Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 3.67 average. Display Modes
Old 08-02-2011, 08:39   #646
Registered User

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 461
Hi,
Just a question on POE I am going to buy the nanostation m2 and the bullet m2. I see that they are both powered by a seperate poe device that seems to work with the 220v ac. I also see the sv Jedi said that he uses a dc POE injector. I do not want to use AC to power the device. Does this mean that the standard Ubiquity POE 15 device is not usable?? if not where can I buy a dc POE injector??
thanks John
__________________

__________________
Fuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 08:49   #647
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuss View Post
Hi,
Just a question on POE I am going to buy the nanostation m2 and the bullet m2. I see that they are both powered by a seperate poe device that seems to work with the 220v ac. I also see the sv Jedi said that he uses a dc POE injector. I do not want to use AC to power the device. Does this mean that the standard Ubiquity POE 15 device is not usable?? if not where can I buy a dc POE injector??
thanks John
The power supply that comes with the NanoStation takes AC. It will also work with the Bullet, which comes WITHOUT power supply. If you want to use your 12V DC instead of AC you will have to buy a passive injector like this #3.95 one: (PoE) Power over Ethernet DC Power Injector / Splitter

cheers,
Nick.
__________________

__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 11:15   #648
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Just worth mentioning that either device just requires a DC POE supply. How that's derived doesn't matter as long as its the correct voltage, anything between 12 & 24 volts for Bullet & I believe 24 volts only for NanoStation, which is of course what the AC power adapter supplied with it provides.

This means that a passive injector won't work with NanoStation unless your boat has a 24 volt DC system.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 13:31   #649
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,825
http://www.ubnt.com/downloads/ns2_datasheet.pdf

It only needs 12 volts.
__________________
Memento,homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 19:00   #650
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by senormechanico View Post
Sorry for misunderstanding I was referring to latest NanoStation M2 which requires 24 volts, not legacy model you linked to.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 19:07   #651
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhula View Post
Sorry for misunderstanding I was referring to latest NanoStation M2 which requires 24 volts, not legacy model you linked to.
Ok, I'll repeat myself :-) The nanostationM2 comes with a 24V power supply... it's included with the unit. But it will take the same power as all other Ubiquity models: 9-24V at the radio.

So, this info that the NSM2 needs 24V is incorrect.

cheers,
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 19:09   #652
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,029
Richard, that spec sheet does not seem to say what power is required, only that a 24VDC POE injector is included. Typically that would mean they are providing a 24V supply and expecting a voltage loss in the wiring--and the radio device itself is going to reduce any excess voltage down to what it actually needs, which may well be 12VDC or less.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 19:13   #653
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
Ok, I'll repeat myself :-) The nanostationM2 comes with a 24V power supply... it's included with the unit. But it will take the same power as all other Ubiquity models: 9-24V at the radio.

So, this info that the NSM2 needs 24V is incorrect.

cheers,
Nick.
So Ubiquiti's own spec sheet is wrong then ???
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 19:23   #654
Registered User

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 461
Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
The power supply that comes with the NanoStation takes AC. It will also work with the Bullet, which comes WITHOUT power supply. If you want to use your 12V DC instead of AC you will have to buy a passive injector like this #3.95 one: (PoE) Power over Ethernet DC Power Injector / Splitter

cheers,
Nick.
Thanks Nick,
exactly what I wanted to know.
John
__________________
Fuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 19:37   #655
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhula View Post
So Ubiquiti's own spec sheet is wrong then ???
Nah.. it's just the PSU supplied with it, but I always get a 15V supply when I buy them so I guess that makes it wrong :-)

Anyway, here's the detail requested: http://www.ubnt.com/downloads/UBNT-A...pecs-gen_4.pdf

so.. it's 10.5 - 25V at the radio (which is different from what you put into the cable when it is over a couple of yards long).

The USB-powered versions are 5V of course.

ciao!
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2011, 19:43   #656
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 208
The importance of a quality antenna for us is the increased performance on the receive side. The party-megaphone analogy doesn't account for that. It's more of an ear-horn for someone across the street trying to listen in on a conversation at the party across the street.

I can adjust the output power of the radio down, but the only way I can increase received signal strength is with a better antenna.

George
__________________
thatboatguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 09:48   #657
Registered User

Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 461
First time setup of Nanostation M2 - help

Hi,
I dont suppose its possible for someone to give me some first time setup advice. its so complicated with these devices and its not as if I have not had any experience with POE wireless bridges as I used to have an airbridge.

Where's the quick start guide and how do I get it to the stage where I can select a wifi network? I can see them but not select any. After finally finding the beginners setup guide for nanostation 2 for truckers, marine etc deeply imbedded under a wiki link...I still cannot select a wifi network from the scan screen.

I had this problem years ago with the airbridge criptic software and I thought by now things would have improved with later software and devices.
Thanks John
__________________
Fuss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:02   #658
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: TX
Boat: Morgan 33 O/I-BREEZIN'
Posts: 8
WiFi Antenna

For what it's worth...
I've been use these guys Ant. and have been VERY happy with it
RadioLabs - Radio, Wireless and Beyond -
__________________
The pessimist complains about the wind;
The optimist expects it to change;
A sailor [a realist] adjusts the sails.
(apologies to William Arthur Ward)
Billiam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:12   #659
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhula View Post
So Ubiquiti's own spec sheet is wrong then ???
Naybe you missed the answer the first time I posted it:
The spec sheet is not wrong. IT SIMPLY DOES NOT SAY WHAT POWER IS REQUIRED. Not at all, anywhere. The power requirement was carelessly omitted from the spec sheet.
The power supply's maximum output is given, but one has little to do with the other, especially when a substantial voltage drop in the supply lines (PoE) is anticipated.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2011, 10:14   #660
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,029
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fuss View Post
Hi,
I still cannot select a wifi network from the scan screen.
Thanks John
Any chance that the ones you see are encypted, so you're locked out of them? (Just throwing out a guess here.)
__________________

__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cats Better for Long Distance Sailing? Cavecreature Multihull Sailboats 68 29-05-2009 02:05
Long distance communication MDhillon Navigation 2 10-03-2009 17:39
Long distance transport? dory36 Dollars & Cents 5 25-01-2007 13:35
buying and owning boats long distance capt lar Monohull Sailboats 10 29-03-2005 08:15



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.