Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 23-04-2014, 22:35   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Caribbean Islands
Boat: 48' Alu Cat
Posts: 118
Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

I've just installed a new NMEA 2000 system including a Garmin GPS (17x NMEA 2000) and GMA 10 display.

Everything else in the system appears to be working properly including depth and wind data. The GMA 10 recognises the GPS is connected and even allows for some configuration of the device but it cannot get a position or display satellite sky view.

We have also tried connecting it to our laptop through a NMEA 2000 usb adapter and noticed that it is outputting some data (screen shot attached).

Note date, time and position are wrong. Is the date and time supposed to come from the satellites or does the GPS need to know this first to get a lock?

We are quite stuck with this, any helpful advice is appreciated.

Thanks,
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screen shot GPS.png
Views:	208
Size:	182.0 KB
ID:	79749  
__________________

__________________
Seman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 24-04-2014, 23:40   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Northport, Michigan
Boat: Trailerable cruising boat
Posts: 300
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

A GNSS receiver usually needs to know the date and the approximate time, and to have satellite ephemeris data, in order to have a reasonable time to first fix from a stone cold start. If it has that data, it can better know what satellite might be in view, and start to listen for that satellite, instead of randomly listening for a satellite that might be on the other side of the Earth at the moment.

I am also guessing that perhaps the last place that your Garmin GNSS receiver was located when operating might have been Olathe, Kansas. If it wakes up and thinks it is still in Kansas when in fact it is in SE Asia, the time to first fix might be longer than anticipated.

If you can see the Satellites in View display, you could compare what the Garmin receiver thinks are the satellites overhead with a real-time map of where the satellites are. That would give you an idea if the receiver was trying to listen for the proper satellites.

Get the real time position of GPS satellites from:

http://www.nstb.tc.faa.gov/RT_WaasSatelliteStatus.htm
__________________

__________________
continuouswave is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2014, 01:03   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 1,688
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

the time and date will come from the sats once it locks onto one of them. it needs 3+ for a pos. so you aren't getting any.

as above first time it might take longer to aquire. but I'm talking mins, instead of seconds. sounds like yours isn't working at all. does it have a clear view of the sky?

the plotter and gmi 10 probably have a sat status page? with signals and looked satillites.
__________________
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 25-04-2014, 19:45   #4
Senior Cruiser
 
Opie91's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CT
Boat: C&C 34
Posts: 810
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

Do you have another GPS hooked up to the GMI? You may have a configuration issue if there are multiple GPS on the 2000 network.
__________________
Opie91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2014, 17:42   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Caribbean Islands
Boat: 48' Alu Cat
Posts: 118
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

Thank you for your comments, I have only the 1 GPS connected, still no position.
__________________
Seman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-04-2014, 18:28   #6
Senior Cruiser
 
delmarrey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Now in Blaine, WA
Boat: Modified Choate 40
Posts: 10,702
Images: 122
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

A couple possibilities, is the antenna (17x) in clear view of the sky. Also try switching Tee connectors or other connectors. But I suspect a faulty antenna. If it's new call Garmin tech support. They're pretty good with customer service.
__________________
Faithful are the Wounds of a Friend, but the Kisses of the Enemy are Deceitful! ........
A nation of sheep breeds a government of wolves!

Unprepared boaters, end up as floatsum!.......
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 17:26   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Caribbean Islands
Boat: 48' Alu Cat
Posts: 118
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

Thank you for your help, I have tried to contact Garmin a week ago, still waiting for a reply.
I still can't get a position, have a clear view of the sky, getting some sentences out of the unit, but no position.
__________________
Seman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-05-2014, 18:34   #8
Registered User
 
zboss's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On a boat
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 3,425
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

You need to call garmin support directly. They will usually solve immediately by either sending an update or arranging a replacement.
__________________
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 16:04   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

If you go to your MFD go to Communications, then click on NMEA2000 you should get a list of all NMEA2000 devices. You can prioritize the GPS from the same menu. Does the plotter show the GPS antenna on it's list of available devices? The GMI 10 is just a device you said GMA 10 as far as I know there is no GMA 10. How do you have your NMEA2000 configured is there power on the bias T drop? Devices like the GMI 10 and the MFD get power from their own power leads they do not provide power to the NMEA2000 backbone. The GPS17X needs to derive power from the NMEA2000 network. Also check the fuse supplied with the Garmin NMEA2000 starter kit. You didn't mention the MFD or chart plotter you are using what is it or is there no MFD or chart plotter other than the GMI 10 display? The power T for Garmin has a yellow jacket on the drop cable. You should have terminations at the end of the NMEA2000 network are these in place as well?
A little bit of additional information is needed so I can help.
Thanks,
Bill
__________________
Billylll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 16:23   #10
Senior Cruiser
 
delmarrey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Now in Blaine, WA
Boat: Modified Choate 40
Posts: 10,702
Images: 122
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billylll View Post
Devices like the GMI 10 and the MFD get power from their own power leads they do not provide power to the NMEA2000 backbone. The GPS17X needs to derive power from the NMEA2000 network.
Correction!
My GMI 10 is getting its power from the backbone.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Garmin
For easy installation, the latest version of the GMI 10 is powered exclusively through the NMEA 2000 network.
https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/on-t...prod11625.html
__________________
Faithful are the Wounds of a Friend, but the Kisses of the Enemy are Deceitful! ........
A nation of sheep breeds a government of wolves!

