Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 09-11-2013, 17:44   #16
Senior Cruiser
 
Opie91's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CT
Boat: C&C 34
Posts: 867
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

Quote:
Originally Posted by colemj View Post
You can calibrate the WSO100 using Maretron's free software on your computer. Alternately, the GM10 probably has offset functions in its set-up menus. This won't calibrate the sensor itself, but will display the corrected data.

Mark
Mark,

You need the USB100 to do that right? Or do you have some work around?

Thanks
__________________

Opie91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-11-2013, 20:42   #17
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,052
Images: 12
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

That's a good question. We do have a USB100, but also have an Actisense 0183-2000 device. We prefer the Actisense, but I cannot say for certain that we ever used it for calibration of the WSO100 (which only needs to be done once and it was a long time ago). I may have calibrated it with the USB100.

You certainly need some type of connection between your PC and the NMEA2000 network to run that software.

Mark
__________________

__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 00:13   #18
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,202
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

I have installed a few wso100 and gmi10's. I've yet to see a gmi20

there is no need to configure the wso100. just make sure it's mounted forward (it is marked) should work fine out of the box with nothing changed.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 07:38   #19
Senior Cruiser
 
colemj's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Presently on US East Coast
Boat: Manta 40 "Reach"
Posts: 10,052
Images: 12
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

The temperature and pressure needed calibrating on ours. Also, if you don't get the mounting exactly dead centered, you need to change the offset.

All of this can probably be compensated for with the GMI10.

Mark
__________________
www.svreach.com

You do not need a parachute to skydive. You only need a parachute to skydive twice.
colemj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 09:41   #20
Senior Cruiser
 
Opie91's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CT
Boat: C&C 34
Posts: 867
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

Thanks for the help guys. I will put it together and see how it works out. Worst case I will have to buy a USB100.
Opie91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 10:08   #21
Registered User

Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 2,205
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

Think carefully about the mounting. Since it is deriving speed and direction by measuring airflow over multiple sensors, there's some pretty complex math going on. Disturbed airflow can create large errors that vary with the apparent wind direction. I mounted mine on a stalk 18" forward of the mast to get it away from antennas and such.
CarlF is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 10:32   #22
Registered User
 
zboss's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On a boat
Boat: 1987 Cabo Rico 38 #117
Posts: 3,752
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

While I do not have a maretron, I do have a Airmar 200wx and two GMI20's.

They seem to work very well together!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	photo (1).JPG
Views:	588
Size:	112.9 KB
ID:	70307  
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-11-2013, 12:06   #23
Senior Cruiser
 
delmarrey's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Blaine, WA
Boat: Boatless Now
Posts: 10,805
Images: 122
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

Quote:
Originally Posted by CarlF View Post
Think carefully about the mounting. Since it is deriving speed and direction by measuring airflow over multiple sensors, there's some pretty complex math going on. Disturbed airflow can create large errors that vary with the apparent wind direction. I mounted mine on a stalk 18" forward of the mast to get it away from antennas and such.
Ditto!


.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DSCN1009.jpg
Views:	161
Size:	385.4 KB
ID:	70314  
__________________
Faithful are the Wounds of a Friend, but the Kisses of the Enemy are Deceitful! ........
A nation of sheep breeds a government of wolves!

Unprepared boaters, end up as floatsum!.......
delmarrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 17:25   #24
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Annapolis, MD
Boat: Sabre 34-1
Posts: 232
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

My father is about to do an almost identical installation, a WSO100 and a GMI10. He also has a Garmin Chart Plotter/GPS on the network (I forget the model).

He is very concerned about the configuration of the WSO100, to the point he's about to give up and return it.

Did you ever confirm, with certainty, that the WSO100 can be configured from the Garmin GMI20 (and hopefully the GMI10). Or, can the GMI20 be configured with an offset?

A final alternative would be a Actisense NGT-1, as we are considering a "group purchase" so we have one between us. It will allow lots of functionality, and worth it as a shared item.

Please help me talk him into keeping the WSO100, as I talked him into buying it!

Thanks,

Harry
sailingharry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 17:27   #25
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,648
Images: 3
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

easy enough to make up the cables too from scratch.

dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 18:09   #26
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Annapolis, MD
Boat: Sabre 34-1
Posts: 232
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

That would work. I assume you mean a cable from a PC running Maretron software into the N2K network, which would be great. Can you point to tips on that?

Thanks,

Harry
sailingharry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 18:25   #27
Senior Cruiser
 
Opie91's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: CT
Boat: C&C 34
Posts: 867
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

Quote:
Originally Posted by goboatingnow View Post
easy enough to make up the cables too from scratch.

dave
Are you talking about a home brew NMEA2000 to serial adapter? If so more details please.
Opie91 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 18:30   #28
Marine Service Provider
 
witzgall's Avatar

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Eastern Shore, MD
Boat: Camper Nicholson 44 Ketch
Posts: 1,844
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

While you may be able to configure an offset with the GMI10 or 20 (I don't know), that will only affect how that display shows the wind information. To make the changes to what the WSO puts on the network, you need to use a USB100.

Chris

Quote:
Originally Posted by sailingharry View Post
My father is about to do an almost identical installation, a WSO100 and a GMI10. He also has a Garmin Chart Plotter/GPS on the network (I forget the model).

He is very concerned about the configuration of the WSO100, to the point he's about to give up and return it.

Did you ever confirm, with certainty, that the WSO100 can be configured from the Garmin GMI20 (and hopefully the GMI10). Or, can the GMI20 be configured with an offset?

A final alternative would be a Actisense NGT-1, as we are considering a "group purchase" so we have one between us. It will allow lots of functionality, and worth it as a shared item.

Please help me talk him into keeping the WSO100, as I talked him into buying it!

Thanks,

Harry
witzgall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 18:44   #29
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,648
Images: 3
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Opie91 View Post
Are you talking about a home brew NMEA2000 to serial adapter? If so more details please.
No I meant make up your own cables

Dave
__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-01-2014, 18:45   #30
Nearly an old salt
 
goboatingnow's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,648
Images: 3
Re: Garmin GMI 20 & WSO100?

Quote:
Originally Posted by witzgall View Post
While you may be able to configure an offset with the GMI10 or 20 (I don't know), that will only affect how that display shows the wind information. To make the changes to what the WSO puts on the network, you need to use a USB100.

Chris
Crazy that NMEA ignored the whole configuration and setup issues , hence creating the mess that requires more stuff .

Dave
__________________

__________________
Check out my new blog on smart boat technology, networking and gadgets for the connected sailor! - http://smartboats.tumblr.com
goboatingnow is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:22.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.