Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 18-10-2018, 04:50   #1
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 4,785
ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Hi all,

I've finally got to the point of putting my MMSI in my ICOM M802 (which has never had one programmed before).

So I pull up the manual, start following the steps, and whaddaya know... either the manual is wrong or I am missing something.

Page 15 of the manual details the procedure, and it starts well, my radio starts up with the message <MMSI> No MMSI!, just like the manual says it should. But when push the DSC button, the radio starts hunting for DSC messages, whereas the manual states that it should display the MMSI programming screen.

A bit of fiddling around and I found the setup menu, which has the MMSI Check function, so at this point I appear to be back on track with the manual, but instead of getting an option to enter the MMSI, I just get a "No MMSI" message, and the option to "OK" or "Cancel", both of which take me back to the previous menu.

What am I missing?

Help!

Matt
__________________

__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 06:33   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Actually having the exact same experience with an ICOM M802 on my (new to me) vessel. No MMSI programmed by the PO. The manual instructions don't comport with reality. Can't seem to find a key combination that will land on the reset screen.

Only possible solution I've seen is this advice on another thread:

Old 14-11-2016, 18:52 #2
Pitchondesign
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 204
Re: Icom M802 SSB - MMSI which part?
Get yourself the Icom 802 cloning software from the Antenna Farm (google it). You can then change anything you want on the radio including the MMSI.
__________________

Sherrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 07:24   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Lake Macquarie NSW Australia
Boat: 2004 Lagoon 410S2
Posts: 433
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Gday Mat,
could I suggest you contact the Icom service team here in Oz. I rang them for another problem and they were only to happy to assist.


Greg H
Lagoon 440
ozsailer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 15:56   #4
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 4,785
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by ozsailer View Post
Gday Mat,
could I suggest you contact the Icom service team here in Oz. I rang them for another problem and they were only to happy to assist.


Greg H
Lagoon 440
I tried that but they told me to go jump because the radio was not certified for use here in Australia.

I should try again because it seems to be a 50:50 proposition about whether they pull that line or not.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 15:57   #5
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 4,785
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherrill View Post
Actually having the exact same experience with an ICOM M802 on my (new to me) vessel. No MMSI programmed by the PO. The manual instructions don't comport with reality. Can't seem to find a key combination that will land on the reset screen.

Only possible solution I've seen is this advice on another thread:

Old 14-11-2016, 18:52 #2
Pitchondesign
Registered User
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 204
Re: Icom M802 SSB - MMSI which part?
Get yourself the Icom 802 cloning software from the Antenna Farm (google it). You can then change anything you want on the radio including the MMSI.
Yes, that's the option I am looking forward to trying. A local radio club offered the use of their kit so I will take the radio around to them and give it a try, just as soon as I have time. (which seems to be in short supply at the moment.)
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 16:27   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 7,116
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

With the radio off, press and hold F and the white DSC button, while to turn on the radio
Press white DSC, it will scan
Press Set Mode, select SetUp ftom DSC menu
Then to MMSI check
Press ENT
Then enter the MMSI

Hope I didn't miss any steps.
__________________
Paul
Paul L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:01   #7
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 4,785
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Interesting, Iíll give that a try.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:14   #8
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 4,785
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
With the radio off, press and hold F and the white DSC button, while to turn on the radio
Press white DSC, it will scan
Press Set Mode, select SetUp ftom DSC menu
Then to MMSI check
Press ENT
Then enter the MMSI

Hope I didn't miss any steps.
Incidentally, where did you find this info?
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:20   #9
registered user
 
HankOnthewater's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: West Australia
Boat: plastic production yacht, suitable for deep blue water ;)
Posts: 530
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

I changed the MMSI on mine. Have to go back to the boat to find out how I did that. Hmmm, does that mean, that I should see a doctor for memory loss?
I am not clever enough to work it out by myself. I am sure I used the manual, and mine is (?like yours) an US model.
__________________
Wishing you all sunny skies above, clear water below, gentle winds behind and a safe port ahead,
and when coming this way check http://www.cruiserswiki.org/wiki/Albany,_Australia
HankOnthewater is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:28   #10
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 7,116
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by GILow View Post
Incidentally, where did you find this info?
Well I could tell you that I natively read the original Japanese manual, but that would be a lie. It is listed in the "Icom 802 Manual for Idi Yachts" book. This is what I used to set mine up years ago.
Paul L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:34   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

So I contacted ICOM support NA. They were quick to provide an instruction that is exactly as Paul L posted above. It worked. Problem solved.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ICOM 802 MMSI Reset.pdf (129.1 KB, 15 views)
Sherrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:43   #12
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 4,785
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul L View Post
Well I could tell you that I natively read the original Japanese manual, but that would be a lie. It is listed in the "Icom 802 Manual for Idi Yachts" book. This is what I used to set mine up years ago.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherrill View Post
So I contacted ICOM support NA. They were quick to provide an instruction that is exactly as Paul L posted above. It worked. Problem solved.
You guys seriously ROCK! Thank you.

Can't wait to try it out on the boat, looks like I won't get down there until tomorrow tho.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:44   #13
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 4,785
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sherrill View Post
So I contacted ICOM support NA. They were quick to provide an instruction that is exactly as Paul L posted above. It worked. Problem solved.
Sherrill, are you in Australia or somewhere else?

Matt
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:51   #14
Bailing as fast as I can.
 
GILow's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Adelaide, South Australia
Boat: Swanson 42
Posts: 4,785
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Quote:
Originally Posted by HankOnthewater View Post
I changed the MMSI on mine. Have to go back to the boat to find out how I did that. Hmmm, does that mean, that I should see a doctor for memory loss?
I am not clever enough to work it out by myself. I am sure I used the manual, and mine is (?like yours) an US model.
The manual is interesting. I am quite used to manuals that ship with devices being obsolete before you open the box, that makes complete sense in the supply chain context.

But I REALLY cannot understand how such a well known radio from such a reputable company has not had the addendum that Sherrill linked included into the updated online version of the manual.

I mean, it's basic customer service 101. AND, as someone who ran helpdesks for years, I KNOW that simple acts like these save you bucket loads of support calls and the associated costs.

I can sort of understand Icom Australia telling me to get lost when I called them for support, but there's no excuse for this sort of omission, not when they've had literally YEARS to correct it.

Sorry, needed a rant. Your mention of the manual triggered me.

Hope all is good in the West. Might get around there now in my travels.
__________________
Count-down has commenced.
GILow is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-06-2019, 18:52   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 4
Re: ICOM M802, setting the MMSI

Chesapeake Bay, Virginia, USA
__________________

Sherrill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icom

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling an MMSI # WITHOUT having an MMSI number ? SteelCruiser Marine Electronics 25 31-03-2018 07:20
Help with IC-M802 cloning software CS-M802 #11 Mimmo Marine Electronics 0 18-03-2018 14:12
Icom M802 vs Icom 7300 BigAl.NZ Marine Electronics 1 13-03-2017 02:15
Icom M802 SSB - MMSI which part? deepthought Marine Electronics 2 16-11-2016 22:23
For Sale: ICOM M802 SSB, ICOM AT-140 Tuner, Pactor PTCIIpro with III Paul L Classifieds Archive 1 25-07-2012 18:34



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:43.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.