Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 13-10-2011, 05:36   #1
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grenada
Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
Posts: 927
GPS Will Not Work on New Computer

I am not very computer savvy so have a question that might seem too easy for most of you. I had an old Latitude computer on the boat that will now not start. No power. I use Capn Voyager and had it hooked up to a Garmin GPSmap 168. All was well. With it not working I attached the GPS to my new computer that uses Windows 7 Professional as the operating system. I have the GPS set to NMEA default 4800 baud standard. There is no communication between the GPS and computer.
Also hooked up a Garmin GPS 72 and no communications also.
Third attached a Navibe GM720, con communications. Also downloaded and installed the drivers before I hooked up the GPS.
Any ideas on how to get any of them to work? Thanks Dave
__________________

__________________
landonshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 06:15   #2
Registered User
 
Dulcesuenos's Avatar

Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Florida Keys, Bahamas Bound
Boat: 38' French Cat
Posts: 2,828
Images: 4
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

We purchased a great lil USB GPS receiver and software for it for under $70. online, It worked great! on all our computers except the one Useing windows 7. We had to reconfigure it and change some set up configuration, and it still works most of the time but sometimes has a software clash. We were told originaly it does not work at all w/ windows 7 but it seems to be fine 90% of the time.
Wish I could be of mor ehelp but m be a windows 7 issue. Ours runs at a 9600 baud, but I really am new with this all.
__________________

__________________
Dulcesuenos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 06:46   #3
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,312
Images: 75
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

had this problem with cmap when using a different gps dongle,eventually found that you need to configure the ports on the computer in the mapping software program as their is no auto detect function.
__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 06:55   #4
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grenada
Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
Posts: 927
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

You are saying to go into Capn Voyager and set up the proper port in that software? And were you using Windows 7 Professional? Dave
__________________
landonshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 06:58   #5
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,312
Images: 75
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by landonshaw View Post
You are saying to go into Capn Voyager and set up the proper port in that software? Dave
that is correct
__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 07:02   #6
Registered User
 
Cormorant's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Catskill Mountains when not cruising
Boat: 31' homebuilt Michalak-designed Cormorant "Sea Fever"
Posts: 2,073
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

If your new Win 7 machine is 64-bit and the drivers for the GPS are 32-bit that might be the source of your trouble.
__________________
Cormorant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 07:04   #7
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,312
Images: 75
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

that is first configure a port in the windows7,it should auto detect this"found new hardware msg" then once you know what port no go in to the capn software and set it for the same port,as software is probably looking for signal from the old configuration!
if that makes sense!!!!
__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 07:13   #8
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Grenada
Boat: Shorebro,Royal 33 - Aloisius
Posts: 927
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

I tried to go into the software to locate the setting to tell Capn Voyager the port. Was not able to find the command. Do you remember where it is?
__________________
landonshaw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 07:34   #9
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,312
Images: 75
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by landonshaw View Post
I tried to go into the software to locate the setting to tell Capn Voyager the port. Was not able to find the command. Do you remember where it is?
havent a clue for capn software,but seem to remember for cmap right clicking on the desktop icon,then opening properties to get into the program files,after that it was easy ,look for a word file for the manual once you get in.
__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 09:05   #10
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Santa Cruz
Boat: Boatless Again
Posts: 4,335
Re: GPS Will Not Work on New Computer

There are real problems with W7 GPS drivers--just install XP on your new computer and all your issues will go away.
__________________
donradcliffe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-10-2011, 09:31   #11
Registered User

Join Date: May 2009
Location: Vancouver, Wash.
Boat: no longer on my Cabo Rico 38 Sanderling
Posts: 1,794
Send a message via MSN to John A
Re: GPS will not work on new computer

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cormorant View Post
If your new Win 7 machine is 64-bit and the drivers for the GPS are 32-bit that might be the source of your trouble.
Insure that the Microsoft Internet Explorer was installed with the 32 bit option and not the 64 bit option. You may need to deinstall and reinstall.
There is a problem as most apps. use Adobe Flash Player to interface between the internet programs (Exployrer 9 ) and Windows.
Adobe Flash Players more recent upgrades do not work well when Exployer 9 is set to the 64 bit option.

Of coures computers being computers, there may be other issues.
Good luck
__________________

__________________
John A is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
computers, gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Linux Version gpsd Selection for GPS Port sdowney717 OpenCPN 3 30-08-2011 11:02
BU-353 / Cap'n Problems sneuman Navigation 16 15-08-2011 07:33
Route Properties, Missing Functions James Baines OpenCPN 13 13-07-2011 05:31



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:05.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.