Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 27-04-2015, 08:49   #1
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

Have an older AP, ST7000 with type 1 computer. works great!

I just installed a new NMA2000 system (B+G wind/speed/depth/temp)

would be nice to be able to get rudder information out of the AP, to display on one of the displays.

I tried the nmea out using a nmea converter, and got nothing out. Read the manual, apparently the type 1 doesnt output the rudder info in the NMEA stream.

I found some converters for this purpose. Wondering how well they worked...then again, they seem to cost the same as a NMEA2000 rudder sensor!

Was wondering if replacing the rudder sensor with a NMEA2000 one would have the same response as the one hard wired to it.. (have a NMEA2000 converter that works well for the heading sensor already)
__________________

__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 06:31   #2
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

wow stumped the experts huh
__________________

__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 07:19   #3
Registered User
 
NahanniV's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Finnsailer 38
Posts: 1,143
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

I have the Raymarine Seatalk1 to SeatalkNG converter and it brings HDG and RUD from Seatalk1 to NMEA2000.

It also puts all the NMEA2000 data onto Seatalk1.

So, possibly replace the converter you are using for HDG with one of those (about $80).

Cheers,
JM.
__________________
NahanniV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 07:31   #4
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by NahanniV View Post
I have the Raymarine Seatalk1 to SeatalkNG converter and it brings HDG and RUD from Seatalk1 to NMEA2000.

It also puts all the NMEA2000 data onto Seatalk1.

So, possibly replace the converter you are using for HDG with one of those (about $80).

Cheers,
JM.
Thanks..the heading converter is a high speed one made just for heading sensors. Kinda important that the AP knows the heading, so I can't get rid of it. I don't mind another converter if I can get the rudder info out of it.

Would have been nice if autohelm just output it on the nmea stream. Oh well

So instead of a rudder to n2k converter maybe a seatalk 1 to nk2 might work..
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 07:39   #5
Registered User
 
NahanniV's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: On the Boat
Boat: Finnsailer 38
Posts: 1,143
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

You didn't mention that your heading sensor was NMEA2000, so I assumed it was from the autopilot.

The raymarine converter will bring rudder to NMEA2000 and also bring the wind and speed data from NMEA2000 to your seatalk1 autopilot; It works with my GARMIN instruments and Raymarine S3G autopilot.

Cheers,
JM.
__________________
NahanniV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 08:02   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Seattle
Boat: Wauquiez Centurion 49
Posts: 720
Images: 13
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

I am in the middle of a B&G Z2 install myself. I will also be using the Seatalk to SeatalkNG converter for my Ray S3G autopilot.

Will the older Seatalk rudder position work with the Zeus using the converter?

Also, can the B&G wifi unit be near the SSB radio at a nav station, or will that cause problems?
__________________
CAELESTIS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 08:10   #7
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

so need E22158 ?
Raymarine SeaTalk1 to SeaTalk NG Converter Kit

and instead of the seatalk ng cable, I use a nmea2000 cable?

so kinda like this? http://forums.beneteau.sailboatowner...1&d=1406411572
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 28-04-2015, 08:15   #8
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by NahanniV View Post
You didn't mention that your heading sensor was NMEA2000, so I assumed it was from the autopilot.

The raymarine converter will bring rudder to NMEA2000 and also bring the wind and speed data from NMEA2000 to your seatalk1 autopilot; It works with my GARMIN instruments and Raymarine S3G autopilot.

Cheers,
JM.
guess it was my wording.. said used a converter from my heading sensor to the ap (implying a nmea heading sensor). sorry about that

The raymarine converter may be able to replace my converter from n2k to the nmea in on the AP, as it will bring the rudder info, and pass the wind/etc (like the converter i put in already). This seems more elegant

so i would need the raymarine converter and a seatalk2 to nk2 cable additional

with the bare wire seatalk 1 on my AP, I assume just cut the plug off the seatalk 1 cable and connect the wires directly
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 30-04-2015, 23:28   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,698
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

does your auto pilot have / use seatalk ? the people above are talking about newer raymarine auto pilots. I'm not familiar with yours.


if so you can probably get rudder from seatalk to seatalk ng (which is same as nmea 2000 just different connector)
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2015, 10:24   #10
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
does your auto pilot have / use seatalk ? the people above are talking about newer raymarine auto pilots. I'm not familiar with yours.


if so you can probably get rudder from seatalk to seatalk ng (which is same as nmea 2000 just different connector)
Yes seatalk 1, I mentioned earlier that I need the seatalk converter to connect seatalk 1 to nk2/STng so I can get the data out

I think I just need the converter and a STng to N2k cable to connect the converter to my backbone. Basically it will replace the nmea-nmea2000 converter I have. I will talk with the AP over the seatalk port instead of the nmea port of the ap

I just didnt realize the AP didnt output the rudder info through the NMEA port.

