Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 19-11-2015, 18:15   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Moored in Anacortes, Wa
Boat: Rawson 30PH
Posts: 49
Send a message via Skype™ to Captain Puget
Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

I am considering adding a wind transducer to my Garmin chart plotter & auto pilot setup (therefore the G-Wind product) and I would appreciate any comments on the wireless vs wired option.

Tradeoffs seem to be:
- battery at masthead that might need servicing/ but no cables to route in the mast
- wireless is $100 more


Comments?

- Thank you
__________________

__________________
Captain Puget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 19-11-2015, 18:58   #2
Registered User
 
zboss's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On a boat
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 3,426
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Captain Puget View Post
I am considering adding a wind transducer to my Garmin chart plotter & auto pilot setup (therefore the G-Wind product) and I would appreciate any comments on the wireless vs wired option.

Tradeoffs seem to be:
- battery at masthead that might need servicing/ but no cables to route in the mast
- wireless is $100 more


Comments?

- Thank you
Hard wired is preferred. However...

The battery at the masthead doesn't have to be replaced often and its easy to take the whole thing down without unscrewing it. So you can bring it down the mast, replace the battery below and then go back up to replace it.

If you have room for the cables and can get the cables into the mast without dropping the mast or if you are bringing the mast down for many reasons then hard wired is generally the better option IMO.
__________________

__________________
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 06:34   #3
Moderator Emeritus
 
GordMay's Avatar

Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Thunder Bay, Ontario - 48-29N x 89-20W
Boat: (Cruiser Living On Dirt)
Posts: 31,573
Images: 240
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Greetings and welcome aboard the CF, Captain.
__________________
Gord May
"If you didn't have the time or money to do it right in the first place, when will you get the time/$ to fix it?"



GordMay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 07:07   #4
Moderator
 
a64pilot's Avatar

Cruisers Forum Supporter

Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Albany Ga.
Boat: Island Packet 38
Posts: 17,032
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Do you have a conduit in your mast now and or is your mast keel stepped.
I ask as I have wires that slap around in my mast and drive me nuts, be nice if they weren't there
__________________
a64pilot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 08:37   #5
bmz
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Annapolis, MD
Boat: Irwin Citation 34
Posts: 149
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

I have the wired unit; and, it cost me over thousand dollars to install it. It has three separate components, masthead unit, wires and NMEA 2000 transformer. The long set of wires going up the mast were defective, as was the transformer. Troubleshooting was a bear.
__________________
bmz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 08:56   #6
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lake Ontario south shore
Boat: Catalina 30 MkII
Posts: 4
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Captain P,

I had the same question to myself this spring. I purchased the wireless unit and installed it myself while the mast was on the hard. The unit has worked flawlessly all year. My mast which is deck mounted had a conduit, but getting the wiring the rest of the way through to nav station network location was looking to be brutal. Happy to have spent the $100 to avoid the aggravation. I think between the solar panel and the battery - battery life shouldn't be much of an issue.

Rick
__________________
rikker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 09:20   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 146
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Question for BMZ: I have the same set up as you...Have replaced the GBD10 for no change....not getting data. Logic dictates it is the unit or the cable. Any tricks learned. Intertesting to note that two of us who went wired are having similar problems.
Brent
__________________
rbrentp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 09:38   #8
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Moored in Anacortes, Wa
Boat: Rawson 30PH
Posts: 49
Send a message via Skype™ to Captain Puget
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Thank you for the input!

The mast is deck stepped and currently removed during the retrofit (on the hard). Therefore, I have easy access to the conduit.... but the internal wiring to the nav station may be more problematic, and the wireless unit may end up cheaper after the "time cost" of internal cable routing and avoids the "pinch point" during mast stepping.

Current inclination - wireless for both radar & G-Wind
__________________
Captain Puget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 09:44   #9
Registered User
 
montenido's Avatar

Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Lying La Paz, BCS
Boat: 1979 Marshall Californian 42 LRC
Posts: 339
Images: 4
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

I installed the wireless set up on my boat and it was amazing (sold the boat). Hurricane Odile tore off the stabilizing fins of the wireless transducer and Garmin replaced the whole works free (several months out of warranty). I recommend the wireless.

