Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Old 16-09-2015, 04:54   #1

Boat: One-off Baron von Hoevell, 29ft steel classic
Length of HF longwire antenna

Hi there,

With the refit now mostly behind us and the HF radio, ATU and through-deck connection made, it's time to install the longwire antenna and wrap up the whole HF install.

Obviously the length of the longwire is absolutely crucial to its preformance, and even though the ATU can play with it a little, picking the right length for the frequencies you hope to use most helps tremendously in preformance. I'm very new to the whole HF game myself, and haven't been able to thoroughly look into what frequencies I hope to use most on my upcoming big trip. We'll be coming from Europe, going to the Caribbean and back again to complete the loop. I installed the HF radio for weatherfax, email, cruising nets and occasional contact with the home-front (that last one is the least of my worries).

With this in mind, what do you guys suggest I use as antenna length? What do you have and why?

Note: I'll be using a regular longwire antenna, not an insulated backstay. From the longwire it'll go through an insulated deck-fitting which leads to the ATU which I installed below-deck. The ATU is grounded to the steel hull of the boat.

Old 16-09-2015, 05:38   #2

Boat: Trailerable cruising boat
Re: Length of HF longwire antenna

Generally an antenna must be at least one wavelength long to be called a longwire antenna. You can compute the length of a 1-wavelength-long longwire antenna from

Wavelength (in meters) = 300 / Frequency in MHz

It is generally easier to feed a longwire antenna if its length is not an integer multiple of a half-wavelength, as this will avoid having a very high-impedance feed point. More advantageous lengths are those that are odd multiples of quarter-wavelengths, as that will produce a low-impedance feed point, which can more easily be matched to the typical 50-Ohm transmitter output impedance.