Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
  This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-09-2013, 13:37   #1
Registered User
 
artisanmach's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Anacortes, WA
Boat: Gulfstar 37 Sloop
Posts: 174
Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

Getting ready to replace my Raymarine st5000+ auto pilot and install a Garmin GHC 10. I am going to use the Raymarine Type 1 M81130 12 VDC Drive unit. has anyone on the forum done this? and are there any problems doing so?
__________________

artisanmach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 13:47   #2
Registered User
 
artisanmach's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Anacortes, WA
Boat: Gulfstar 37 Sloop
Posts: 174
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

Sorry, it's a GHC 10 auto pilot not a GHP 12...
__________________

artisanmach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2013, 14:06   #3
Registered User
 
Freedom45's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Pacific
Boat: Kristen 52
Posts: 266
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

Yes, I have done this, no problem, works fantastic. You will have to install a rudder position sensor.

Chuck
__________________
I Sail, Therefor I ARRrrr...
Freedom45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2013, 21:23   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,669
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

the garmin pump has it's own cable which I think is a 4 wire that plugs directly into the pilot box. unlike ray which is a 2 wire (just power) which you can cut and connect.

so I'm not sure how you would do this.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 11:25   #5
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St Augustine, FL
Boat: Woods Vardo 34 Cat
Posts: 3,205
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

How did you make out with this? did you use a raymarine or garmin rudder sensor. I have a type one also, but no other electronics at the moment. Want the best possible controller within reason for under 2K. Have had problems with some raymarine stuff in the past,mbut drives seem good. also good luck with the S2 course computer so maybe will get a used one of those I'd not the garmin....
__________________
@mojomarine1
Boatguy30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 18:24   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: canada
Posts: 2,669
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

the garmin system doesn't use a rudder sensor.
smac999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 18:41   #7
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St Augustine, FL
Boat: Woods Vardo 34 Cat
Posts: 3,205
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

I think the garmin drive has one built in so you have to use one if using a raymarine drive. Anyway, that's what the garmin tech specs suggest.
__________________
@mojomarine1
Boatguy30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 18:47   #8
Registered User
 
Freedom45's Avatar

Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Somewhere in the Pacific
Boat: Kristen 52
Posts: 266
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

Yes, the Garmin drive has a built in sensor, if you use the Raymarine you need to install a rudder sensor, that is what I did.

Chuck
__________________
I Sail, Therefor I ARRrrr...
Freedom45 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 18:50   #9
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St Augustine, FL
Boat: Woods Vardo 34 Cat
Posts: 3,205
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

So you're happy with it? The one nice thing with Raymarine in the past is a lot of there stuff was interchangeable, but now with the EV it is all different. Apparently no rudder angle sensor on the EV which is nice.
__________________
@mojomarine1
Boatguy30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 13-09-2013, 20:47   #10
Registered User
 
sabray's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wash DC
Boat: PETERSON 44
Posts: 3,168
Works fine. Garmin control head with linear raymarine drive and raymarine rudder sensor. Yes as said if your not using garmin drive you need the sensor. Mines been great except I have developed an annoying interface issue. The auto pilot compass glitches off by 15 to 30 degrees. In service 2 years just fine and now it pulls this stunt. I updated software etc.. Now I will recalibrate again. Hope that fixes it if not. Well the compass is kaput. The kid at garmin support was not well versed. So a tad disappointed. It still holds a course but the bearing line is whacked. Which can a confusing piece that mentally requires constant compensation. I absolutely hated the wire terminations on the ray marine control head. Maybe they got better. Really hope that this compass crap clears on the next calibration. Anyone else seen this?.
sabray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2013, 06:06   #11
Marine Service Provider

Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: St Augustine, FL
Boat: Woods Vardo 34 Cat
Posts: 3,205
Re: Garmin GHC 10 auto pilot with Raymarine drive unit

Huh, 2 years seems to be about the max service life if new raymarine stuff and more alarming the time when they come out with a completely new model.

Was that full time cruising use or weekend use?
__________________
@mojomarine1
Boatguy30 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 14-09-2013, 06:34   #12
Registered User
 
sabray's Avatar

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Wash DC
Boat: PETERSON 44
Posts: 3,168
Weekends and summer cruising. Used almost always while sailing. Still works just the bearing line and compass heading Re off anywhere from 15 to 30 degrees. Hoping that calibration fixes it again for more then 4 hours.
__________________

sabray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, marine, paracelle, raymarine

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Advertise Here


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 16:09.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.