Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2018, 03:15   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

I have a Simrad NSS7 chart plotter. I'm looking for a second hand radar. Lots of people upgrading to broadband so counting on picking up some old school model cheaper. How can I figure out what radar will work with this plotter? Is the ethernet compatible across all brands? Is it just the cable connection that's different. I'm not averse to cutting off and resoldering end-connectors if that's all there is to it.



(and on a seperate note... $250 for a 15m cable? You cheeky sods. You could have made that with a CAT 5 cable if you'd just designed your boxes differently. tsk!)
__________________

andypag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 03:22   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 6,563
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

No, the interfaces for radar are proprietary.
__________________

__________________
Paul
Paul L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 03:50   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
Sailmonkey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Houston
Boat: '76 Allied Seawind II, 32'
Posts: 6,758
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Simrad display, simrad radar. And not all older domes are compatible with newer displays
Sailmonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 14:16   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Thanks. Are all Navico (lowrance/Simrad/B&G) different as well?

Are there any conversion boxes out there that allow you to connect different brands?
andypag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 14:19   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
44'cruisingcat's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,600
Images: 69
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

As long as it's not old, Simrad and B&G are the same hardware with software changes.

They should be compatible, but check with Navico.

I recently installed a Simrad pilot and remote control on a Lowrance plotter, no problems.
__________________
"You CANNOT be serious!"


John McEnroe
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 17:16   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Can I use any AIS with NMEA 2000 on the NSS7? Or does that have to be Simrad too?
andypag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 17:39   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
44'cruisingcat's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,600
Images: 69
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Yes. Simnet is nmea 2000 with different plugs. You can buy an adapter cable or make one.

There's currently a problem with a lot of Navico plotters. The time is wrong. Says it's 2099. My NSS 12 is affected, don't know about the 7.

This had been going on for a few weeks, Navico say they are working on a software fix for it.

Since it's happened, my AIS hasn't worked. I'm not certain it's related, but I think it could be. Certainly it could impact on TCPA calculations.
__________________
"You CANNOT be serious!"


John McEnroe
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 17:58   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 44'cruisingcat View Post
Yes. Simnet is nmea 2000 with different plugs. You can buy an adapter cable or make one.

Thanks, useful to know. Any suggestion where I can buy the plugs? What should I google? Simnet plug? Navico?
andypag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 18:09   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
44'cruisingcat's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 8,600
Images: 69
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

From memory, my NSS 12 has an NMEA2000 port on the back. The 7 might have too.
__________________
"You CANNOT be serious!"


John McEnroe
44'cruisingcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 18:14   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 44'cruisingcat View Post
From memory, my NSS 12 has an NMEA2000 port on the back. The 7 might have too.
Yes it does. But I meant, where can I buy the plugs to make up my own cables?
andypag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2018, 21:37   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 687
Images: 1
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Most of Simradís current gear uses the N2K standard plug. If you need to connect to a simnet device, buy a simnet cable, cut off one end, and replace with an N2K field installed connector. Check to be sure you get the sex right for whatever you are plugging into.
__________________
www.MVTanglewood.com
tanglewood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 11:14   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
Tugwit's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Olympia WA
Boat: Cascade 36
Posts: 57
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by andypag View Post
Can I use any AIS with NMEA 2000 on the NSS7? Or does that have to be Simrad too?
Any certified N2K AIS transceiver (or receiver) will output AIS PGN (e.g. 129794, 129809, and 129810) which should display vessel positions on the NSS7 with no problem. A reliable list of NMEA2000 PGN is here: https://www.nmea.org/content/nmea_st...sages_pgns.asp

(Radars, however, do not communicate data over NMEA 2000--hence the proprietary methods of connection.)

However, if you do not yet have an NMEA 2000 network installed, it can be a bit of work since you also have to power the network via a connection to the vessel batteries. A good primer is here: https://www.maretron.com/products/pd...on%20Guide.pdf While it is possible to make up your own NMEA 2000 cables using field attachable connectors, it is much more efficient (and reliable) to buy pre-made cables in the lengths required for your particular installation. As pointed out in an earlier post, if you must connect legacy devices with proprietary wiring standards (e.g. Simnet), you can buy adapter cables such as these: https://www.defender.com/product3.js...879&id=1013580
Tugwit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2018, 13:21   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Coast Florida
Boat: Chris Craft 38 Commander 1965
Posts: 196
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

A interesting side question would be - what if you purchased a used radar that was one of the units supported by OpenCPN and used it with an onboard PC.
The question is would the OpenCPN Plugin totally control the radar without any need for a connected chartplotter?
Someone here or on the OpenCPN forum should know.
Squanderbucks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2018, 03:41   #14
Registered User
 
Recy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Boat: Sun Odyssey 45.2
Posts: 40
Re: Is any radar compatible with any chart plotter?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Squanderbucks View Post
A interesting side question would be - what if you purchased a used radar that was one of the units supported by OpenCPN and used it with an onboard PC.
The question is would the OpenCPN Plugin totally control the radar without any need for a connected chartplotter?
Someone here or on the OpenCPN forum should know.
Yes it will work without MFD.
__________________

Recy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AIS and chart plotter not compatible Blue Yonder Monohull Sailboats 2 03-04-2014 16:58
Open CPN Files Compatible with Lorance Chart Plotter Don1500 OpenCPN 1 02-01-2012 10:17
RC530 Raymarine Chart Plotter / Radar Sacrebleu Marine Electronics 4 31-07-2011 09:04
Radar or Chart Plotter LakeSuperior Navigation 20 02-10-2008 14:18



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:16.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.