Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-03-2019, 13:16   #16
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 2,114
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

Here is the manual for the GlobalSat BR-355S4:

https://www.globalsat.com.tw/ftp/dow...Guide-V1.0.pdf

It does output in MNEA 0183 v3.0 protocol so no problem using it out of the box.

It is an older GPS module; others could have been bought for the same or less price that are newer. Newer would have got you faster first fixes, more sensitive reception (better for below deck operation) and positioning using other GNSS signals (Russian GLONASS, Chinese Bei Dou, European Galileo) but little accuracy improvement. It will get the job done just fine.

Greg
__________________

CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 14:12   #17
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 2,114
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

Correction: The BR-355S4 supposedly uses the same module (SiRFstarIV GSD4e) as the older BR-353S4 but the hot start time to first fix has been reduced from 8s to 1s - a competitive number - and there must have been an upgrade to the same model of the module. The available sensitivity is also way up, depending on the LNA used, so again very contemporary performance. The only "improvement" could be the reception of other GNSS signals; in practice GPS is the most accurate so not really an issue unless something happens to GPS. Qualcomm (who bought SiRF) was a little naughty in not using a new model name for the upgraded module, but it is definitely upgraded.

Greg
__________________

CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 19:20   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minnesota / Florida
Boat: Westerly Fulmar 32
Posts: 415
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarinaPDX View Post
Correction: The BR-355S4 supposedly uses the same module (SiRFstarIV GSD4e) as the older BR-353S4 but the hot start time to first fix has been reduced from 8s to 1s - a competitive number - and there must have been an upgrade to the same model of the module. The available sensitivity is also way up, depending on the LNA used, so again very contemporary performance. The only "improvement" could be the reception of other GNSS signals; in practice GPS is the most accurate so not really an issue unless something happens to GPS. Qualcomm (who bought SiRF) was a little naughty in not using a new model name for the upgraded module, but it is definitely upgraded.

Greg
Wooshhh... right over my head..! Iíll read the manual and digest first, but the m506 does have NMEA 2000 & 0183 inputs. Prepare for more stupid questions...

Regards Steven
Steven UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 19:34   #19
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,875
Images: 75
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

normally if you use the nmea output from a gps chart plotter to the vhf it is just a case of connecting 2 wires
__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2019, 20:04   #20
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minnesota / Florida
Boat: Westerly Fulmar 32
Posts: 415
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

After a quick google... the TX and Rex -wires can be grounded to the power supply puck ( not sure why the radio needs to talk to the puck). Iím thinking three wires for the puck:-
+5v
-5v
Puck talker + to radio gps receive
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	A1BFCA10-EE6F-4B63-9D88-8089BE5860F9.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	410.9 KB
ID:	187882   Click image for larger version

Name:	B1114427-050D-43E4-9F81-9402DBF81112.jpg
Views:	16
Size:	312.3 KB
ID:	187883  

Steven UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2019, 04:58   #21
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,875
Images: 75
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven UK View Post
After a quick google... the TX and Rex -wires can be grounded to the power supply puck ( not sure why the radio needs to talk to the puck). I’m thinking three wires for the puck:-
+5v
-5v
Puck talker + to radio gps receive
the rx wire and ground would be for software input to the puck via usb cable from a computer.

the radio only needs the tx + and ground - from the puck
to its nmea rx+ input and ground-,only 2 wires ie green- and yellow+ on the radio

puck power input would be the common ground and pos input

radio talker wires brown -and white+ go to either a chartplotter or can be connected to a usb adapter cable to a pc for dsc data on the respective plotters
__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2019, 06:31   #22
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minnesota / Florida
Boat: Westerly Fulmar 32
Posts: 415
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

Quote:
Originally Posted by atoll View Post
the rx wire and ground would be for software input to the puck via usb cable from a computer.

the radio only needs the tx + and ground - from the puck
to its nmea rx+ input and ground-,only 2 wires ie green- and yellow+ on the radio

puck power input would be the common ground and pos input

radio talker wires brown -and white+ go to either a chartplotter or can be connected to a usb adapter cable to a pc for dsc data on the respective plotters
Got it...
Iím assuming that two radios can share the same feed from the puck, I.e. two radios in parallel with the puck TX and ground wire. I may just leave my old radio in place....
Regards Steven
Steven UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2019, 11:48   #23
Registered User
 
CarinaPDX's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Portland, Oregon, USA
Boat: 31' Cape George Cutter
Posts: 2,114
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

IIRC the NMEA standard is, or at least used to be, that one talker could drive up to 4 listeners but that would not necessarily apply as these GPS pucks aren't NMEA approved. You should be on safe ground with 2, and even if 4 or more were a problem it shouldn't damage anything.


Greg
CarinaPDX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-03-2019, 12:14   #24
Senior Cruiser
 
atoll's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: gettin naughty on the beach in cornwall
Boat: 63 custom alloy sloop,macwester26,prout snowgoose 37 elite catamaran!
Posts: 9,875
Images: 75
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

Quote:
Originally Posted by Steven UK View Post
Got it...
I’m assuming that two radios can share the same feed from the puck, I.e. two radios in parallel with the puck TX and ground wire. I may just leave my old radio in place....
Regards Steven
not really any point in that as then you would need 2 vhf antennas or a vhf antenna splitter if you wanted them both to operate,keep it as a spare in a locker or ebay the old one

also for some reason on some radios if the gps data does not show up ,swapping the pos and neg TX inputs rectifies the problem
you might also need to set the nmea settings on the radio in the menu for in/out tx/rx 4800 baud in com1 and or com2
__________________
my catamaran building project updates http://www.cruisersforum.com/forums/...36#post2502136
atoll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-04-2019, 12:48   #25
Registered User

Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Minnesota / Florida
Boat: Westerly Fulmar 32
Posts: 415
Re: GPS signal to icom M302

Just closing the loop here, I ended up buying a M506 with AIS but still needed the GPS input, the below suggestion worked perfectly. The GPS info is on the screen about a second after the radio boots up and the collision function works great. Many thanks all that helped here.

Regards Steven

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarinaPDX View Post
The OP asked for an economical solution. For $20 he can buy a new, marine GPS receiver with NMEA i/f and 12V power, from China:
https://www.aliexpress.com/item/12V-...807433645.html

For $6 more he can buy a unit that also receives GLONASS, and if he wants to do a little extra work, Galileo. Or GPS+Galileo+(Beidou or GLONASS): https://www.aliexpress.com/item/NEW-...971734254.html
The only downside is that it takes 1-2 months to receive.

Greg
__________________

Steven UK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps, icom

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Icom M504 Weak Signal. CampDavid Marine Electronics 6 08-07-2012 22:56
GPS Signal Interference in US CarlF Navigation 36 19-05-2012 08:13
GPS Signal Drop Out mjwarner Cruising News & Events 11 17-02-2012 11:15
Loss of GPS signal/ COM port on Windows (7) Netsurfer OpenCPN 2 27-06-2011 07:44
GPS signal too weak on Datamarine 5000 phorvati Marine Electronics 2 11-08-2009 14:26



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:20.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.