Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-03-2011, 13:30   #1
Registered User
 
Tafika2's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles Area
Boat: Jeanneau SO 42DS - Tafika II
Posts: 37
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Tafika2
Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

I installed a M802 SSB and it went well except getting the BNC connector to hook-up to any GPS point and be able to be seen on the SSB. The connection at the VHF & AIS are good and it reads out on both units, but not on the SSB. I've replaced the BNC cable & sent the transceiver back to iCom for testing. Both are OK....Any one have a similar problem or have any suggestions?
__________________

__________________
Tafika2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2011, 13:46   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,826
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

I had a similar problem interfacing the GPS with the watermaker.



Just teasing. Welcome to CF !
__________________

__________________
Memento,homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2011, 15:50   #3
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
The Bnc connector wiring is straight forward. Nmea data + goes to the centre pin of the Bnc and nmea ground To the outside. Make sure you arnt using nmea - and make sure you are using a nmea out feed from the gps source that's running at the standard 4800 baud

What raymarine unit is sending the gps data if you are using the nmea feed to feed the VHF and ais do you have a mux

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2011, 16:02   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 661
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

The M802 must have the $$GPGGA sentence. It doesn't like anything else, unfortunately. The NMEA output of my Raymarine RL70CRC was $$IIGGA, I had to convert it with the programmable MUX to $$GPGGA.

If you really want the M802 to have position info for DSC, you might find it easier to use a separate inexpensive GPS to feed it.
__________________
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2011, 16:37   #5
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by SoonerSailor
The M802 must have the $$GPGGA sentence. It doesn't like anything else, unfortunately. The NMEA output of my Raymarine RL70CRC was $$IIGGA, I had to convert it with the programmable MUX to $$GPGGA.

If you really want the M802 to have position info for DSC, you might find it easier to use a separate inexpensive GPS to feed it.
The later c series fixed this I beleive. What don't understand is the OPs full setup

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-03-2011, 19:10   #6
Registered User
 
Tafika2's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles Area
Boat: Jeanneau SO 42DS - Tafika II
Posts: 37
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Tafika2
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

Interfaced with RM E120. I'll look at what Sooner Sailor suggested. I'm to the point a separate GPS received may be needed. I di do what goboatingnow suggested and have tried all mix of configs. I'll keep plugging away until I get a solution.
Thanks for your comments.
__________________
Tafika2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2011, 03:09   #7
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

Can I ask what the config is, If you are feeding a DSC VHF and also have a AIS unit, how are you handling this with Raymarines one NMEA connection.

BTW as an alternative to installing and mounting another GPS mushroom, The Raymarine Seatalk to NMEA bridge, correctly outputs GGA and works with the 802

Useful discussion here http://forum.ssca.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=5&t=9310

From my memory and it seems backed up in that topic, you need the MMSI programmed in to enable the GPS display. ( or maybe not as memory is fuzzy)

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2011, 03:17   #8
Moderator
 
Dockhead's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cowes (Winter), Baltic (Summer) (the boat!); somewhere in the air (me!)
Boat: Cutter-Rigged Moody 54
Posts: 19,737
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

Quote:
Originally Posted by SoonerSailor View Post
The M802 must have the $$GPGGA sentence. It doesn't like anything else, unfortunately. The NMEA output of my Raymarine RL70CRC was $$IIGGA, I had to convert it with the programmable MUX to $$GPGGA.

If you really want the M802 to have position info for DSC, you might find it easier to use a separate inexpensive GPS to feed it.
Sorry to everyone for slight diversion, but is the same true for the ICom vhf's like the M604? I am facing an analogous problem to that of the OP.
__________________
Dockhead is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2011, 03:24   #9
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: Van DeStat Super Dogger 31'
Posts: 7,331
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

See also M802, M402, NMEA, GPS (DSC), Problems
and
NMEA Interface on IC-M802
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2011, 03:27   #10
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dockhead View Post
Sorry to everyone for slight diversion, but is the same true for the ICom vhf's like the M6044? I am facing an analogous problem to that of the OP.

