Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 26-01-2018, 16:24   #1
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 301
Images: 1
Icom 700pro with pactor modem

I use Winlink express with this setup. (currently pactor 2 with 3 license) I'm thinking about upgrading to pactor 4 and wonder if I will see an increase in throughput. Reason is, in the radio setup, the fastest connection speed that works is 4800 ....so if the modem can only talk to the radio at 4800 baud, how will I get more throughput through my radio with a modem capable of higher speeds?
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 27-01-2018, 23:52   #2
GWB
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Brookings, Oregon
Boat: Westsail 32
Posts: 301
Images: 1
Re: Icom 700pro with pactor modem

I got an answer on another forum:

The Serial data to the radio is at 4800, to tell the radio what frequency to move to, then it stops.

“The modem talks the PC from 9600 up to 115200, but it’s common to see it set at 57600, so yes the data goes to and from the modem a LOT faster than P4 can manage to send it across the radio waves.”
GWB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-01-2018, 08:34   #3
Registered User
 
SoonerSailor's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Camden, ME
Boat: A Thistle and a Hallberg-Rassy 36
Posts: 765
Re: Icom 700pro with pactor modem

Quote:
Originally Posted by GWB View Post
I use Winlink express with this setup. (currently pactor 2 with 3 license) I'm thinking about upgrading to pactor 4


At this point the FCC has not made the rule change that would allow Pactor 4 use on Ham bands, and Winlink is Ham band only. If you are using Sailmail, you can use Pactor 4 since they are on Marine HF frequencies where the limitation does not apply.

The FCC may yet change the rule for Ham bands, but though it has been under consideration for almost 2 years now, it has not come to pass.

Having said all that, you might find somewhat better/faster connections with one of the new Pactor 4 modems operating in Pactor 3 mode, but it may not be a big improvement or worth the extra money.

Chip
SoonerSailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
icom, modem, pactor

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Pactor II modem with Pactor III Upgrade Svbigfun Classifieds Archive 2 27-02-2014 13:57
Icom 700pro to SCS PTCii usb cables GWB Marine Electronics 3 31-12-2013 05:30
For Sale: Pactor II modem with Pactor 3 firmware seamaster Classifieds Archive 10 30-11-2013 19:32
For Sale: Icom 700pro SSB, AT130, SCS Pactor Modem dugout Classifieds Archive 1 19-08-2013 17:13



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.