Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 17-03-2017, 08:01   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 304
How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

I am installing an autopilot system and required to have couples more through hulls since unable to use same transducer.
Should I just replace with new ones and give up current instruments? (This requires major remodeling.)
__________________

__________________
cpt_757 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 08:27   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Southern Calif.
Posts: 259
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Huh??
__________________

__________________
Calif.Ted is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 08:42   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 304
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Calif.Ted View Post
Huh??


Ya, how about this, is there any interface which can provide information to multiple instruments from single source?(instruments are made by different manufacturers .)
__________________
cpt_757 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 08:47   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 685
Images: 2
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

OK, I think what we're all thinking is...

What autopilot do you have that requires thruhull transducers??? I can't think of a single Autopilot that needs thruhull transducers.....
__________________
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 08:50   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 304
How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmm View Post
OK, I think what we're all thinking is...



What autopilot do you have that requires thruhull transducers??? I can't think of a single Autopilot that needs thruhull transducers.....


Not only autopilot system. I understand what you mean, complete nav system including autopilot from NKE.
__________________
cpt_757 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 08:54   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 685
Images: 2
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpt_757 View Post
Not only autopilot system. I understand what you mean, complete nav system including autopilot from NKE.
OK that makes more sense ( not what you posted). If you can't reuse the old locations? why not? are the new thruhulls smaller or larger?
__________________
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 08:56   #7
Registered User
 
UNCIVILIZED's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Up the mast, looking for clean wind.
Boat: Currently Shopping, & Heavily in LUST!
Posts: 5,146
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

To further clarify this, higher end AP's which rely on instruments in order to operate properly, some of the data that they need to have are things like; depth, speed, salinity, sea temp. Plus any of a couple dozen more that don't require data collection from the ocean, but which are vital to their operation.
__________________

The Uncommon Thing, The Hard Thing, The Important Thing (in Life): Making Promises to Yourself, And Keeping Them.
UNCIVILIZED is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 09:01   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 304
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmm View Post
OK that makes more sense ( not what you posted). If you can't reuse the old locations? why not? are the new thruhulls smaller or larger?


Both made by Airmar, length is different so either way I have to replace to new one. If this one can provide information to multiple instruments (different makes), just modified existing hall.
__________________
cpt_757 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 09:05   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 304
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Quote:
Originally Posted by UNCIVILIZED View Post
To further clarify this, higher end AP's which rely on instruments in order to operate properly, some of the data that they need to have are things like; depth, speed, salinity, sea temp. Plus any of a couple dozen more that don't require data collection from the ocean, but which are vital to their operation.


Yes, I tried to set up very minimum. For now just compass mode but soon, speed and deapth are coming, so decided to do now.
__________________
cpt_757 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 10:09   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 685
Images: 2
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpt_757 View Post
Both made by Airmar, length is different so either way I have to replace to new one. If this one can provide information to multiple instruments (different makes), just modified existing hall.
Length of a thruhull doesn't decide location (unless the new ones are hitting the bottom of the cabin sole). the diameter is more important for fit. or are you talking about the length of the wires connecting? if the new ones are a larger diameter, just enlarge the existing hole. You of course need to do this out of the water!


If the old ones are airmar too, you might be able to reuse the existing thruhulls to. it might be an option.
__________________
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 10:39   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 304
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Quote:
Originally Posted by pcmm View Post
Length of a thruhull doesn't decide location (unless the new ones are hitting the bottom of the cabin sole). the diameter is more important for fit. or are you talking about the length of the wires connecting? if the new ones are a larger diameter, just enlarge the existing hole. You of course need to do this out of the water!





If the old ones are airmar too, you might be able to reuse the existing thruhulls to. it might be an option.


Dis, looks same but length is bit different, assume needing different housing. If able to use older one if that can provide to new MFD with other old instruments, is there any interface or bus to do the job?
Transducer required spec are same, so I can use old one if there is some kind of interface.
__________________
cpt_757 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 12:07   #12
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 16,924
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Maybe remove old the transducers and re-use the holes?

This is easy when the holes are same size OR bigger. Not so easy when new transducers are smallish dia.

I have seen boats with up to 40 thru-hulls.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 12:25   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2014
Boat: Morgan Out Island 41
Posts: 685
Images: 2
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
Maybe remove old the transducers and re-use the holes?

This is easy when the holes are same size OR bigger. Not so easy when new transducers are smallish dia.

I have seen boats with up to 40 thru-hulls.

b.
Been there, done that! my boat came into my possession sporting 22 thruhulls below the waterline (most unused) and when I finally finish this spring, there will only be 7!!
__________________
pcmm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-03-2017, 13:17   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Marina Del Rey, CA
Posts: 304
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

First, I will try to reuse same hole even changing housing.
Thank you,
__________________
cpt_757 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 18-03-2017, 08:37   #15
Registered User
 
OS2Dude's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 144
Images: 5
Re: How many holes are too many? (Through hull)

What interfaces/networks are on you boat now, and which does the new AP need?

My boat is 100% NMEA2000. (However I do not have an AP at this time.) If you are converting and the AP can use NMEA2000, I'd go to that. (Depth transducer is Airmar P79 and connects directly to my B&G chart-reader, but that puts the info out on the NMEA network for other devices to use, as well as GPS data from the built in antenna. From what I understand, APs need a more accurate (finer detail) GPS receiver than a chart reader will usually have, but having multiple sources is not an issue.)
__________________

__________________
OS2Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hull

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Has Cruising Become Too Artificial, Too Expensive, Too Regulated ? Piney Our Community 66 26-07-2017 19:01
Measure speed through water without making hole through hull. Lars_L Construction, Maintenance & Refit 29 26-03-2015 11:58
Too much of a good thing! Too many buyers for one boat. appick Monohull Sailboats 28 16-01-2015 14:51
Engine Hours: How Many Are Too Many? Velma Engines and Propulsion Systems 37 13-10-2014 01:11
How many is too many rockborn Rules of the Road, Regulations & Red Tape 24 02-10-2013 16:55


Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 15:59.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.