Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-12-2017, 21:29   #1

"Internetting your boat" HOWTO

This is just a howto article. For full disclosure, I have not done this to my boat, it's too small to worry about going to these lengths and when I'm aboard I try to unplug mostly from the outside world, but I can and do sometimes use internet for work purposes while aboard.

As a former network engineer I figured I'd lend a hand to anyone looking for the answers to these questions.

In order to get good wifi or wired access to the internet on your boat you are going to need these things:

1. Internet signal
2. Tx capability (wired or wired)
3. Encryption (so nobody can sniff your signal or jack your connection for free)
4. End client hardware to make use of it (computer, cell phone, tablet, whatever)

1. INTERNET SIGNAL

Depending on where you plan to have access, this will be either cheap and easy or very expensive and difficult.

For coastal areas near major urban centres and highways, you can usually use a cellular connection via a "mobile hotspot". They vary wildly in price and features, but with a $10 extra SIM card and one of these suckers you can use your phone plan's data and light up most boats with the single device.

Most modern cellphones also have this feature, but as I'm sure most people would agree, it's better to have a working cellphone when you need it than a dead one because your crew or guests were playing on the internet all day while cruising while it was in your pocket. Just using your cellphone is cheaper, but it comes with two drawbacks: (1) it's not mountable high up the boat, and (2) being near the waterline will reduce the signal strength.