Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-08-2013, 21:42   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Concord, NC
Boat: 1986 CS 30
Posts: 207
Send a message via Yahoo to Hank Kivett
GPS

I recently installed a new Standard Horzion 1600 vhf and my plans were to hook up the chart plotter to it so i could use the MMSI; however, I have no way to hook it up due to lack of wire space. Now my back up plan is to buy a cheap maybe used GPS unit that i can wire up directly to the radio and also wire it's own 12 volt power source. I do have a Garmin 12 but they do not make a power/data cable for it to transfer data. So does anyone know of a cheap unit available...I looked on ebay and came up short....All i am interested in is lat and lon to be sent to the redio...
__________________

__________________
Hank Kivett is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 00:29   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,700
Re: GPS

a cheap one? no... the ray 125 would work but they are like $400.

some of the new radios have gps built in.
__________________

__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 07:40   #3
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hank Kivett View Post
(...) I have no way to hook it up due to lack of wire space. (...)
What do you mean by 'lack of wire space'. How is this a limiting factor?

If you want a GPS unit to send NMEA to other units, and if you want it to use same power source as other units then most Garmin handhelds will do (e.g. 72). There is also a choice of 12 Volt / data out / screenless GPS units to chose from. e.g. Garmin 17.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:05   #4
Registered User
 
CaptTom's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Southern Maine
Boat: Prairie 36 Coastal Cruiser
Posts: 977
Re: GPS

Would something like this work? It says it does serial out, but you'd need to know the power requirements, you probably couldn't just hook it to a 12V supply.

I might need something like this, my old GPS, which I'd like to keep as a backup, has an external GPS antenna that's connected via a thin coax. Neither the receiver nor the wire look like they have a lot of life left in them, so I'd like to replace them. Or at least have a plan for when I need to.
__________________
CaptTom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 08:42   #5
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: GPS

I am not sure. This one will need a driver (it is for use with a PC).

I think OP wants something that works as a standalone GPS data generator (NMEA out) with 12V power in.

b.
__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 10:14   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 2,943
Re: GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptTom View Post
Would something like this work?
Actually, I suspect that unit starts barking out serial data as soon as it's powered, which means it's a possible solution to the OP's problem. Drivers are only required by any computer you connect to. Some custom voltage conversion and signal level changing/buffering might be required.

I have a Lowrance handheld GPS I got for $5 - works great and outputs NMEA0183, but you have to remember to turn it ON, which makes it a poor candidate for supplying GPS data to the VHF.
__________________
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 11:21   #7
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: GPS

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lake-Effect View Post
Actually, I suspect that unit starts barking out serial data as soon as it's powered, which means it's a possible solution to the OP's problem. Drivers are only required by any computer you connect to. Some custom voltage conversion and signal level changing/buffering might be required.
(...)
Doh. I must try this out. I always wondered but never tested.

Voltage 5V right? (then one can use a cigarete to tablet/ipod step down plug!).

And I feed it via a serial to USB (my BU is USB) cable, right? Then collect my serial data from there too ...

THX for sharing.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
gps

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 00:18.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.