Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 11-07-2015, 13:16   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

Our Robertson AP20 autopilot gives me a warning with the following text LOW SUPPLY
VOLTAGE but the batteries gives 13,3V.

What is wrong? ????



www.searibystorebro.com
__________________

__________________
Dan of Sweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 13:26   #2
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2005
Boat: Outbound 44
Posts: 4,591
re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

Corrosion on the connectors???? Temporarily run a new set of power wires from the battery distribution to the AP and see if the problem goes away.
__________________

__________________
Paul L
http://svjeorgia.blogspot.com
Paul L is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 13:37   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

Ok that was s god idea. I have tried to figure out how to get info from the display how much voltage goes into the Ap as it says low voltage. I gave up! Anyone ??
__________________
Dan of Sweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 13:59   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York
Boat: LeComte NorthEast 38
Posts: 380
God helg me with my autopilot ap20

Do you have a little digital voltmeter? Use one to measure actual voltage on the connectors right before the unit, should be easy enough. If it's the same as your battery 13.3 - there may be smth wrong with the AP?


Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
antoha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-07-2015, 14:04   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,335
re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

Measure the voltage where the power wires go into the autopilot junction box while you are making the autopilot move the rudder by pressing the left and right buttons in standby mode. It should be 13.0v or above if the batteries are at 13.3v. If not, start looking for corroded connections/wires by checking the voltage under load at intermediate points. Remember that the problem can be in the ground wire as well as the positive lead.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 04:12   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

Wall, thats a annoying way of spending ny sunday ...

I have measured the incoming voltage and its about 13,3. Sofar so good. When I measure the voltage incoming from the junctionbox j3000X its 3,4. Maybe its correct, maybe not. Should this also show 13,3?

Is it possible to get a NEW junctionbox or should I send it for repare .
__________________
Dan of Sweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 04:33   #7
Registered User
 
DumnMad's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Nelson NZ; boat in Brisbane
Boat: 45ft Ketch
Posts: 1,248
re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

Maybe batteries are low but 13.3 is from solar panels ?
__________________
DumnMad is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 07:04   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: New York
Boat: LeComte NorthEast 38
Posts: 380
God helg me with my autopilot ap20

Incoming from the junction box: I guess you measured both before and after the wires going from the junction box to the control head? (Where is the problem - those wires or the box?)

This is probably an older version of the AP, no longer manufactured, they pop up on eBay occasionally, separately or as sets, seldom new though. Not sure if it's time for a new setup!

Sent from my iPhone using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
antoha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 08:26   #9
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,777
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

perhaps your ap20 is defective or has connection issues. sounds like your boat works just fine.
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 08:40   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 20
re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

I have one of those ,and was getting a read out of current overload ,and with that it would stop working . Applying the power to the HLD 350 ram directly , it worked fine , so the books answer was a new PBC , and yes they have been superseded , but a J300X PBC replaced mine and it works fine , now here is the rub , I was still getting current overload . as someone mentioned before , connections , first you should write down all your settings so you can reprogram the reset the the same , then pull ,of every connection you can find WD 40 them all and work them in and out a few times ,reconnect all , then reset the program , and in my case , bingo it works again ,just looking at the connections wont do it they might look clean , and still not funtion , and in my case , I don't think I needed the new PBC at all , I left it in , but $800.00 could have been saved .Incidentaly I got the part through Wally at Custom Marine Electronics , Shelter Island , San Diego , some of the other places just told me to get an udate $ 2000.00
__________________
Duchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 09:45   #11
Registered User
 
Snore's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: www.USCGMaster.com
Boat: Tartan 33
Posts: 1,882
Re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

There are several variables. As others mentioned- Are the connections corroded? What is the distance from the source to the A/P? What is the gauge of the wire?

I had a similar problem when to PO wired a Ray 3000 with 22Ga wire. Upped the wire to 12(admitted overkill) and solved the problem.

Also are other items tapped off the A/P feed?


Sent from my iPhone- please forgive autocorrect errors.
__________________
"Whenever...it requires a strong moral principle to prevent me from deliberately stepping into the street, and methodically knocking people's hats off- then, I account it high time to get to sea..." Ismael ---- NEW website! www.USCGMaster.com
Snore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2015, 11:08   #12
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,335
Re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

The going rate for a working J3000x on Ebay is about $250-300 Its about the same for the J300x, which is rated for a higher power motor and is more available. If you decide the junction box needs replacing, go with the J300x.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-07-2015, 04:31   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 4
Re: Help Me With My Autopilot ap20

When I put the autopilot in autopilotmode it works just great with NO errors or the alarm . But in st standby the errors occur .

Alarm but NO problem .. What ???? ?
__________________

__________________
Dan of Sweden is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
autopilot

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Simrad AP20 Autopilot Control Unit Bill Connolly Marine Electronics 4 02-11-2012 03:58
want to buy Simrad Autopilot AP20 MY Zerlina Classifieds Archive 7 06-05-2012 14:11
Robertson AP20 Autopilot Operating Erratically Uncle Buck Marine Electronics 5 22-09-2011 20:59
Simrad Robertson AP20 Help Uncle Buck Marine Electronics 9 19-11-2010 10:22
Need Simrad AP20 Control Head... gbanker Marine Electronics 7 19-05-2010 12:23



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:45.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.