Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average. Display Modes
Old 08-01-2010, 13:24   #421
Marine Service Provider

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Boat: Westsail 32 #676
Quote:
Originally Posted by Extemporaneous View Post
I have a gimbaled radar part way up my mast on my 39ft. Mono Hull.
Can I take the top cover off the radar housing and attach a WiFi antennae on it and reinstall the cover. And then go with a 12db antennae, like the Cats?
Would the gimbal make it stable enough to do that I wonder? It is only gimbled port to starboard and not bow to stern.

Thoughts?

Extemp.
If you are going to use a Bullet based system the antenna will have to mounted on a 12" tube to allow for the fact that the Bullet extends down about 7" below the base of the antenna.

I think you will have to be the test case for an antenna mounted on the case of a gimbaled radar.

Here's a picture of a backstay mount from Kato Marine. You could use this above the radar mount.
Old 08-01-2010, 13:27   #422
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Probably a bad idea, in that close proximity the radar might pump enough energy into the Wifi antenna to do harm. And, the Wifi antenna usually is a couple to six inchs inches long? Won't fit unless it is beside the radar antenna (very bad idea) or laid horizontal, in which case it will pick up every station on your deck or above your boat, but not much else.

A piece of thin capped PVC pipe or vinyl tubing would make a better "extra raincoat" for it. Either might weaken a signal, but probably not that you'd notice.
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 16:33   #423

Boat: 1984 Prout Snowgoose 37
...just putting in my 2 cents worth after using a ubiquiti bullet for about 6 months now on our boat and at the house...