Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-04-2012, 19:56   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ko Olina, Oahu, Hawaii
Boat: Hudson Force 50
Posts: 124
ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

Hello all,

Does anyone know if an AT-120 will work wiht an ICOM 735? How can I get that information?

Rene "The Witchdoctor" Steinhauer
__________________

__________________
medicrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-04-2012, 21:52   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,826
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

The answer is yes.
I had that very combination on my previous boat.
__________________

__________________
Memento,homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2012, 12:30   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ko Olina, Oahu, Hawaii
Boat: Hudson Force 50
Posts: 124
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by senormechanico View Post
The answer is yes.
I had that very combination on my previous boat.

Will I need to do any modifications our will it simply connect like it does with my current radio? Any further details will be apprciated.

Rene
__________________
medicrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2012, 13:07   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,826
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

It's pretty basic.
Ground from the tuner, antenna from the tuner, RF input via coax from the radio, and 3 or 4? wires from the radio in a small control cable.
You should be able to do an internet search for hookup instructions from Icom.
__________________
Memento,homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2012, 17:30   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ko Olina, Oahu, Hawaii
Boat: Hudson Force 50
Posts: 124
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by senormechanico View Post
It's pretty basic.
Ground from the tuner, antenna from the tuner, RF input via coax from the radio, and 3 or 4? wires from the radio in a small control cable.
You should be able to do an internet search for hookup instructions from Icom.

I just received a message from ICOM that states that the units are not compatible. It states:

First the IC-735 is an old Amateur Radio Service radio which was designed to operate in the Ham bands. Also, it does not have the tuner control jack that later models have to control the single wire or whip antenna tuners like the AT-120.

How certain are you that you actually had the AT-120?

Rene
__________________
medicrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2012, 22:13   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
senormechanico's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2003
Boat: Dragonfly 1000 trimaran
Posts: 5,826
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

I don't need to prove this to anybody.
I had an Icom 735 and an Icom AT 120 automatic antenna tuner on my boat in 1993.
I used it in Mexico for four years and everybody said I had a great signal.
I'm not one to yammer about stuff and I'm not going to post my HAM call to the world, but if you wanted to find it bad enough, I'm sure you could.
Just sayin' it works.

Whatever.
__________________
Memento,homo, quia pulvis es, et in pulverem reverteris.
senormechanico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:32   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ko Olina, Oahu, Hawaii
Boat: Hudson Force 50
Posts: 124
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by senormechanico View Post
I don't need to prove this to anybody.
I had an Icom 735 and an Icom AT 120 automatic antenna tuner on my boat in 1993.
I used it in Mexico for four years and everybody said I had a great signal.
I'm not one to yammer about stuff and I'm not going to post my HAM call to the world, but if you wanted to find it bad enough, I'm sure you could.
Just sayin' it works.

Whatever.

Dear Sir,

With the above comment, it appears that my last comment was considered offensive. For that I apologize. I am just trying to find out if this is possible as I am considering buying a used radio for my current tuner. If all you say is possible, then you have saved me time and hassel. for that, I am truly grateful and with the information you have provided, it would hot be right to offend you. Please accpet my sincere apology.
__________________
medicrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 07:49   #8
Registered User
 
S/V Illusion's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lakewood Ranch, FLORIDA
Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 1,693
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

I have an IC735 and AT120 tuner operating as I type this. Whoever at Icom told you it won't work needs some re-training. It most certainly does work and I'd be interested to know who at Icom told you otherwise.
__________________
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:17   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ko Olina, Oahu, Hawaii
Boat: Hudson Force 50
Posts: 124
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by S/V Illusion View Post
I have an IC735 and AT120 tuner operating as I type this. Whoever at Icom told you it won't work needs some re-training. It most certainly does work and I'd be interested to know who at Icom told you otherwise.

The e-mail I received from ICOM was signed from from Rick Waedekin, N9PMR.

Thanks for the update. Now that's two people who say they have done this. My next question is did the tuner 4 wire system directly connect to the Radio, or was a modification made? If you have a mod, can you describe it for me?

Thanks to all for your assistance, I am new to HAM so I am still learning how these radios work.

The Witchdoctor
__________________
medicrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 08:59   #10
Registered User
 
S/V Illusion's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lakewood Ranch, FLORIDA
Boat: Alden 50, Sarasota, Florida
Posts: 1,693
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by medicrene View Post
The e-mail I received from ICOM was signed from from Rick Waedekin, N9PMR.

Thanks for the update. Now that's two people who say they have done this. My next question is did the tuner 4 wire system directly connect to the Radio, or was a modification made? If you have a mod, can you describe it for me?

Thanks to all for your assistance, I am new to HAM so I am still learning how these radios work.

The Witchdoctor
The tuner control cable connects to a companion mating controller (AH2) which I mounted on the side of the 735. The AH2 then connects to the 735. If the controller is missing, you might be able to replicate the controller but I don't have the schematic to refer.

I'll talk to Rick, N9PMR, who might need a short history lesson as I suspect this equipment is before his time.
__________________
S/V Illusion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:19   #11
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

The AH2 was discontinued by Icom many years ago...a decade or more. They're very hard to find, but you might get lucky.

There was one on ebay a little less than a year ago which received no bids. You might contact the seller to see if he still has it: icom ah2 tuner controller !!! clean !! | eBay

Bill WA6CCA
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 09:31   #12
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,769
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

i have 130 tuner and an icom 700. i was advised by a non-icom employee that this should work just fine n dandy. i just have to install it all......why not install it all and see what happens???? get help from a ham soul
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:07   #13
Senior Cruiser
 
Cheechako's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Skagit City, WA
Posts: 19,352
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

The AT120 is widely used by sailors with various sorts of ham rigs. The SGC is better. :>o But both are real good.
__________________
"I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted" - Elmore Leonard











Cheechako is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 10:36   #14
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zeehag View Post
i have 130 tuner and an icom 700. i was advised by a non-icom employee that this should work just fine n dandy. i just have to install it all......why not install it all and see what happens???? get help from a ham soul
Your M-700 and the AT-130 will work just fine together.

The OP's IC-735 and an AT-120 will NOT work together, unless you add the AH-2 accessory.

Earlier ham rigs, like the IC-735, did not have the built-in circuits to control an external tuner. That's why you need the AH-2.

Or, if it's an option, you could use the SG-230 or other similar tuner ... like the SEA tuners ... which will work with ANY HF radio, and require no control circuitry.

Bill
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2012, 13:37   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Ko Olina, Oahu, Hawaii
Boat: Hudson Force 50
Posts: 124
Re: ICOM 735 and Antenna Tuner?

Quote:
Originally Posted by btrayfors View Post
Your M-700 and the AT-130 will work just fine together.

The OP's IC-735 and an AT-120 will NOT work together, unless you add the AH-2 accessory.

Earlier ham rigs, like the IC-735, did not have the built-in circuits to control an external tuner. That's why you need the AH-2.

Or, if it's an option, you could use the SG-230 or other similar tuner ... like the SEA tuners ... which will work with ANY HF radio, and require no control circuitry.

Bill

I have been looking at the SG 235 and it should work, but I really want to use the same antenna tuner (AT-120) to save money. If I have to buy a different tuner, I will have to do it.

Another note about the SG tuners. They state that you have to have an long wire antenna at least 50 feet long. My sailboat will not support a backstay antenna of 50 feet. To get all frequencies, it suggests an antenna 300 feet long. That's not going to happen on my sailboat.

The Witchdoctor
__________________

__________________
medicrene is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
antenna, icom

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:00.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.