Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-12-2010, 23:11   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 275
icom 710 Error

I am helping a friend with his boat.It has been neglected for a couple of years.We turned on his icom 710 and the screen displays "error".The 710 and the area around it looks good.There is no evidence of moisture/corrosion.We disconnected/connected all the plugs but the screen says "error".Its getting 14.2 volts.Is there anything else we can try before we seek professional help?Are there any buttons we can push to find out what the error is?
__________________

__________________
nonam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 01:03   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,016
Images: 4
Is it a remote head unit? I think they say 'ERROR' when the connection to the tranceiver is bad.
__________________

__________________
daddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 10:49   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 275
Yes the 710 is two units.I have brought them home and looking at them now.There is only two cables coming out of the control unit.All plugs and connections look to be as new.Everything about the 710 looks 1st class.Thats why I am wondering if there can be some simple thing we have missed.
__________________
nonam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 11:36   #4
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonam View Post
Yes the 710 is two units.I have brought them home and looking at them now.There is only two cables coming out of the control unit.All plugs and connections look to be as new.Everything about the 710 looks 1st class.Thats why I am wondering if there can be some simple thing we have missed.
The 710 should not be two units or a remote head as mentioned. It consists of the transceiver and the second piece is probably the tuner. I would suggest that if you did not realize this, you might want to get the unit to someone more familiar with it since there will be little to nothing you will be able to do, especially now that you have removed it from the boat. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:02   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 275
Oh my god!!!!Waterguy what should I do??????Our IC-M710 is in THREE pieces (if you include the tuner)!!!!
__________________
nonam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:08   #6
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
It seems most likely that you have a M710RT which DOES have a removable head.

The head takes 12VDC power separately from the main unit, which also needs 12VDC power. Be sure the connections are clean and tight. In particular, check the BNC connections as well as the power connections.

The manual for the M710RT can be downloaded from the Icom website.

Bill
WA6CCA
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:08   #7
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Quote:
Originally Posted by nonam View Post
Oh my god!!!!Waterguy what should I do??????Our IC-M710 is in THREE pieces (if you include the tuner)!!!!
Well we used a 710 for six years that I installed and maintained and it was one piece unless I took it apart, plus the tuner, so can't say what 710 you have. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:10   #8
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
Chuck,

There were several models of the 710, including the 710RT which has a removable head. I've had several of them thru here, one just a few weeks ago.

Unfortunately, Icom decided to stop making them -- I suppose because if you need a remote head they want you to buy the more expensive 802.

Bill
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:12   #9
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
You are right Bill, but didn't see any mention of the RT. We used a 710 for years. It is still going strong. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:13   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 275
Can anyone knowledgable say if the antenna tuner can cause an "error" when the 710 is on recieve?
We did away with the antenna ground and installed a KISS counterpoise.
__________________
nonam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:18   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 275
Yep,you guys are right.On the little plate ,back of the main unit,it says 710RT.
__________________
nonam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 12:21   #12
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Chesapeake Region and Maine
Boat: 42' Bob Perry sloop
Posts: 4,038
Images: 4
The KISS-SSB radial counterpoise system is VERY unlikely to be the cause of the error message you're seeing.

More likely, it's either a connection error (cables between the two units) or a programming error.

You might try disconnecting the tuner from the main unit and programming in a frequency. DO NOT ATTEMPT to transmit, though, until you reconnect the antenna tuner or connect a dummy load.

Try programming a frequency in (see manual or instructions on Pactor-II/III Radio Modem sales, FCC License filing, Marine SSB & HAM Radio Net schedules &amp frequencies.).

Far as I know there's no way to reset the microprocessor.

If all fails, there's always the Icom repair guy. I've found the one in SC much more helpful than the others.

Bill
__________________
btrayfors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2010, 17:43   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 3,016
Images: 4
On the 710RT the control head and transceiver have separate power, as mentioned. I believe the transceiver 'clicks' when the power is turned on with the control head.

I often get the ERROR display after the boat sits for a while. Wiggling the connectors between the control unit and the tranceiver always solves the problem (cycle the power). Check the cable.

The ERROR display has nothing to do with the antenna or tuner.
__________________
daddle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 00:34   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 275
Thumbs up

WINNER!WINNER!WE HAVE A WINNER!Daddle I believe you have it.We failed to realise that each of the two units have their own power supply.While the control unit lit up,there is a problem with the power supply to the main unit.Thank you Daddle.: thumb:
__________________
nonam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 00:45   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 275
And now I must apologise to Btrayfors who originaly advised it.Some how I didnt pick up the importance of his post.Of course we did mess with all the connections but it seems there is a power supply problem to the main unit.
__________________

__________________
nonam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icom

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ICOM 710 Pro tomj Marine Electronics 3 28-10-2010 10:20
FSK and PSK Settings for an Icom 710 iona350 Marine Electronics 5 17-08-2009 18:47
getting started with an ICOM 710 SSB schoonerdog Marine Electronics 5 04-02-2008 14:04
404 Error Sunspot Baby Forum Tech Support & Site Help 47 14-11-2007 15:34
Icom 710 RT Boko~maru Marine Electronics 2 19-07-2007 12:52



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 22:56.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.