Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-03-2018, 05:28   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 53'
Posts: 225
Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

I'm reading the 4G Radar installation manual and it's confusing. It has one wiring diagram including B&G chartplotter (as opposed to Lowrance and Simrad) but it's not a NMEA network, it's a SimNet network. The wiring diagram that shows NMEA 2000 does not include the B&G Zeus 3 MFD.

The Zeus 3 is NMEA 2000 compatible, so is that just an oversight in the manual?

Duane
__________________

__________________
Currently traveling the east coast.
carlylelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 06:40   #2
Registered User
 
Recy's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Boat: Sun Odyssey 45.2
Posts: 46
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

NMEA 2000 and SIM-net are the same just different connections.
__________________

Recy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2018, 15:22   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 53'
Posts: 225
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

Recy,

The SimNet cable also requires a SimNet to N2K adapter kit cable.

Can I just connect the SimNet cable to the radar interface box (RI10) then cut off the other end and put a N2K connector on it to plug it into a Tee?

I hate paying for special connectors when there's no earthly reason except to fleece the public. Maybe I should have gone to Maretron equipment!

I can't find a help telephone number for B&G, is there one?

Thanks,
Duane
__________________
Currently traveling the east coast.
carlylelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 01:20   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,408
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

yes. if you have a n2k backbone. just make your own simnet to n2k cable for the ri10

all the recent simrad screens are n2k plugs. the pilots are now too. older stuff was simnet connector.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 04:18   #5
Registered User
 
Suijin's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Annapolis MD; currently in Bahamas
Boat: Valiant 40
Posts: 4,405
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

I'm wondering if you're actually looking at the Navico ethernet cable which has proprietary plugs. I have a Zeus 2 and a 3G radar with R10 interface box and they are all standard N2K connectors. I'd find it hard to believe that they backtracked with the Zeus 3.

The ethernet cable runs from the interface box to the MFD, and is grey with yellow connectors. Radar data, which is high bandwidth, is not shared to the N2K backbone but is sent directly to the MFD.
Suijin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 04:24   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 53'
Posts: 225
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

I'm looking at the manual I downloaded from the B&G website titled "Lowrance, Simrad, B&G, Broadband 3G, Broadband 4G Installation Guide".

I have not yet received the gear yet. Apparently on backorder. I'm reading the manuals and gathering the materials for the install.

It appears that the on-line manual is out of date. It recommends the RC42 Heading Sensor, that is no longer manufactured.

So, it was a straight NEMA 2000 network?

Duane
__________________
Currently traveling the east coast.
carlylelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 06:01   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Cabo San Jose Del Cbo
Boat: Chris White Voyager 48
Posts: 524
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

I have the Zeus3 9 and the B&G 4g radar. The connection requires an interface box and connector. I'll look up the specifics later. It does not go through n2k. You can use any n2k compass you like. I use a B&G Precision 9 with good results. The Zeus3 uses a proprietary Ethernet connector, but B&G sells an adapter. Yes, a lot of the doc, especially online, is out of date. The doc from the B&G site is pretty good.

I don't know where you bought your parts, but Achillefs at Chicago Marine Electronics is the guy to talk to for straightforward info.
__________________
Joe & Sue
S/V Presto
jdazey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 06:40   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Cabo San Jose Del Cbo
Boat: Chris White Voyager 48
Posts: 524
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

OK, it looks like the only additional part I bought was the simnet-micri C cable, 24005729, for $38.
__________________
Joe & Sue
S/V Presto
jdazey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 10:10   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 53'
Posts: 225
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

Thanks Joe, that helps.

Duane
__________________
Currently traveling the east coast.
carlylelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 23:25   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,408
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Suijin View Post
I have a Zeus 2 and a 3G radar with R10 interface box and they are all standard N2K connectors. I'd find it hard to believe that they backtracked with the Zeus 3..
all of the R10 boxes I have seen are simnet. maybe they have changed. or maybe you didn't hook yours up. (doesn't effect much. adds marpa)
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-03-2018, 23:41   #11
Registered User
 
Ydunlop's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2015
Boat: Jeanneau 47
Posts: 8
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

I installed my Zeus 2 with a 4G radar - briezy installation and I did not recall having to buy any additional parts. I have all the B&G collection so quite a crammed backbone. I can send photos if you have issues
Ydunlop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 15:12   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
Dave_S's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2016
Location: Brisbane Australia
Boat: Schionning Waterline 1480
Posts: 1,065
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

Just had the B&G Radar installed yesterday. I bought it as a kit with the Zeus 3 and the cable that came with the radar has a RJ10 connector on it and some loose wires. The kit came with an interface (grey box) that talks to the NEMA 2000. The grey box plugs into the NEMA2000 system and you plug the RJ10 into the grey box.
__________________
Regards
Dave
Dave_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2018, 15:12   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, MO
Boat: Amel Super Maramu 53'
Posts: 225
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

Ydunlop,

I would like to see photos of your install, if it's not too much trouble for you. You could post them here, or PM me and insert the photos.

It's very generous of you!
Duane
__________________
Currently traveling the east coast.
carlylelk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 03:51   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2018
Location: Tromsoe, Norway
Boat: RM 1200
Posts: 20
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

Recieved and installed a 4G radar a few weeks back. The Ri10 has 2 connectors + the connector to the radar dome. One Simnet to input Heading from N2K network. If you run a normal N2K backbone you need a cable that converts from N2K at the tee to simnet inhttp://baatplassen.no/i/forum/1-b%C3%A5tforumet/ the Ri10 end. The other connection is a "Navico special" ethernetplug. I had to pug this into a normal switch, so I cut the cable and crimped on a Rj45 connector in that end. You can buy a B&G adapter cable if you want instead if you need this. If you are just connecting the Zeus and the 4G you can probably just use the included cable and plug it straight in both ends.
Tabaqui is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2018, 22:19   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: SF Bay
Boat: DownEaster 38
Posts: 187
Re: Install B&G 4G3 Radar to Zeus 3

I am setting up a similar system with an Zeus 2 plotter and 3G radar.
I happen to get a Lorance ethernet cable that is too short. I have a second cable which I could connect to the first one, but can't find a suitable connector for those proprietary hello plugs. I guess I can cut them off and put on RJ45 plugs and then connect the two.
Any other suggestions?
__________________

bobmcd625 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: B&G Zeus T12 MFD Multifunction Marine Navigation Chartplotter Touchscreen Radar Bluegill88 General Classifieds (no boats) 7 12-10-2017 12:31
Zeus˛ 7 Combo with 3G Radar Bundle Jm2fly Marine Electronics 1 27-08-2016 14:53
B&G Zeus t12 4g radar bmm32005 Marine Electronics 2 08-07-2016 05:23
B&G zeus touch install problem TJ D Marine Electronics 8 21-03-2016 08:13
Zeus T8 w/3G Radar Cap Erict3 Marine Electronics 0 13-03-2015 14:12



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:07.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.