Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-11-2016, 12:32   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Boat: HR352 -> Falmouth Cutter 22
Posts: 26
HELP! Raymarine A5.7" Chart Plotter Install

So this is going to be very amateur but I'm totally lost when it comes to DC electrical. We've installed a new shore power inlet/plug and plenty of other refit projects but this is our first electrical install. The more I read/lookup the more confused I get. Any help would be hugely appreciated!

In the pictures below I have the positive, negative and a shield wire from the power cord for the unit. There is also the DC panel - pretty sure I understand that much. For starters I have no idea what to do with the shield wire. I think I understand that I need to solder two wires to the pos + neg to extend them (14G wire) to connect to a bus or terminal? In case you can't tell I'm seriously lost and won't start the project until I feel somewhat confident in what I'm doing. Any sort of checklist I could go off of or video(s) that gives me an understanding of how to do this would be immensely helpful. Help a girl out!

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Slack for iOS Upload-3.jpg
Views:	120
Size:	328.9 KB
ID:	135959   Click image for larger version

Name:	Slack for iOS Upload.jpg
Views:	146
Size:	356.9 KB
ID:	135960  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Slack for iOS Upload-2.jpg
Views:	134
Size:	374.7 KB
ID:	135961  
__________________

__________________
abandoncomfort.com
Lucidity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 14:06   #2
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 27,902
HELP! Raymarine A5.7" Chart Plotter Install

Shield is a ground, it's purpose it to be what it says, a shield to keep a signal wire from picking up stray electromagnetic signals and transmitting them along as noise, so it is a shield and when you connect it to ground it grounds out the picked up unwanted signals.
Any wire is an antenna, so the shield helps stop it from being an antenna, an antenna wire for example is shielded so that only the antenna it connects to picks up a signal.
__________________

a64pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 14:08   #3
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 27,902
Re: HELP! Raymarine A5.7" Chart Plotter Install

Oh, no solder unless it's unavoidable, all connections should be heat shrunk crimps, which is a lot easier than soldering.
The wire nut in your photo also should not be used, but other than that I would say your wiring is a lot neater than most, neater than mine anyway.
a64pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 15:40   #4
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Maryland, Right Now
Boat: Morgan 452
Posts: 143
Re: HELP! Raymarine A5.7" Chart Plotter Install

I have just installed an a78, so I just faced the same issues. However, I have been living aboard for more than 11 years and have pretty much rewired my boat. In addition, I work all summer doing boat maintenance for a sailing school. So, take this for what it is worth.

First, the shield wire needs to go to your RF ground. If you do not have one (and I suspect you don't), connect a length of GREEN wire to it and attac it to your engine block. This will "ground" it to the water.

Second, most marine electricians recommend against soldering wire. It hardens the underlying wire and makes it brittle. Instead, go to a West Marine and get an Ancor marine connector kit. Yes, you can get this cheaper from Defender, but the people at West Marine are nice about helping out with suggestions and you can see what you are getting.

Third, while you are at West Marine, get some Ancor boat cable, about 14 gage. Get about twice as much as you think you will need to go from your Raymarine unit to your panel. It will give you extra for this job - and some for the next. It is ALWAYS better to have too much and cut back than to have too little and add.

Fourth, while you are at West Marine, pick up a copy of this month's Sail magazine. Nigel Calder has an article on rewiring the older boat that might prove helpful.

Lastly, this is not the end of the subject. It is just enough to get you started. If you need more help, PM me and I will see what I can do to help.
CaptFrankM is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2016, 19:53   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Boat: HR352 -> Falmouth Cutter 22
Posts: 26
Re: HELP! Raymarine A5.7" Chart Plotter Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptFrankM View Post
I have just installed an a78, so I just faced the same issues. However, I have been living aboard for more than 11 years and have pretty much rewired my boat. In addition, I work all summer doing boat maintenance for a sailing school. So, take this for what it is worth.

First, the shield wire needs to go to your RF ground. If you do not have one (and I suspect you don't), connect a length of GREEN wire to it and attac it to your engine block. This will "ground" it to the water.

Second, most marine electricians recommend against soldering wire. It hardens the underlying wire and makes it brittle. Instead, go to a West Marine and get an Ancor marine connector kit. Yes, you can get this cheaper from Defender, but the people at West Marine are nice about helping out with suggestions and you can see what you are getting.

Third, while you are at West Marine, get some Ancor boat cable, about 14 gage. Get about twice as much as you think you will need to go from your Raymarine unit to your panel. It will give you extra for this job - and some for the next. It is ALWAYS better to have too much and cut back than to have too little and add.

Fourth, while you are at West Marine, pick up a copy of this month's Sail magazine. Nigel Calder has an article on rewiring the older boat that might prove helpful.

Lastly, this is not the end of the subject. It is just enough to get you started. If you need more help, PM me and I will see what I can do to help.
Frank this is a huge help, thank you so much! I'm sure this will take up most of our day tomm but once we move on to the next steps im sure we'll have some more questions. Thank you again, can't tell you how helpful this is.
Lucidity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2016, 11:16   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: GREEN COVE SPRINGS, Florida
Boat: Irwin 43 Mk111 CC, Sloop
Posts: 379
Send a message via Skype™ to adlib2
Re: HELP! Raymarine A5.7" Chart Plotter Install

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lucidity View Post
So this is going to be very amateur but I'm totally lost when it comes to DC electrical. We've installed a new shore power inlet/plug and plenty of other refit projects but this is our first electrical install. The more I read/lookup the more confused I get. Any help would be hugely appreciated!

In the pictures below I have the positive, negative and a shield wire from the power cord for the unit. There is also the DC panel - pretty sure I understand that much. For starters I have no idea what to do with the shield wire. I think I understand that I need to solder two wires to the pos + neg to extend them (14G wire) to connect to a bus or terminal? In case you can't tell I'm seriously lost and won't start the project until I feel somewhat confident in what I'm doing. Any sort of checklist I could go off of or video(s) that gives me an understanding of how to do this would be immensely helpful. Help a girl out!

Looking at responses you have good information for someone with reasonable familiarity with AC & DC Power. It's not clear to me that you do? I'd recommend you obtain a book or a web article on boat electrics and electronics.
Raymarine units are connected using SeaTalk 1 or 2 Boxes & Backbone Network and I don't see any signs of these? Do you have other units to connect e.g. speed, depth, wind, compass, pilot to tie together?
__________________

adlib2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
"recent price reduction""owner anxious""bring all offers" sailorboy1 Dollars & Cents 15 06-11-2019 05:06
For Sale: NIB Sitex Radar 20" dome & Si-Tex 7" Colormax CHART plotter Jimbo2010 Classifieds Archive 0 02-04-2014 13:43
Strange behaviour on Raymarine Track mode with ECS chart plotter zlimmie Navigation 3 10-07-2008 13:56
Raymarine 425 Chart plotter problems. sailvi767 Marine Electronics 0 11-10-2007 05:52

Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 14:01.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.