Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 29-12-2015, 05:35   #1
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Garmin on the fritz ...

My Garmin 546s chartplotter has decided to start acting up. It will summarily lose power at intermittent intervals (sometimes as little as a minute) but then start right back up again. However, it only seems to happen when I'm underway.

So, it would seem to be a power issue -- but no breakers trip or fuses are blown and, like I said, it always starts right back up, which to me doesn't indicate a lose connection, or else there would be times that it wouldn't power back up.

Any thoughts would be appreciated. BTW, I am in the Caribbean, so simply returning it to Garmin is not the easiest option.
__________________

__________________
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2015, 06:01   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Essex, England
Boat: Hartley Tahitian 48
Posts: 284
Re: Garmin on the fritz ...

Only underway - either power drop or loss due to a loose connection (movement related).


Check all connections first.
__________________

__________________
paulajayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 29-12-2015, 16:45   #3
Registered User
 
Fog Bank's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: San Francisco
Boat: Cal 2-27
Posts: 240
Re: Garmin on the fritz ...

This says loose connection to me.
__________________
Fog Bank is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2015, 12:53   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
River Cruiser's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: UMR mm 283 /winter in Kansas
Boat: Bayliner 3870 41' oal.
Posts: 817
Re: Garmin on the fritz ...

I would agree with the others, I have a SH cp590 wired thru a switch it will start back up if I shutdown using the switch without using the power button.


Sent from my iPad using Cruisers Sailing Forum
__________________
River Cruiser is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2015, 13:01   #5
֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎֍֎

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 13,022
Re: Garmin on the fritz ...

I'd try drumming/thumping on it with my fingers for a few minutes, to see if something internal is perhaps not making a good connection. In that case, if it is the usual watertight welded case, it has to go back for service. If you can open it up, then perhaps use a magnifier and look for a simple hairline bad solder joint, probably near the power leads.
__________________
hellosailor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 31-12-2015, 13:04   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
sneuman's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: May 2003
Location: Jamaica
Boat: Tayana 37 Cutter
Posts: 3,167
Images: 37
Re: Garmin on the fritz ...

Thanks. I checked all the connections and, as I suspected, that's not it.
__________________
sneuman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 04:07   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Essex, England
Boat: Hartley Tahitian 48
Posts: 284
Re: Garmin on the fritz ...

Loosing power underway indicates that is movement related and either a trapped wire, a loose connection or a soldered joint failing.

Start with the basics and trace power wire all the way back. Connect a multimeter at the plug end set to volts DC, wiggle and pull the wire at each connection whilst monitoring the voltage.

If you can plug the unit into a known good source (another boat) and test.

HTH
__________________
paulajayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 07:15   #8
cat herder, extreme blacksheep
 
zeehag's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: furycame alley , tropics, mexico for now
Boat: 1976 FORMOSA yankee clipper 41
Posts: 17,761
Images: 56
Send a message via Yahoo to zeehag Send a message via Skype™ to zeehag
Re: Garmin on the fritz ...

i have garmin also--had no backlight--learned via buying new unit ( ebay is great) with new cord, that the cord was problem, so now i have 2 garmin heads and 1 functional power cord. try that. worked well for me.
zeehag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-01-2016, 09:47   #9
Senior Cruiser

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: between the devil and the deep blue sea
Boat: a sailing boat
Posts: 17,314
Re: Garmin on the fritz ...

Sounds movement related. Disconnect from the bank, plug into a local source. Go into Martinique St Lucia channel see what happens.

b.
__________________

__________________
barnakiel is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin Chart Plotter On The Fritz Neo Marine Electronics 0 08-08-2013 09:21
Simpson Lawerence Windlass on the fritz! Stirfryd Deck hardware: Rigging, Sails & Hoisting 1 13-05-2013 22:14
Is Garmin GARMIN/GARMIN (Host) Mode Working ? Sail323 OpenCPN 13 13-11-2010 07:36
Fritz from Annapolis Boat Show Fritz Monohull Sailboats 2 08-10-2006 20:24



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 21:15.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.