Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-08-2015, 15:21   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 22
Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

I have Raymarine ST60 instruments and want to add a new AIS transponder with wifi to broadcast all nmea data to an iPad running iSailor. But without spending a fortune for a multiplexer, I can't interface the SeaTalk1 to NMEA0183. Anyone have a working Raymarine converter kicking around? Cost?
__________________

__________________
Tiemates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2015, 21:54   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,701
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

setalk to seatalkng (nmea2000) is easy. raymarine still makes the part. the ais is probably nmea2000 anyways?...
__________________

__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 03:53   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Raymarine don't sell the E85001 any more but they do come up on ebay as people retire their st50/st60s. If you have a Raymarine plotter many (all?) of those with a seatalk-1 interface will bridge seatalk data to NMEA-0183. My AIS is connected via NMEA-0183 to a C90W plotter. I currently have the plotter 38400 baud output split between the AIS unit (which actually only cares about the proprietary sentences to turn silent mode on/off) and a serial-to-usb dongle connected to a raspberry pi. The plotter converts my ST50 seatalk stuff to NMEA and the pi sends it out over wireless. Don't know if all Raymarine plotters do this bridging by my 25 year old ST50 Navcenter did it too.

If you don't have Raymarine plotter (or don't want to leave it turned on) there are 3rd party (mainly hobbyist) converters, e.g.:
www.gadgetpool.de - Die Homepage

...or for a more expensive option there's a number of NMEA multiplexers which have seatalk input and conversion (Brookhouse,SHipmodul etc.).

Note that the non-Raymarine ones *I think* are all based around similar reverse engineering/observations rather than official specs and may not convert as many sentences as the E85001, but I suspect they'll do the ones most people are interested in.
__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 06:55   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 22
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

I've been checking eBay but no luck so far. The multiplexers are ok but pretty expensive for what I need. The forum looked like a great last resort in case someone is upgrading and can sell me their Raymarine bridge.
__________________
Tiemates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 07:07   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4,413
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

The electronic manufacturers are creating new products with better displays and more features most of which one doesn't need. This is much like the "development" of things like MS Office. Who needs all the advanced features and tools in the latest and greatest? I have found that some ancient versions of these programs have more than enough tools and bells and whistles for my needs. So there is no need to upgrade. Of course MS stops supporting the old versions and so you often are forced to buy the upgrade. When it is a new OS upgrade you often have to upgade all your software.

Admittedly the new products outshine the oldies... but you pay dearly for this. I've been using a 30 yr old B&G suite and it works fine... I have had a slew of position "fixers" beginning with LoranC and stand alone GPS and now have a on old Ray MFD which is starting to show wear. Connected to it is a radar so the upgrade will be spendy and likely an N2K system and new wire and cockpit repeaters and on and on.

I recently bought a B&G Zeus Touch which is "portable" with a self contained antenna for GPS ... and sits in a winch under the dodger. It's stand alone without any other inputs. Very handy and I don't use the Ray anymore... except to set a waypoint and get the course data from it on the cockpit repeaters.

When the ray dies I will have to bite the bullet with a new N2K suite with radar, cockpit displays and so forth. I am thinking about another Nav station mounted Zeus.
__________________
Sandero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 08:00   #6
Registered User
 
J Clark H356's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Grand Rivers, KY
Boat: Hunter 2003 356 - Persistence
Posts: 505
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Another option would be to buy a DigitalYacht IAIS unit. Connect to your VHF and then use INavX for you IPad Nav program. You can change your IAIS to transmit to multiple IPhones/IPad using UDP setting. I did that and have wifi AIS as described. Works really good and is available on my IPhone and IPad. The IPad provides the GPS so no need for NEMA data. The IAIS unit outputs a USB connection too and I use Raytech to display Class A signals on my laptop at the Nav Station. Get a splitter for your VHF.

