Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 24-04-2010, 20:27   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 1
Garmin GPS18X USB with Franson GpsGate

Does anyone have any experience with the above? I am assisting a friend set up his gps 18x usb with cmap. But he has a Windows 7 64bit laptop and the garmin Spanner software is not being rewritten for this.

I have contacted Franson who say their gpsgate usb to com emulation software will work. Would appreciate knowing if anyone else has used this configuration successfully?

Regards
Sue
__________________

__________________
shenders is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2010, 07:15   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 167
Franson

Hi
I tried their program earlier on a differant computer using 7 pro and the XP virtual machine with Captn and it did not work. It just chrashed. Might have been something I did wrong but unable to figure it out being new to 7. Try the trail version maybe and report if it works?
Svadagio
__________________

__________________
svadagio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-02-2013, 09:27   #3
Registered User
 
lucresai's Avatar

Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Curacao N.A.
Boat: Simpson 14.8
Posts: 4
Re: Garmin GPS18X USB with Franson GpsGate

I just bought a Garmin 18x usb and can't get it working on my Dell 64bit win7 pro with many nav programs. Lucas
__________________
lucresai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 07:11   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Re: Garmin GPS18X USB with Franson GpsGate

I am somewhat glad that I am not the only one having problems with usb gps and laptops running windows 7. I bought a globalsat BU-353S4 and it works great with my home PC running windows xp (I mean it automatically finds the port its plugged into and everything!). On windows7 I got it to work once........after many attempts including installing , uninstalling, drivers from the install disc and from the web. Last night it wouldn't work.....am considering a different receiver, but don't want to spend the cash if I can't get that to work!!

The problem seems to be with windows 7. And I have not yet begun to integrate it with OpenCPN. Has anyone out there been able to find a fix for this? Will keep searching!!

Regards

Rich
__________________
Rich W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 14:51   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Cooktown,Australia.(only to collect my mail)
Boat: Fastback 32 cat.
Posts: 158
Re: Garmin GPS18X USB with Franson GpsGate

I'm using a garmin gps60 with franson gps gate on windows 7,no problem. I was certain I set up the computer as 64 bit but now it says 32 bit ?
__________________
Ian R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2013, 19:15   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 16
Re: Garmin GPS18X USB with Franson GpsGate

Got my gps to work on the laptop.....the fix is: right click the gps info program shortcut, and click "Run as administrator".......then it works fine. I still need to see if it will work with openCPN....stay tuned. Rich
__________________
Rich W is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2013, 10:10   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2011
Boat: Super Sovereign 35
Posts: 4
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rich W View Post
I am somewhat glad that I am not the only one having problems with usb gps and laptops running windows 7. I bought a globalsat BU-353S4 and it works great with my home PC running windows xp (I mean it automatically finds the port its plugged into and everything!). On windows7 I got it to work once........after many attempts including installing , uninstalling, drivers from the install disc and from the web. Last night it wouldn't work.....am considering a different receiver, but don't want to spend the cash if I can't get that to work!!

The problem seems to be with windows 7. And I have not yet begun to integrate it with OpenCPN. Has anyone out there been able to find a fix for this? Will keep searching!!

Regards

Rich
Windows 7 and USB problems. USB ports can often just drop out. I believe that this can be caused by windows power management option on the USB hub. What is worse is that sometimes when they are re activated they are identified by the OS as a serial mouse, causing havoc with anything running and your desktop. The solution to this is to Computer Management / Devices expand the USB then on each of the USB Hubs right mouse Properties then remove the Power Management switch off option.
__________________

__________________
sovereign is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin Serial Port to USB Cable and Driver bvimatelot Navigation 22 22-11-2010 16:53
Powered USB Hub vs Powered USB Cables Bryan Kemler Monohull Sailboats 2 20-01-2010 16:24
usb problem bobsadler Marine Electronics 7 07-12-2008 10:30
Garmin 276c ==> Sea Clear II via USB iSailor Marine Electronics 3 16-09-2008 13:25
USB GPS NoTies Marine Electronics 25 25-08-2006 06:52



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:03.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.