Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-03-2009, 09:38   #16
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
My name is Eric D'Ancicco.

We still fully support the R1800 with service and parts.
__________________

__________________
JRC Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-03-2009, 15:08   #17
Registered User
 
Islander's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hampus View Post
My guess is that the PC puts out too many sentences. Try shutting them off and then turn them back on one at a time, using only the ones listed above.
I'll give this a go too - however, I think I need all these to get the full use out of my system (been a while since I configured it), so I would have to put them back in eventually.

Of course, there are also sentences from the instruments and GPS, so there is a fair bit of traffic!

Cheers.
__________________

__________________
Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2009, 18:18   #18
Registered User
 
Islander's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Looks like Jedi was correct!

My GPS (Garmin GPSMap76) is putting out a blank waypoint:

$GPBWC,201410,,,,,,T,,M,,N,,D*78

while my PC is putting out the real one:

$ECBWC,201410,4737.277,N,12224.760,W,239.6,T,221.4 ,M,0.852,N,0001*00

I don't know why the Garmin is doing this? I could program my mux to drop it but then I wouldn't be able to navigate routes without having my PC in the loop - something I've particularly set up to avoid.

Eric - I'll send you the NMEA stream by email, But I figure I'll just have to live with it.

Thanks all.

Cheers
__________________
Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-03-2009, 23:43   #19
Do… or do not
 
s/v Jedi's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: in paradise
Boat: Sundeer 64
Posts: 9,198
Yep, my Garmin 128 does the same and I think every Garmin does. Was enough reason for me to make it my backup GPS and install a Furuno GP-32 as primary.

By now I can dream this stuff, I spent hundreds of hours on it ;-) The two choices for making this work are:

- Buy another GPS that only sends one when waypoint is set
- Buy a mux that supports port priorities like the smart ones from ShipModul Marine Electronics It will drop the Garmin sentence until the PC stops sending it. Works like a charm but you already have a mux so if you're lucky you have one that supports port-priorities!

ps: you are way too far north!

cheers,
Nick.
__________________
s/v Jedi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 10:45   #20
Registered User
 
Islander's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 166
Quote:
Originally Posted by s/v Jedi View Post
ps: you are way too far north!

cheers,
Nick.
Hoping to remedy this in 2010!

Cheers.
__________________
Islander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 12:38   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Islander,

I reviewed the capture and concur that this is what is causing your problem.

I sent you an email on this also.

The R1500 can not differentiate between the populated BWC and the unpopulated one. The result is the blinking in and out of waypoints as you are seeing.

If the GPS is feeding your computer, and the computers output in non corrupted, then I would suggest you take the feed from the PC. If you are concerned about signal level drops, you can aquire a NMEA buffer amplifier to allow for more splits of the primary feed signal.

I hope this helps.
__________________
JRC Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 13:19   #22
Registered User
 
S/V Mother Ocean's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Beaufort, SC
Boat: Lagoon 37 Catamaran
Posts: 54
I posted a link to this post on another sailing BB. I like your attitude.

Here is a link to it.
http://www.latsandatts.net/forum/vie...=113486#113486


Dan
__________________
Mother Mother Ocean, I've heard you call, I've wanted to sail upon your waters since I was 3' tall.

S/V Mother Ocean
S/V Mother Ocean is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 14:30   #23
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Dan,

Thank you very much for the kind words. We appreciate it very much.

I firmly stand behind my companies products and absolutely believe that a large part of any companies success is its ability to support the customers that keep us in business.

If I can ever be of any assistance, please don't hesistate to contact me.

Fair Winds!

Eric
__________________
JRC Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 15:35   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: kefalonia ,ionian islands
Boat: Solaris Sunstar 38, Wild Honey
Posts: 149
Images: 1
help needed JRC

Quote:
Originally Posted by JRC Support View Post
Hey Guys,

I am an employee of Japan Radio Co., Ltd. and have registered here to provide you guys with any JRC support you need. We will have our own forum up in a few weeks for specific product info and questions, but for now, let me know if you need anything.

I have been with JRC for 6 years and can answer any questions you can come up with....within reason of course.
Good to have you onboard , welcome ! Now then , I have a JRC 1000 radar and have damaged the scanner to display cable , I have tried to both buy another cable or a new SRCN plug to fit . no luck yet , can you help ,please ? the cable part no is CFQ 878-15 or CFQ8871-10 would do .

regards ,gramos
__________________
gramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-03-2009, 15:41   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Email me your address at akell"at"jrcamerica.com

We have a box of cables that have a few strays in it. We can send you one.
__________________
JRC Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2009, 02:46   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: kefalonia ,ionian islands
Boat: Solaris Sunstar 38, Wild Honey
Posts: 149
Images: 1
Talking BIG THANK YOU .

Eric , I just opened my postbox ,here on a Greek island , and what a delight to find the radar cable you sent me !
many ,many thanks , I am very grateful to you and very impressed with your service, such customer care is unheard of in these parts .
It is a comfort to know that back up is there when you need it ,. well done ,you set a great . example. very best regards , gramos
__________________
gramos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2009, 03:08   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 34
Gramos,

No problem at all. Glad we could help.
__________________

__________________
JRC Support is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
Japan, radio

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hey, from US Navy in Japan ! HSEDuster Meets & Greets 13 10-07-2010 15:18
Charts of Japan Evan Classifieds Archive 8 08-11-2008 01:04
XM Radio & Sirius Radio cchris0411 Fishing, Recreation & Fun 25 13-03-2007 02:10
Japan to the Philippines Room with a View Pacific & South China Sea 1 05-03-2007 12:53
Hi from Japan skyking2 Meets & Greets 6 01-11-2006 11:39



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 17:37.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.