As long as the converter sends the wind/speed/heading info to the AP, and sends the rudder from the AP, we should be golden!

I just wanted to confirm that the E22158 converter actually does this
__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2015, 06:42   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Cartagena, Colombia
Boat: 1980 Hans Chrstian 38T
Posts: 8
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

ST60 Rudder reference transducerDescription
The Rudder Reference transducer (M81105) contains a single-turn 5k ohm plastic
potentiometer to provide the autopilot with rudder position information. When the
unit is replaced, correct installation is vital to achieve optimum steering
performance. Transducer arm movement is limited to +/- 60 degrees. Care must be
taken to make sure that the arm is opposite the cable entry when the rudder is
amidships. Failure to do this could result in damage to the rudder reference
transducer if the arm is driven onto its stops by the steering system.
Faulty rudder reference transducers should be replaced as a complete unit.
Functional Test
disconnects the rudder reference transducer from the autopilot and check for
continuity.
Cable color Arm position Resistance
Green/red Any position 5k ohm +/- 5%
Blue/green Anti clockwise stop 1.66k ohm +/- 10%
Blue/green Clockwise stop 3.3k ohm +/- 10

eparts@precisionsales.com



My Raymarine rudder position sensor resistor is shot. It needs a new internal resistor. The Raymarine site I looked at shows this,

If you imagine a pot with 3 terminals with three wires extending, red, blue and green,

From red to blue is 5000 ohms, from red to green is variable linear 1500 to 3500 ohms

From Green to blue is also variable linear 1500 to 3500 ohms.

I hooked up a test rig that simulated these values from resistors I bought at an electronic store. It worked fine. If I put another resistor from red to blue it showed the rudder position on the display, I also changed the resistor green to blue and the rudder displayed full scale in the other direction.

I have been doing Google searches for days looking for a pot of this type with no luck, the closest I came is a company named www.digikey.com which sells thousands of electronics components, the also have an on line chat which I will try out on Monday.

Any ideas where I might get of these resistors?
__________________
gpoore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-05-2015, 10:22   #12
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: May 2011
Location: PDX
Boat: Gulfstar 50
Posts: 895
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

Digikey, mouser etc are large electronic parts suppliers.....

You should look at the actual pot that failed and read the part number and manufacture name. then you could get an exact cross reference.

Part number might look like this: Honeywell 53C35K

With a part number if nothing else you will be able to cross reference.

Pots come in all shapes and sizes as well as values and tapers (linear, log etc).
__________________
evm1024 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 07:29   #13
Registered User
 
phantomracer's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Boston, MA
Boat: 1968 Ohlson 38 Sloop
Posts: 773
Images: 9
Send a message via Yahoo to phantomracer
Re: how to receive rudder sensor data out of Autohelm ST7000/Type 1

Quote:
Originally Posted by NahanniV View Post
I have the Raymarine Seatalk1 to SeatalkNG converter and it brings HDG and RUD from Seatalk1 to NMEA2000.

It also puts all the NMEA2000 data onto Seatalk1.

So, possibly replace the converter you are using for HDG with one of those (about $80).

Cheers,
JM.
I am about to do this project, install the E22158 converter kit.

When you hook up the seatalk1 to the Autopilot (Type 1 computer / ST7000) do you cut the ST1 end off the supplied ST1 cable and just hook up the data wire (yellow IIRC).

I assume the unit gets power from the N2k backbone.
__________________

__________________
Paul S
Blog - https://www.facebook.com/ohlson38project
website http://www.mildredrose.com
phantomracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autohelm, helm, rudder

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale: Raymarine Type 100 Autopilot & ST7000 Head irwin37 Classifieds Archive 4 31-03-2015 16:48
Wiring for an Autohelm ST6000 rudder sensor sahockey Marine Electronics 2 19-12-2013 16:44
Autohelm ST7000 Linear Drive Type 2 Needs Brushes varekai Marine Electronics 1 02-06-2012 08:02
OpenCPN Fails to Receive Bluetooth Data Feed haydude OpenCPN 83 20-05-2012 05:19



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:58.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.