only need to know that it's shallow enough to anchor and deep enough that I won't go aground.
Prawning in BC is often carried out in 90 to 100m depths.
Nightsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 02:58   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
GordMay's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 34,033
Images: 240
Re: Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Fishmn.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-04-2017, 06:46   #7
Senior Cruiser

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,655
Re: Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

It could also be that the bottom is of the type that does not generate a strong response?

I mean probably the returning signal is a proxy for radio hardness of the bottom. Say rock can be read at 100 m but ooze at only 80?

Our in-hull mounted (but thru hull type) Ray reads to about the same depth as your sensor but it did read to about 120 meters back in Sweden.

So, my guess is age/condition of the sensor may count or else there is a big variation in how strong an echo you get depending on what the bottom is made out of.

b.
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2017, 12:42   #8
Registered User
 
El Pinguino's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Somewhere in Patagonia
Posts: 4,937
Re: Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

My old Stowe sounder would only show to 80 metres. My newish Raymarine ST60+ runs out to about 140 metres and then just sits on the last reading with a small 'last' in the top left corner...... until it picks up a fish or some kelp or a thermocline and shows 3 metres and scares the bejaabbers out of me....
__________________
Simple Celestial https://www.dropbox.com/s/a5blh1rgvi...ation.pdf?dl=0

A little bit about Chile http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Chile
El Pinguino is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-04-2017, 21:31   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
DeepFrz's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Winnipeg
Boat: None at this time
Posts: 8,171
Re: Losing depth readings after 80m please help!!

Fishmn28, check all your wiring connections and battery voltage.
__________________

DeepFrz is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth, lease

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Missing depth readings. mestrezat OpenCPN 3 26-10-2014 03:12
Depth Gauge Gives Wrong Readings, Raymarine myocean Marine Electronics 5 19-07-2013 10:37
how do you compensate your depth gauge readings sdowney717 Marine Electronics 15 20-06-2012 16:30
Odd Depth Sounder Readings S/VSkylark Construction, Maintenance & Refit 3 19-01-2010 10:54
Wonky depth readings form Simard IS12 witzgall Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 0 27-09-2009 10:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 19:33.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.