Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-02-2015, 16:51   #1
Moderator Emeritus
 
Ex-Calif's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Boat: Maxi 77 - Relax Lah!
Posts: 11,514
Images: 4
Help With ST50 Depth Fault

One of the gigs on the boat after refit is constant flashing of the depth with zero indicated depth.

The manual says this is a transducer fault. The transducer was working fine at haulout and I do have a spare (new) which I hooked up while on the hard with the same result.

I think I have the pinouts wrong.

The indicator/guage has red, shield and yellow - I am sure that's power, ground and seatalk bus.

The transducer has blue, black and shield. The original transducer had 2 wires and this is a later model transducer. The Raymarine FAQ site indicates that transducer black and shield are both connected to gauge shield and blue is connected to red.

That's how I have it wired. So I know I get power but I don't get signal. Here's a shot underway last Wednesday.

Any thoughts or wisdom of what to try next?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-02-18 12.10.36.jpg
Views:	185
Size:	390.1 KB
ID:	97461  
__________________

__________________
Relax Lah! is For Sale <--- Click
Click--> Custom CF Google Search or CF Rules
You're gonna need a bigger boat... - Martin Brody
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2015, 16:52   #2
Registered User
 
the_alpine's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: st petersburg, fl
Boat: O'Day 302
Posts: 263
Re: Help With ST50 Depth Fault

Usually it's the display, not the transducer.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________

__________________
the_alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2015, 17:13   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
Ex-Calif's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Singapore
Boat: Maxi 77 - Relax Lah!
Posts: 11,514
Images: 4
Re: Help With ST50 Depth Fault

Yeah - That's what I didn't wanna hear - LOL...


All the buttons work on the gauge so I am hopeful it's not faulted inside.
__________________
Relax Lah! is For Sale <--- Click
Click--> Custom CF Google Search or CF Rules
You're gonna need a bigger boat... - Martin Brody
Ex-Calif is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2015, 20:24   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: W Carib
Boat: Wildcat 35, Hobie 33
Posts: 7,909
Re: Help With ST50 Depth Fault

Flashing depth is normally a transducer fault and/or uncertain reading. You might also try the Raymarine tech forum...good source of troubleshooting on older instruments.

http://raymarine.ning.com/
__________________
belizesailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-02-2015, 20:30   #5
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 2,941
Re: Help With ST50 Depth Fault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex-Calif View Post
The transducer has blue, black and shield. The original transducer had 2 wires and this is a later model transducer. The Raymarine FAQ site indicates that transducer black and shield are both connected to gauge shield and blue is connected to red.
We have an ST40 depth gauge. The Airmar transducer it came with has blue, black and shield like yours, and these go to 3 separate terminals. I couldn't quickly find the ST50 diagram but I'd guess there's 3 terminals there too.

So I'd suggest trying to get more info or advice on the transducer wiring. You might also take your ST50 to a store or tech to test with a known-good transducer just to confirm it's ok or not.
__________________
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2015, 08:56   #6
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Vienna, Austria
Boat: Vagabond 47
Posts: 216
Re: Help With ST50 Depth Fault

Do you trying it on the hard? It simply won't WORK.
__________________
moseriw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-02-2015, 13:53   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Mediterranean
Boat: Beneteau Oceanis 50
Posts: 280
Re: Help With ST50 Depth Fault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex-Calif View Post
One of the gigs on the boat after refit is constant flashing of the depth with zero indicated depth.

The manual says this is a transducer fault. The transducer was working fine at haulout and I do have a spare (new) which I hooked up while on the hard with the same result.

I think I have the pinouts wrong.

The indicator/guage has red, shield and yellow - I am sure that's power, ground and seatalk bus.

The transducer has blue, black and shield. The original transducer had 2 wires and this is a later model transducer. The Raymarine FAQ site indicates that transducer black and shield are both connected to gauge shield and blue is connected to red.

That's how I have it wired. So I know I get power but I don't get signal. Here's a shot underway last Wednesday.

Any thoughts or wisdom of what to try next?
sounds like the depth display has died. there is a breather pin hole at the bottom of the display and salt water eventually gets in and corodes the circuit board. this makes the displays do weird things. unscrew the back and have a look.
__________________
how long has this been going on and why wasn't I told about it earlier.....
lordgeoff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 22-02-2015, 21:54   #8
cruiser

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Lake Ontario
Boat: Douglas 32 Mk II
Posts: 1,921
Re: Help With ST50 Depth Fault

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ex-Calif View Post
One of the gigs on the boat after refit is constant flashing of the depth with zero indicated depth.

The manual says this is a transducer fault. The transducer was working fine at haulout and I do have a spare (new) which I hooked up while on the hard with the same result.

I think I have the pinouts wrong.

The indicator/guage has red, shield and yellow - I am sure that's power, ground and seatalk bus.

The transducer has blue, black and shield. The original transducer had 2 wires and this is a later model transducer. The Raymarine FAQ site indicates that transducer black and shield are both connected to gauge shield and blue is connected to red.

That's how I have it wired. So I know I get power but I don't get signal. Here's a shot underway last Wednesday.

Any thoughts or wisdom of what to try next?
First, and foremost, the depthsounder cannot work when the boat is out of the water.

If the unit powers up, means that the power connection is probably fine.

Verify power to unit is between 11 and 15 Vdc.

With power applied, place your hand firmly on the transducer face and slowly slide it across. You should feel it pulsing.

If not, you have one of 3 possible faults:

1. Defective display head (not transmitting).
2. Transducer wiring/cable fault.
3. Defective transducer.

Best bet would be to put a scope on the transducer connection. You should get a transmit pulse (about 300V p-p) every 1/2 to 1 second.

If it is pulsing, you have one of three possible faults:

1. Weak echo (check transducer installation).
2. Wrong frequency transducer.
3. Defective display head.
__________________

__________________
ramblinrod is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
depth

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ST50 / 60 Depth Compatible ? markpj23 Marine Electronics 13 13-10-2017 09:39
ST50 Tridata - Depth Values parito Marine Electronics 2 15-07-2011 08:41
For Sale: ST50 Speed & Depth Display Heads, Airmar Transducers KestrelBuck Classifieds Archive 7 30-06-2011 05:18
Raymarine ST50 Depth Display Roger Hutchinson Marine Electronics 11 08-05-2011 19:40
Autohelm ST50+ Depth zorba Marine Electronics 1 30-11-2009 21:12



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:06.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.