Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-07-2014, 08:52   #1

Boat: Island Packet 32
Garmin vs Raymarine

I'll be getting a new set of nav instruments for our Island Packet 32 in a few weeks. I've pretty much made up my mind what I want, but think it is prudent to get feedback from all of you.

I'm looking at an integrated radar, GPS chartplotter, and AIS. I prefer to buy all one manufacturer, get everything I need, and install it all in one fell swoop.

I'd like to hear the pros and cons of Garmin vs. Raymarine. I have limited experience w/ either company.

All Thoughts Appreciated! TIA

PB
PlumBob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2014, 10:02   #2

Re: Garmin vs Raymarine

Both of companies make great units. Be careful of forum opinions based on five year old units - they've both come a long way - especially in networking.

Both companies have jammed so many gee whiz features in that I think they have become less easy to use for basic navigation. Go to West Marine and play with the unit. If you need a manual, that's a bad sign. Take your wife too. My wife does most of the chartplotter work on our boat so her opinion is important.

Don't be influenced by the techie feature race. My Garmin has 3D - I never use it. And I don't have a desire to play music over my chartplotter.

The two companies also offer different charts. Garmin has their own brand. Raymarine uses Navionics (and now offers their own free charts too). The way the charts display can be quite different as you move around and zoom. This is especially true if you like to use "Course Up" instead of "North Up" orientation. I personally find the Garmin charts more legible in "Course Up" mode.

But I haven't seen either Garmin or Raymarine's newest offering. Maybe it's all changed.