Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-04-2006, 13:59   #1
Marine Service Provider
 
tilmonday's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dover, NH
Boat: Leopard 46'
Posts: 41
Interface Raymarine chartplotter to Autopilot

Has anyone interfaced there Raymarine Chartplotter to their Autopilot? I have the RL80CRC chartplotter/GPS and the ST6000 autopilot. I believe it is possible to interface the two, if so what is involved?

Thanks for your help

Dave
__________________

__________________
tilmonday is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2006, 17:21   #2
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,042
Dave, a toll-free call to Raytheon/Raymarine tech support should get you the real answer. Since they make both parts, they probably know.
__________________

__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2006, 19:22   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Seattle area (Bremerton)
Boat: C&C Landfall 39 center cockpit "Anahita"
Posts: 1,076
Images: 6
One problem

Having delivered a few yachts that had the autopilot interfaced with a desired chartplotter waypoints is that the REAL problem is that in order to make the system work a GPS input is required to "tell" the system just where you are thought to be. The usual systems only have a response time of a second (at best) or worst, especially if your chart "plotter" info is delivered from a windows based laptop or computer.

Even with a reliable chart plotter (translation: no windows based system involved) the apparent response time of the autopilot to the "system" becomes encumbered and, therefore, seems to be sluggish or downright wrong. If you are in heavy seas you will need to defeat such inputs to the autopilot and just give it the desired heading, piecemeal if you will, without a GPS input and you will have much better chance of not falling off course causing a broach going downwind or downseas. Sorry, yet that is the state of things as they are now.
__________________
Rick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-04-2006, 22:41   #4
Senior Cruiser

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2,453
TilMonday - Both units have the RayMarine propriatary bus (SeaTalk) - hook them together with their special cable (there should be two connections on each unit and you 'daisy-chain' them - if not, you can also purchase a junction box). Both units have an extensive menu system; you'll find an 'enabling' selection burried in there (if it doesn't automatically figure it out).
__________________
S/V Elusive is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-05-2006, 09:16   #5
Marine Service Provider
 
tilmonday's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dover, NH
Boat: Leopard 46'
Posts: 41
Up and running

Thanks for all your help, I was able to get the 2 communicating.
__________________
Dave
tilmonday is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot, chartplotter, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alternative to Raymarine instruments claire Marine Electronics 19 14-05-2006 01:01
Autopilot salty Marine Electronics 3 25-03-2004 17:48



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:24.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.