Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-07-2017, 13:41   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 137
Installing a wifi router

I just bought a TRENDnet AC2600 wifi router. I saw it was 12V DC so I figured it would be fine for the boat. But now realize that it has to be 12V 3 amp. Im not much of an electronics guy but I think I need some sort of adapter/transformer here before I can install the router.

Would appreciate anyone smarter than me (not hard), to advise me on getting this thing up and running.
Much thanks,
Bry
__________________

bcripps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2017, 14:10   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Columbia, MD
Boat: Seawind 1160 Lite
Posts: 98
Re: Installing a wifi router

You don't need an adapter or transformer to wire-up the router to your 12V system. You should consider putting in a fuse on your positive line in case the router was to draw more than 3 amps. The amps * volts tells you how much power (Watts) your router consumes. This will help you figure out how much you are drawing from your battery but it won't alter how you wire the unit up (other than picking a fuse size)
__________________

indimini is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 12:02   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 137
Re: Installing a wifi router

Well thank you, indimini, that's the best news I've had this week! So an inline, 3-amp fuse is all that is necessary?
Thank you so much...
Bry
PS: Happy 4th!
bcripps is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 12:25   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Falmouth, UK
Posts: 207
Re: Installing a wifi router

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcripps View Post
So an inline, 3-amp fuse is all that is necessary?
If it draws 3A and you use a 3A fuse you'll possibly find the fuse blowing quite often, which could be annoying. Personally I'd use a 5A fuse.

As an aside, 3A seems very high for a wifi router.
wiekeith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2017, 15:20   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 6,843
Re: Installing a wifi router

Are you sure it's 3 amps?
I'd be more inclined to think it's 0.3 amps.
I can run my ubiquity bullet, laser projector, bluetooth equipped radio and the wifi router all at the same time for about 3 amps.
__________________
One should try to "Die Young" as old as possible.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 02:51   #6
Registered User
 
Beausoleil's Avatar

Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Potomac Shores, VA USA
Boat: Formosa 51 Aft Cockpit Ketch - "Beausoleil"
Posts: 573
Images: 1
Re: Installing a wifi router

Remember that the fuses job is to protect the wiring, not the router. A 3A fuse should blow before the router's 18ga (I'm guessing) power wire melts...
__________________
Cap'n Jon (KB1HTW)
S/V Beausoleil -1979 Formosa 51 Ketch
"If it's gonna happen, it's gonna happen out there." - Captain Ron
Beausoleil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-07-2017, 13:58   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 137
Re: Installing a wifi router

Thanks guys. I'll certainly check the 3 amps, but that's what the Customer Service folks told me. Thanks for the heads-up. I'll definitely check before throwing the switch. And I'll be back here if I have any questions.
Once again, thank you all...
Bry
__________________

bcripps is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
route, wifi

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wifi Router Configuration Question Dockhead Marine Electronics 5 01-04-2014 03:59
3G/Wifi: Locomarine Yacht Router Micro Reviews? Emerald Sea Product or Service Reviews & Evaluations 16 12-02-2014 11:07
Need WiFi Router, Coax and Antenna David M Marine Electronics 16 31-01-2012 17:52
Does a Wireless 3G AND Wifi Input Router Exist ? Fuss Marine Electronics 12 21-02-2011 20:37
WiFi Bullet and Linksys Router Config Meck Marine Electronics 1 17-10-2009 09:03

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.