Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 15-05-2018, 19:00   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 227
How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

I looked at the bottom of my chart plotter and there is a cable that is not connected. I知 assuming it痴 the NMEA 2000 cable or some sort of variant. I知 assuming this is the culprit why my Raymarine wind display doesn稚 show wind direction.

Any thoughts on the screwdriver to use? And how to get a new termination for the cable? I知 a beginner when it comes to marine electronics.

Thanks for any help!!

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0095.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	60.6 KB
ID:	169866

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0094.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	58.5 KB
ID:	169867

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0092.jpg
Views:	160
Size:	58.6 KB
ID:	169868

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0091.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	55.3 KB
ID:	169869

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0090.jpg
Views:	157
Size:	70.6 KB
ID:	169870

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_0088.jpg
Views:	84
Size:	83.8 KB
ID:	169871
__________________

Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2018, 19:48   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29ー 49.16 N 82ー 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,954
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

The screw in the picture is a Torx Security bit (security is the hole in the middle to prevent the average Torx bit from fitting).

I don't see where you would plug in the cable. Not familiar with the Raymarine but none of the instruments I have require you to open the case to connect them. For waterproof marine instruments opening the case may not be a good idea, hence the security bit required.

I'm guessing you need to connect that somewhere more accessible. If it is the Raymarine version of NMEA 2000 (SeatalkNG) then you connect it to the NMEA network backbone.
__________________

__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.

Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.

Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2018, 19:50   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29ー 49.16 N 82ー 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,954
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

Looked closer and I guess the plotter is mounted inside a pod so the screws open the pod and not the case on the plotter itself. If that is the case then go ahead and open it up. There's probably a connection on the back of the plotter for that plug.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.

Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.

Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 15-05-2018, 19:53   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 227
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by skipmac View Post
Looked closer and I guess the plotter is mounted inside a pod so the screws open the pod and not the case on the plotter itself. If that is the case then go ahead and open it up. There's probably a connection on the back of the plotter for that plug.
Yes, that's what I thought!! Thank you!!

I haven't opened the pod yet and I think that opening the pod would give me access to the back of the Raymarine. I definitely wouldn't open the actual Raymarine.
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 05:23   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29ー 49.16 N 82ー 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,954
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

You mention a new "termination" for the cable. Are you asking about replacing the connector on the end, the one in your hand in the third photo? FYI the Raymarine units I'm familiar with use proprietary cables so you would need to contact Raymarine for any replacements.

Raymarine does have an online forum that is pretty good. Raymarine forum

I went there to get help interfacing my old Seatalk instruments to my new NMEA2000 network and got the exact info I needed. Like this forum, most common questions have been asked and answered before so a search of the forum might give you the info you need about cables and connectors.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.

Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.

Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 07:45   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Coming to a Marina Near You
Boat: Hallberg-Rassy 49
Posts: 294
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

That plug has the SeaTalk NG pin configuration but doesn't look right to me. Do you have a picture of the side of the plug?
__________________
Professional Reality Checker
KeelMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 09:00   #7
Registered User
 
captmikem's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Pacific NW.
Boat: KP 46
Posts: 479
Images: 2
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

the torx security bit can be found at Harbour Freight. you can buy a set of every bit imaginable for about 9 bucks.
captmikem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 09:14   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ventura, California, USA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 309
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

The Navpods ship with a pinned Torx screwdriver, has a blue handle IIRC.
Is this boat new to you? I知 wondering why the cable was omitted.
Brewgyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 09:24   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Posts: 600
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

Ive the same C90w, but its on the boat not here

my Sea Talk cable seems to have the same pinout
but its black with a white stripe, yours looks well worn

Looking from the rear its the far left plug, or Stb side

you do see new cables around even on ebay, $40-$70
seems like you need one
__________________
'give what you get, then get gone'
ZULU40 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 09:32   #10
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 26,044
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

I hate those security screws, makes you wonder why?
Anyway I have found that I can open them with a small regular flat tip, just shove it beside of the pin, and unless the screw is stupid tight you can get it out and not damage the screw.
Then unless they are special capture screws or something I have a tendency to replace them with a regular screw.
a64pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 12:16   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Boat: Jeanneau SO409
Posts: 227
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

Thank you for all the help and input, guys. I'll take a picture of the side of the plug and I ordered the Torx screwdriver so it'll be here in a day or two. Once I'm inside the pod, I'll post another photo. Sucks about the wind direction and speed... that's what's most important to me.
Cool Hand Luke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 12:55   #12
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: East shore Mobile Bay AL
Boat: ODAY 28
Posts: 425
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

I got a set of torx bits at napa auto parts,
boeing1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 13:13   #13
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 26,044
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by boeing1 View Post
I got a set of torx bits at napa auto parts,


Look at the picture, these are those 鍍amper proof screws with the pin in the middle, lord knows why.
My Chevy 3500 Duramax had those screws in the mass air flow sensor, again, why? I guess to jack me off ?
a64pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 13:26   #14
Senior Cruiser
 
skipmac's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: 29ー 49.16 N 82ー 25.82 W
Boat: Pearson 422
Posts: 13,954
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

Quote:
Originally Posted by a64pilot View Post
I hate those security screws, makes you wonder why?
Anyway I have found that I can open them with a small regular flat tip, just shove it beside of the pin, and unless the screw is stupid tight you can get it out and not damage the screw.
Then unless they are special capture screws or something I have a tendency to replace them with a regular screw.
Yes, these "security" screws are a pain. Since you can buy the bit just about anywhere I don't see what's so secure about them.
__________________
The water is always bluer on the other side of the ocean.

Sometimes it's necessary to state the obvious for the benefit of the oblivious.

Rust is the poor man's Loctite.
skipmac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-05-2018, 14:43   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Ventura, California, USA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 309
Re: How to access chart plotter and reconnect cable?

Now that I can see the pics, it's obvious why the Seatalk ng wasn't connected - it's shot.

You'll definitely need a new Seatalk ng cable. If you're not familiar, you need a SPUR cable, to connect the C90w to your Seatalk ng backbone.

Raymarine has a good overview page here.
As mentioned above, the various bits are readily available on eBay, Amazon, Walmart, you name it.
__________________

Brewgyver is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Chart Plotter Standard Horizon CP300 and Radar JRC 1500 for Sale Todor Navigation 0 09-05-2017 14:54
wi-fi/camera cellular modem with auto-reconnect? Journeyman Marine Electronics 7 30-03-2016 15:26
AIS and chart plotter not compatible Blue Yonder Monohull Sailboats 2 03-04-2014 15:58
For Sale: Charger / inverter and A70 chart plotter catabroker Classifieds Archive 4 08-06-2012 09:51



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:42.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.