Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-12-2014, 15:34   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 6
Icom 710 RT "Error"

Hello all,

I have an Icom M710 RT installed with a A130 tuner. I will try to boil the problem down as well as I can.

While in digital mode and using a Pactor modem I have successfully sent and received hundreds of messages through dozens of stations.

When transmitting voice about 50% of the time I have issues. I will sometimes get the message "ERROR" on the display and the transceiver will reset. Other times the code "BUSY-PC" will flash and my transmission will be strong but garbled to others. Occasionally loud beeps will accompany this message.

When I transmit and there are no messages on the display I am always told how strong and clear my signal is, many times thousands of miles away.

Does anyone know what those codes mean, or have any suggestions? I have checked all my connections, power supply, and ground plane. Using a watt meter an electrician checked my installation and could find no issues and was impressed by my signal strength. I am in La Paz, Mexico and am at a loss of what to try next.

Thanks for the help,

Daybreak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2014, 16:29   #2
Registered User
MBWhite's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Illinois
Boat: Hurley Alacrity
Posts: 357
Re: Icom 710 RT "Error"

For starters, I'd suggest posting your problem with the yahoo 710 group:

Having said that, about the only guess I could hazard is that of possible RF feedback. Also check for ground loops, but if you've had an electrician look at it he should have done that first anyway. Does it happen across multiple bands? Additionally, does it happen at reduced power output?

At any rate, join the yahoo group and ask there.
MBWhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-12-2014, 16:58   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 6,068
Re: Icom 710 RT "Error"

Check power cable connection to control head. A bit of corrossion there caused me similar issues last year.
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote


Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
icom 710 Error nonam Marine Electronics 16 21-05-2014 18:15
ICOM 710 Pro tomj Marine Electronics 3 28-10-2010 09:20
FSK and PSK Settings for an Icom 710 iona350 Marine Electronics 5 17-08-2009 17:47
getting started with an ICOM 710 SSB schoonerdog Marine Electronics 5 04-02-2008 13:04
Icom 710 RT Boko~maru Marine Electronics 2 19-07-2007 11:52

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:10.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.