Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-06-2014, 06:30   #1

Inmarsat At High Latitudes?

I have a friend who worked in the media business as a producer for war-correspondents, and later a bureau chief for a major network.

In his opinion Iridium if fine if you want to chit-chat with grandma and grandpa but in his professional experience, if the call you are making is a call that counts, the last thing you want is to drop it, and because of this he is very firm in his endorsement of Inmarsat.

He is a very savvy guy and I tend to place a lot of stock in his opinion on something I have no experience with. However, I know that most of his experience tended to be in what you might call "hotter" climates than where we are going, fifty north or higher.

From my reading of an Inmarsat see-me map I found somewhere it looks like the altitude of the geostationary satellite where we are headed is <20 degrees, which seems pretty low to me. Any thoughts?

Second question, is there a basic way to work out the declination of the azimuth of the satellite? Or is it far enough away that if you aim in a southerly direction and more importantly have the right altitude, you can get a link?
Delancey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2014, 06:56   #2

Re: Inmarsat At High Latitudes?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Delancey View Post
I have a friend who worked in the media business as a producer for war-correspondents, and later a bureau chief for a major network.

In his opinion Iridium if fine if you want to chit-chat with grandma and grandpa but in his professional experience, if the call you are making is a call that counts, the last thing you want is to drop it, and because of this he is very firm in his endorsement of Inmarsat.