Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-07-2016, 09:15   #16
Registered User
 
the_alpine's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: st petersburg, fl
Boat: O'Day 302
Posts: 263
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Lots of info here. Lots of people suggesting taking the data to a pc.

I'm not a fan of that option, just because of the added system. I like just turning the system on and everything is up and running.

However, maybe you could tell us what your intended useage is? Just cruising around your local sailing area, or more far flung adventures?
__________________

__________________
the_alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 09:27   #17
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sweden/Croatia
Boat: Lagoon 450 Sportop
Posts: 31
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

You might want to take a look at Home - Madman Marine Electronics . They have an adapter that does what you want. You can even remote steer your Raymarine autopilot with it.

I looked at this but since I have B&G autopilot, the NMEA commands are not the same ...
__________________

__________________
afriis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2016, 19:07   #18
Registered User

Join Date: May 2016
Location: mackay, queensland. australia
Boat: e.a jack (builder), g.l watson (designer), 6.2 mtr wll sailboat
Posts: 484
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

we use open cpn / recently watched a man in a dinghy check wind strength on a smartphone by logging on to his raymarine built in instrument wi-fi he was checking the working distance of Wi-Fi and looking for any blank areas/ it looked about 30-40' all around his vessel/ looks like raymarine make the equipment you are looking for / if your boat is 70' and you want to read depths from your smartphone while forward with your foot on the anchor button you may need to amplify your Wi-Fi signal/ same with sitting on the top spreader of a 100'+ mast
__________________
knockabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 04:55   #19
Registered User
 
PPLepew's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Wherever the boat lies, USA coasts, Keys, Bahamas & Islands
Boat: Island Spirit 40' Cat
Posts: 63
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Check out iKommunicate gateway, a brand new box developed just for that using new SignalK protocol. Talks NMEA 183 & 2000.
Check it out at Description | iKommunicate
I received mine last week.
Looking how to connect my networks right now.
__________________
Daniel - aka Pepe Lepew
PPLepew is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 11:13   #20
Registered User
 
cll2's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Blackfoot, ID
Boat: Lagoon 440, Hull#111
Posts: 33
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

I've had great luck with a Brookhouse iMux multiplexer connected to a similar Raymarine suite of equipment. I now get all instrument data, including AIS information, on my iPad Pro anywhere on the boat. I also got excellent customer support from Brookhouse while figuring out the best approach for setting things up. I connected to Apple products but it says it's compatible with Android as well.

iMux - The Brookhouse NMEA 0183 Wifi multiplexer
__________________
------------------
Chuck
cll2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 13:17   #21
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Probably and anchorage or a boatyard..
Boat: Ebbtide 33' steel cutter
Posts: 3,425
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

A Raspberry Pi running openplotter is worth mentioning as well, as a nmea multiplexer broadcast over wifi including signalk and as a wifi hotspot with an added hi gain wifi antenna.
__________________
conachair is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 14:26   #22
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Astoria, NY
Boat: Sabre 38
Posts: 477
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

If you say you already want AIS, it is hard not to beat the Vesper XB-8000. They really nailed it.

OpenCPN world work, but it is really a different approach to your whole navigation system. Some say better, some say worse. Probably a bit of both and a whole different discussion.
__________________
Stephen

s/v Carpe Ventum
1983 Sabre 38
My Intro
fallingeggs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2016, 16:27   #23
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,141
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Doh.

So we have listed like maybe 10 viable alternatives for every budget from USD 1 to USD 1k.

BTW I am surprised Ray solution comment on short range only. I am not sure how to undersatnd this. Is it something in the settings? I ask as my home-built wifi boat nmea transmitter can be easily read two docks away. I actually tested methods of lowering the range, with moderate success only though!

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 13:42   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Med
Posts: 60
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Thanks for all the advice.

I contact Vesper to ask about connecting the XB-8000 to my equipment and this is the response I received.

"If you want to pass on the AIS & GPS data to your chartplotter, then the wiring would be as below
GRAY from XB-8000 to WHITE (NMEA IN +) of C70
YELLOW from XB-8000 to GREEN (NMEA IN -) of C70
Make sure the baud rate is 38400.