NO its only the 802 that needs the GGA, other icoms, take GLL or RMC, but theye are differences with some radios being to NMEA 2.0 and some to NMEA 3.0. depending on age

The other option is that the AIS may have a second 4800 baud nmea output, A number of AIS units transmit out GPGGA sentences

Also if you are using a Raystay 125, GPS mushroom, it can ouput NMEA and does the GPGGA sentence.

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2011, 08:27   #11
Registered User
 
Tafika2's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Los Angeles Area
Boat: Jeanneau SO 42DS - Tafika II
Posts: 37
Images: 1
Send a message via Skype™ to Tafika2
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

The interface is through seatalk and the MMSI number is entered in the SSB and registers.
__________________
Tafika2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-03-2011, 17:49   #12
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,649
Images: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tafika2
The interface is through seatalk and the MMSI number is entered in the SSB and registers.
Don't understand seatalk can not be used to connect to the 802. It requires NMEA 0183.
Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2011, 01:23   #13
Registered User
 
richardhula's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UK
Boat: S M Hudson 60' narrowboat
Posts: 347
Send a message via Skype™ to richardhula
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
NO its only the 802 that needs the GGA, other icoms, take GLL or RMC, but theye are differences with some radios being to NMEA 2.0 and some to NMEA 3.0. depending on age

The other option is that the AIS may have a second 4800 baud nmea output, A number of AIS units transmit out GPGGA sentences

Also if you are using a Raystay 125, GPS mushroom, it can ouput NMEA and does the GPGGA sentence.

Dave
From a safety point of view you should be feeding your DSC equipment directly from a GPS source. This would give you the required GGA sentence with $GP prefix.

NMEA v2.0 or 3.0 is not an issue here.

e.g.
__________________
Richard

If in doubt RTFM
richardhula is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2011, 02:34   #14
Certifiable Refitter/Senior Wannbe
 
Wotname's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: South of 43 S, Australia
Boat: Van DeStat Super Dogger 31'
Posts: 7,331
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

Quote:
Originally Posted by richardhula View Post
.......
NMEA v2.0 or 3.0 is not an issue here.

e.g.
Hmm... the OP was asking how to get GPS data into his M802, AFAIK, the M802 will not accept v2, it must be v3..
__________________
All men dream: but not equally. Those who dream by night in the dusty recesses of their minds wake in the day to find it was vanity: but the dreamers of the day are dangereous men, for they may act their dreams with open eyes, to make it possible. T.E. Lawrence
Wotname is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-03-2011, 15:32   #15
Registered User
 
r.furborough's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Norfolk, VA
Boat: Freedom 32 (Hoyt)
Posts: 223
Re: Icom 802M GPS with Raymarine

You have a good answer to your problem here, the solution will be to use a multiplexer to overcome the single NMEA port on the Raymarine MFD or a SeaTalk to NMEA convertor (Raymarine Part #E85001), the latter probably being the more cost effective and simpler option.

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
Can I ask what the config is, If you are feeding a DSC VHF and also have a AIS unit, how are you handling this with Raymarines one NMEA connection.

BTW as an alternative to installing and mounting another GPS mushroom, The Raymarine Seatalk to NMEA bridge, correctly outputs GGA and works with the 802

Useful discussion here SSCA Discussion Board • View topic - ICOM M802 and GPS

From my memory and it seems backed up in that topic, you need the MMSI programmed in to enable the GPS display. ( or maybe not as memory is fuzzy)

Dave
__________________

__________________
------------------------------------------------
the memories of a man in his old age, are the dreams of a man in his prime
Pink Floyd - 'Free Four'
r.furborough is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps, icom, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: Raymarine GPS 125 sailr69 Classifieds Archive 1 19-02-2011 10:50
For Sale: Boat Electronics - Raymarine, Icom Eddie Classifieds Archive 9 15-09-2010 07:58
Cheap GPS Receiver for Icom VHF Radio Joe500 Marine Electronics 10 02-11-2009 13:53
Raymarine GPS captden Marine Electronics 7 02-05-2007 04:28
Program for owners of Icom GP-270ML GPS NormR Marine Electronics 0 09-08-2004 13:36



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:28.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.