Cheers, Bill
__________________
M/V Ansedonia
'91 Californian 52 CPMY
Channel Islands, CA
montenido is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 11:26   #10
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Lake Ontario south shore
Boat: Catalina 30 MkII
Posts: 4
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Cap'n Puget

>>Originally Posted by Captain Puget
I am considering adding a wind transducer to my Garmin chart plotter & auto pilot setup

I bought the Garmin wireless bundle w DST speed and wireless wind to go w a Garmin 741sx and GMI20 instrument. Garmin doesn't have a sailboat wheel autopilot for my boat. What do you have? I was thinking of getting a Raymarine EV100 to go on my Garmin NMEA 2000 network.

Rick
__________________
rikker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 11:50   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Moored in Anacortes, Wa
Boat: Rawson 30PH
Posts: 49
Send a message via Skype™ to Captain Puget
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Sorry, no help with the wheel steering option - Current setup is hydraulic steering with:
- Garmin GPSMAP 7607xsv
- Garmin Reactor Hydraulic Corepack with SmartPump
- GRF 10 Rotary Rudder Feedback Sensor

Newly purchased older boat - I had to replace all the current, non-functional electronics with the above and only got a one week of use while repositioning boat for retrofit this winter, but worked fine ... instructions were a little unclear, but figured it out (a menu tree cheat sheet I made really helped). The "auto routing" feature was great! Just select the end point destination and depth requirements, and off you go. Easy and quick when single handing.

Adding (thanks to the advice from all the nice people responding on CF):
- 18xHD Radar
- Gwind Wireless Transducer
__________________
Captain Puget is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 20-11-2015, 13:03   #12
bmz
Registered User

Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Annapolis, MD
Boat: Irwin Citation 34
Posts: 149
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rbrentp View Post
Question for BMZ: I have the same set up as you...Have replaced the GBD10 for no change....not getting data. Logic dictates it is the unit or the cable. Any tricks learned. Intertesting to note that two of us who went wired are having similar problems.
Brent
Surprisingly, the long cable was bad. No one expects a bad cable. I replaced two masthead units and two NMEA Transformers before I tested the cable. Another trick I learned is to essentially bench test all the components; troubleshooting from the masthead is expensive.
__________________
bmz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2015, 09:23   #13
Registered User
 
OS2Dude's Avatar

Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Boat: Catalina 30
Posts: 144
Images: 5
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

I bought a gWind Wireless unit, since I could not afford to have my mast pulled. It is great, except every so often it drops out. Not sure why, contacted Garmin and all they had to offer was 'tighten the cables'. DUH! It still happens occasionally, and to 'fix' it I have to switch off the NMEA 2K network and turn it back on. I do not know if the wireless signal is an issue, the translator (gWind is not native NMEA 2K) has an issue or if it is somewhere down the network. (None of the other NMEA devices have issues though...)

The receiver is located at the top of the hanging locker just starboard of the mast base, the translator is at the bottom of the locker and from there it is about 15 feet to the power connector and the main part of the network.
__________________
OS2Dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2015, 14:10   #14
Registered User
 
zboss's Avatar

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: On a boat
Boat: Cabo Rico 38
Posts: 3,426
Re: Garmin G-Wind - Wired or Wireless?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OS2Dude View Post
I bought a gWind Wireless unit, since I could not afford to have my mast pulled. It is great, except every so often it drops out. Not sure why, contacted Garmin and all they had to offer was 'tighten the cables'. DUH! It still happens occasionally, and to 'fix' it I have to switch off the NMEA 2K network and turn it back on. I do not know if the wireless signal is an issue, the translator (gWind is not native NMEA 2K) has an issue or if it is somewhere down the network. (None of the other NMEA devices have issues though...)

The receiver is located at the top of the hanging locker just starboard of the mast base, the translator is at the bottom of the locker and from there it is about 15 feet to the power connector and the main part of the network.
I have the same problem with my GWind wireless. Did not have that problem with my previous wired instrument.
__________________

__________________
zboss is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
garmin, wind

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Garmin wind instruments gws 20 wireless cashgar Marine Electronics 12 03-11-2015 19:21
Wired Magazine / America's Cup 72s David M Multihull Sailboats 3 20-09-2011 06:00
Solar Panels Wired in Series / Parallel SailFastTri Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 04-08-2010 07:51
Wired by a Kindergartner kb79 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 46 29-01-2010 17:56
Experience with loose wired anodes fastcat435 Electrical: Batteries, Generators & Solar 6 28-05-2008 00:33



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 18:23.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.