I have also looked for a Raymarine converter so I could use a newer laptop with Raytech and display my Radar and sonar. The system I have uses a serial to USB and a box that uses a PCMCIA card. No way to get a laptop or computer that will display that data that I have found. I have a 2003 Pathfinder system. Have not been successful in finding one either.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
J Clark H356 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 08:09   #7
Registered User
 
Truemettle's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Sidney, British Columbia, Canada
Boat: C&C 34, 34 feet
Posts: 45
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

I have both the Raymarine Seatalk to Nmea/serial and the Brookhouse MUX. The Brookhouse has many good features like built in Wifi. Converts to Nmea from Seatalk
And can have multiple nmea Talkers.
__________________
Truemettle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 08:57   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Bristol, England
Boat: Southerly 42
Posts: 54
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Like J Clark I have Digital Yacht AIS broadcasting wifi AIS data to laptop, iPhone and iPad as it has a built in multiplexer. Works perfectly with iNavX and MacEnc but can't say with what else. The missing link is Seatalk depth and wind data from ST60 instruments and if you find a source of E85001s or equivalent let me know as I would like one as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
Sailingmartin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-08-2015, 09:13   #9
Marine Service Provider
 
AnchorageGuy's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Wherever the boat is!
Boat: Marine Trader 34DC
Posts: 4,618
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Tiemates, I have already had one Seatalk to NMEA converter fail and another didn't work out of the box. This was to connect out ST60 to our AIS. The first one worked for over a year and then just quit. I would consider another option. Chuck
__________________
Chesapeake Bay, ICW Hampton Roads To Key West, The Gulf Coast, The Bahamas

The Trawler Beach House
Voyages Of Sea Trek
AnchorageGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 07:44   #10
Registered User

Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 22
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Thanks everyone. Looks like a Brookhouse multiplexer is the best fit for me.
__________________
Tiemates is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 07:53   #11
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

85001 does not take 38400 data neither does it take rs422 data (should your AIS be Vw+/Ve- styled (RS422).

The wifi box built by our Swedish colleague claims to both multiplex data and to accept RS232 and/or 422. So look up his website perhaps. Similar to brookhouse but inexpensive.

vYacht Yacht automation

There is an earlier thread where this box and a couple of other options have been discussed.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 08:23   #12
Moderator
 
carstenb's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2012
Location: Copenhagen
Boat: Jeanneau Sun Fast 40.3
Posts: 4,942
Images: 1
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Quote:
Originally Posted by smac999 View Post
setalk to seatalkng (nmea2000) is easy. raymarine still makes the part. the ais is probably nmea2000 anyways?...
This is the easiest way - convert it to Nmea 2000, not 0183. Bet your AIS loves Nmea 2000
__________________
I spent most of my money on Booze, Broads and Boats. The rest I wasted - Elmore Leonard
carstenb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2015, 09:05   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Brighton, UK
Boat: Westerly Oceanlord
Posts: 374
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Quote:
Originally Posted by barnakiel View Post
85001 does not take 38400 data neither does it take rs422 data (should your AIS be Vw+/Ve- styled (RS422).
If I parsed the OP correctly it doesn't have to. Tiemates intends to buy an AIS transponder with wifi which implies something like the vesper, so the task is converting existing seatalk-1 to NMEA for input into the AIS/wifi unit (which should accept 4800 baud if it's a vesper). Could be wrong...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tiemates View Post
I have Raymarine ST60 instruments and want to add a new AIS transponder with wifi to broadcast all nmea data to an iPad running iSailor.
__________________
muttnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2015, 12:44   #14
Registered User
 
the_alpine's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: st petersburg, fl
Boat: O'Day 302
Posts: 263
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Did you make any progess?
__________________
the_alpine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-06-2016, 07:20   #15
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 1
Re: Help! Need Raymarine Nmea0183 Bridge Converter E85001

Tie mates do you still need a E85001. I have a NIB one.
__________________

__________________
diegokid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
marine, nmea, raymarine

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Want To Buy: Wanted: Raymarine E85001 interface Sailingmartin Classifieds Archive 0 28-07-2015 04:24
For Sale: Raymarine E85001 interface box Overlord Classifieds Archive 0 17-11-2012 08:13
Raymarine A50 Plotter and E85001 Cariad1961 Marine Electronics 1 02-06-2011 20:53
Does Raymarine C120W Output Full NMEA0183 Data ? Cavalier Marine Electronics 11 29-04-2011 00:20
Bridge Clearance of 'Seven Mile Bridge' (South of Boot Key) ? Almost Heaven Navigation 4 18-11-2010 15:20



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:37.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.