If your chartplotter is already receiving the sensor data (eg: heading, wind, depth etc.,) and if you want to pass on that data to XB-8000 to receive it over WiFi connection, then the wiring would be as below
GREEN from XB-8000 to YELLOW (NMEA OUT +) of C70
WHITE from XB-8000 to BROWN (NMEA OUT -) of C70
"

I would like to do the second option, so how can I tell if the chartplotter is receiving sensor data? (I haven't noticed anything to confirm this) and do I just splice into the existing NMEA in/out cable?

Thanks
__________________
Harry Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2016, 14:14   #25
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,141
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Brown View Post

(...)

how can I tell if the chartplotter is receiving sensor data? (I haven't noticed anything to confirm this) and do I just splice into the existing NMEA in/out cable?

Thanks
If your plotter is receiving the data, your plotter can display the data.

If your Ray cable is already using the nmea data wires for any data, then you cannot just 'splice in' - nmea data in must be multiplexed before entry.

What the Vesper guys thought probably is that your Ray plotter is getting the sensor data over Ray wires, not nmea wires. (e.g SeaTalk)

BTW you can split out outgoing data, if one day you have to (e.g. one gps source can feed more than one plotting device or a device and say a DSC radio, etc.).

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2016, 11:58   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Med
Posts: 60
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Thanks for all the info, but I'm still a bit confused!
So, I do not need a multiplexer if I connect straight to the XB-8000, right?
If so, how do I physically connect it?
I believe the XB-8000 comes with a 10 pin power / data cable, but what instrument do I connect this too or am I using completely different cable?
__________________
Harry Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-07-2016, 16:56   #27
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: SF Bay Area (Boat in La Paz)
Boat: Valiant V40
Posts: 418
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Th xb8000 is a multiplexer. Whether you use it to mux and wirelessly xmit data or "just" xmit data depends on your existing setup and preferences. In any event, with it you have the possibility to add new NMEA streams in the future
__________________
jamhass is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2016, 10:28   #28
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: East Med
Posts: 60
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Ahh OK thanks, didn't know that!
Now if I can just work out how I'm going to wire this in, I can buy the thing! Lol
__________________
Harry Brown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-07-2016, 11:46   #29
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,141
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harry Brown View Post
Ahh OK thanks, didn't know that!
Now if I can just work out how I'm going to wire this in, I can buy the thing! Lol
Standard 422 wiring. (4 wires: 2 for signal in + two for signal out)

If your nmea stream comes on a 3 cable interface (232 wiring - GND for in and out are a common wire), you need a 232 to 422 serial adapter.

Cheers,
b.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	8000.jpg
Views:	44
Size:	138.9 KB
ID:	128800  
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2016, 06:50   #30
Registered User
 
Ndavies's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: On the Ocean
Boat: Hunter 42 Passage
Posts: 163
Re: Instrument Data via WiFi

I hope this helps and does not confuse the issue. My instruments are Seatalk and I have a Raymarine RL70C Chartplotter. The Chartplotter is not compatible with AIS. I added the Vesper Watchmate Vision and an iPad running iNavX. The iNavX app will display everything - Navionics charts, AIS overlay, and all of my NMEA or Seatalk instrument data. I made the connections to Seatalk and NMEA using a Raymarine E85001 interface box. I think I could have used the NMEA out from the chartplotter but I had the box and that also gives me the option of using a laptop via the serial connection. If more info on my set-up would help, feel free to drop me a PM and I will sketch it out for you.

Neil
__________________

__________________
S/V Midnight Sun II
www.midnightsunii.com
http://midnightsunii.blogspot.com/
Ndavies is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
men, wifi, rum

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPS data via wifi router USB port ? Jd1 OpenCPN 10 17-09-2015 08:04
Vesper marine AIS data input via wifi TJ D OpenCPN 7 25-04-2015 17:54
Route waypoint data transfer via WiFi or Bluetooth RaymondR Navigation 0 23-07-2014 00:05
Transmitting NMEA data to shore via wifi Mardi Gras Marine Electronics 2 29-04-2013 16:22
Instrument Data on OpenCPN Via NMEA SV Demeter OpenCPN 1 01-03-2012 12:13



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.