Cruisers Forum

Join CruisersForum Today

Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 10-02-2016, 20:10   #1
Registered User

Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: MN
Boat: Irwin ketch 37 ft.
Posts: 12
Garmin 18 Radar

I am stuck in Miami waiting to cross so am trying to fix all of my old stuff.
My Garmin 18 radar has not worked since I bought the boat but I was told, by Garmin, that it is usually due to power or data cable. I only have about 10 volts at the end of my power cable but 12.6+/_ at the breaker. Any way to fix this without string a new power cable?
Aird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2016, 22:07   #2
Registered User

Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 81
Re: Garmin 18 Radar

A voltage drop of 2.6 Volts is a pretty serious drop. Either you have corroded connections or you are pulling much more current than the wiring is designed for. I would check for corrosion first.

You could also buy a voltage booster. There are several on the market of those, but they tend to cut out at around 10 Volts in order to protect the battery.

Cheers, ....Erik.
ve7mdl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2016, 00:10   #3
Registered User

Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Bellingham
Boat: Nordic 44
Posts: 89
Re: Garmin 18 Radar

Presuming the radome is mounted on the main mast there is probably a junction at the mast step the is poorly done and/or corroded in the bilge area. If that would be the case the splicing of the shielded pair control and signal wiring would be suspect also. Even without control and signal connections, you should hear the radome drive motor run for 10 sec after the power leads are energized. Once you have the voltage drop addressed, suggest calling Garmin tech support. They were very responsive in diagnosing ours.

Good luck,
John P

Sent from my LG-V410 using Cruisers Sailing Forum mobile app
japarker11 is offline   Reply With Quote

garmin, radar

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can we pair garmin glo with Garmin blue charts on a ipad cashgar Marine Electronics 2 23-10-2013 17:31
Want To Buy: Garmin Bluechart data cards for older garmin tortola7 Classifieds Archive 1 04-06-2013 18:45
Is Garmin GARMIN/GARMIN (Host) Mode Working ? Sail323 OpenCPN 13 13-11-2010 06:36

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 13:39.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.