Unprepared boaters, end up as floatsum!.......
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 17:08   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

Quote:
Originally Posted by delmarrey View Post
Correction!
My GMI 10 is getting its power from the backbone.



https://buy.garmin.com/en-US/US/on-t...prod11625.html
My bad your correct the GMI 10 does get it's power if over NMEA2000 from the NMEA2000 drop, however are you using the GPS 17x in NMEA0183 or NMEA2000 config?
If via NMEA0183 it must get its power through the red and black leads. I had my thoughts crossed if the GPS 17x is wired for NMEA0183. If using it in NMEA2000 it gets it's power through the backbone. Correct me if I'm wrong. I wouldn't want to mislead anyone reading this.
Bill
__________________
Billylll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 19:12   #12
Senior Cruiser
 
delmarrey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Now in Blaine, WA
Boat: Modified Choate 40
Posts: 10,702
Images: 122
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billylll View Post
My bad your correct the GMI 10 does get it's power if over NMEA2000 from the NMEA2000 drop, however are you using the GPS 17x in NMEA0183 or NMEA2000 config?
If via NMEA0183 it must get its power through the red and black leads. I had my thoughts crossed if the GPS 17x is wired for NMEA0183. If using it in NMEA2000 it gets it's power through the backbone. Correct me if I'm wrong. I wouldn't want to mislead anyone reading this.
Bill
You did mention NMEA 2000 in the beginning of your post.
And I do have N2K but I'm using the GPS 19x.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Billylll
If you go to your MFD go to Communications, then click on NMEA2000 you should get a list of all NMEA2000 devices. You can prioritize the GPS from the same menu. Does the plotter show the GPS antenna on it's list of..............
__________________
Faithful are the Wounds of a Friend, but the Kisses of the Enemy are Deceitful! ........
A nation of sheep breeds a government of wolves!

Unprepared boaters, end up as floatsum!.......
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 19:16   #13
Registered User

Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 14
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

Are you using a chart plotter or Garmin MFD?
If so can you see the GPS listed as a connected device under the communications tab?
I believe the GMI 10 has a similar menu.
Bill
__________________
Billylll is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 19:31   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Caribbean Islands
Boat: 48' Alu Cat
Posts: 118
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position



I am not using a chart plotter, I use my notebook & the GMI 10 to display all the info I need. As you can see on the attached doc the GMI 10 displays Wind, Depth, Barometric pressure but not the position. I get some sentences from the GPS, however no position?
I very much appreciate your input, Thank you, Cheers
__________________
Seman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2014, 19:35   #15
Senior Cruiser
 
delmarrey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Now in Blaine, WA
Boat: Modified Choate 40
Posts: 10,702
Images: 122
Re: Garmin GPS 17x NMEA2000 no position

I have the Garmin 6208 and the GPS 19x does show up under the communications tab. Although if there is a non-Garmin device it will not show up on the comm. tab. I found that out when I hooked up the AIS and Heading Sensor. You have to go deeper into the menu, from what I've read, don't know for sure, I've never tried.

I'm not sure if there is a comm. tab on the GMI but you can configure the devices. Haven't tried that either. I don't have a lot of time on my new Garmin system yet.
__________________

__________________
Faithful are the Wounds of a Friend, but the Kisses of the Enemy are Deceitful! ........
A nation of sheep breeds a government of wolves!

Unprepared boaters, end up as floatsum!.......
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, gps, nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will garmin NMEA2000 GPS work with other brand plotters? dennisail Marine Electronics 50 23-03-2014 17:59
For Sale: GPS 17x NMEA 2000 lucseawalker Classifieds Archive 1 12-07-2012 23:46
Can I Connect 2 NMEA2000 Networks using Garmin Marine network? The_Gentleman Marine Electronics 2 21-05-2012 08:46
NMEA2000 Monitor for Engine alessandra Engines and Propulsion Systems 8 11-02-2011 20:18
Is Garmin GARMIN/GARMIN (Host) Mode Working ? Sail323 OpenCPN 13 13-11-2010 07:36



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 23:14.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.