Cruisers Forum

Go Back   Cruisers & Sailing Forums > Engineering & Systems > Marine Electronics
Cruiser Wiki Click Here to Login
Register Vendors FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Log in

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-02-2011, 17:44   #1

Boat: Downeaster 38
Integrated Electronics and All Your Eggs in One Basket

What is the redundancy or backup for integrated electronic systems that all share the same network? I have been wondering about this and would like to pose a few questions for anyone who would like to jump in.

My background is in aviation where integrated electronics has become common but not without two or more degrees of redundancy or backup at every level. Essential instruments have their own network and are not allowed on the main network. Is there any such thing in the design of marine integrated electronics network?

For example, a NMEA 2000 network is a four wire cable with two signal wires and two power wires for all the instruments on the bus. If the power wires loose power, then everything goes dead? True? Is anyone installing these networks with alternative power source or are there any networks that make a provision for this?

I see these networks sometimes go up the mast to masthead instruments. If you get dismasted then what? Wouldn't that also break the network cable and cause you to loose position, heading, radar, autopilot and maybe even engine instruments?

Do those of you with these systems still have a magnetic compass?

Is is possible for a device, connector, terminator or something on the network to fail and bring everything down with it? How do you troubleshoot this or is anyone installing these systems with some kind of redundancy and what is that?

Do you carry spare parts for the network? Spare cable, connectors, terminator resistors, etc?