Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-10-2018, 16:15   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Puerto Montt
Boat: Perry 47 Ketch 1981
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to surazo
How connect a C80 with E80 and both to a single radar Dome

I change my old plotter for an E80 and finally I have a C80 on deck and E80 on desk ,but I'm trying guess how to connect both to my 24 Kw radar dome .
It seem to be quite complicate or not possible .
Any suggestion or comments ?
thanks
__________________

surazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2018, 16:26   #2
Senior Cruiser
 
hpeer's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Philadelphia
Boat: Murray 33-Chouette & Pape Steelmaid-44-Safara-both steel cutters
Posts: 4,901
Re: How connect a C80 with E80 and both to a single radar Dome

I’m pretty sure it’s not possible, one or the other, not both.
__________________

hpeer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2018, 16:29   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Puerto Montt
Boat: Perry 47 Ketch 1981
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to surazo
Re: How connect a C80 with E80 and both to a single radar Dome

It's seems to have another dome or change the C80 by another E80 ?
surazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2018, 16:36   #4
Registered User
 
transmitterdan's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2011
Boat: Valiant 42
Posts: 4,833
Re: How connect a C80 with E80 and both to a single radar Dome

I think you cannot do that. The E series can connect to the radar. But the C series can not display the radar.

Or the C series can connect to the radar but then it cannot send the screen over to the E series display.

If you have 2 E series displays then you can connect them using either a high speed Seatalk hub or crossover cable. Then one display can share the radar with a remote display.

I donít think the C series ever had screen sharing capability. The old Pathfinder displays could share screens but I never saw a C series with dual displays.
transmitterdan is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2018, 16:47   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Marina del Rey
Boat: Hunter 31
Posts: 696
Re: How connect a C80 with E80 and both to a single radar Dome

One way to do it (not recommended) is to split the radar cable. Say the E80 will provide power and control. The video pair and the heading sensor should be connected to both. If the C80 complains, you will have to install a 2P switch on the control pair to choose which unit controls the radar. I think it will work but think about what you are getting: 1A for the C80, 2A for the E80, 4A for the radar. Altogether 7 amps. Add the other electronics and the pilot and you are looking at over 10 amps consumption. Is it worth it? Better to buy new stuff.
Pizzazz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-10-2018, 17:18   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Puerto Montt
Boat: Perry 47 Ketch 1981
Posts: 181
Send a message via Skype™ to surazo
Re: How connect a C80 with E80 and both to a single radar Dome

Really appreciate your comments .It seems to be better to change the C80 .Thanks
surazo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2018, 18:19   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Portsmouth, RI
Boat: Hanse 575, 57' Sloop
Posts: 124
Re: How connect a C80 with E80 and both to a single radar Dome

MUCH easier to replace the C80 with an E80 from e-bay. I had this kind of setup for 10 years (2 E-series with one radome) and it worked fine.
__________________

__________________
Rick & Bonnie
S/V Black Diamond - Hanse 575 #161
Portsmouth, RI
Black Diamond is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
radar, single

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ST40 & C80 both showing fixed incorrect depth? danstanford Marine Electronics 3 03-09-2017 12:06
Want To Buy: Raymarine E120 C120 E80 C80 rom Classifieds Archive 0 19-12-2016 06:05
Raymarine MFD C80 to E80? Pieter Marine Electronics 11 20-08-2016 14:23
Crew Available: Pracical degree qualified engineer and professional cook couple, both mid 40s. Both squirty34 Crew Archives 0 17-11-2015 14:34
Raymarine C80 AND E80 craig boorman Marine Electronics 4 14-10-2010 22:18



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:57.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.