Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 20-02-2014, 08:10   #1
Registered User
 
Kindle's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Florida
Boat: Oyster Mariner 35
Posts: 165
icom M710 RT to Winlink setup- help please

Can someone help me walk through the steps of setting up Winlink system with my Icom m710 RT SSB radio. I am usining a SCS Pactor IIe (uprgraded to a III) with a keyspan USB adapter.

I have set up the SSB and it is receiving/transmitting fine.

I have set up the RMS express program and can send emails through telenet with no problems.

I have connected the modem and seems to be working (not really sure of what all the lights mean)

The problem is when I try to open a session using Pactor WL2K. I choose the best frequency, make sure it is clear, and hit start. I can hear the radio clicking between transmit and receive and see it alternating on the radio screen. BUT IT IS NOT ON THE CORRECT CHANNELS.

So my question is, what step have I missed for the computer/modem to tell the radio to switch channels. Or do I have to do this manually before hitting start on a session? I thought it did this automatically.

Obviously since I am not working on the right channels, no connection is made and the session is disconnected.

This is so frustrating not having a set of instructions to go by- and I cannot watch the winlink videos one more time!

So,Thank you in advance for your help!

Deborah
__________________
Www.SVwrightaway.com
Kindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2014, 19:38   #2
Registered User
 
Kindle's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Florida
Boat: Oyster Mariner 35
Posts: 165
Re: icom M710 RT to Winlink setup- help please

OK, been working on this a bit more....

I tried to manually program the channels on the Icom before hitting start on the session.

I can program the receive frequency no problem---but I can't get the radio to accept the transmit frequency. It just reverts back to the previously programmed frequency.

I tried several frequencies suggested by the winlink program-no go. So then I just programmed in a random SSB frequency-no problem.

Soooooo.....Maybe this is a really dumb question, but how do I determine if my SSB, which is new-to-me, has been opened up to the HAM frequencies? We were told it was when we purchased it (used).

If its not already painfully obvious, I am VERY new to this HF/HAM stuff so any help is appreciated.

Oh, and yes, I do have a HAM license so I am legal just still confused.

Thanks, Deborah
__________________
Www.SVwrightaway.com
Kindle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2014, 06:58   #3
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 24
Re: icom M710 RT to Winlink setup- help please

There is a Yahoo group for the ICOM M710.
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/ICM710/info
I have a M710 GMDSS dedicated to the marine frequencies, so I can not help.
Wilhelm
__________________
SRC Seefunktexte
crui1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icom, lease

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.