Cruisers Forum
 


Join CruisersForum Today

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 21-06-2013, 15:53   #1
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 703
Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

I am currently trying to rationise my instrument system.
I have compass & gps N2K, to AP (simnet) & everthing else is 0183.

Does anyone know if NMEA0183 in on the RD33 appears on the N2K bus?
Or is it just on the instrument. In the manual it gives the I/O sentences/PGN's supported but doesn't say whether it implements them into the bus.
I am trying to get adjusted wind in to the N2K bus without going for something N2K at masthead.
Thanks (in adv.) for any help offered.
__________________

__________________
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 16:04   #2
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,423
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

page 9-10 of the RD33 manual states it creates PGN130306 from the 0183 sentence MWV and/or VMR.
__________________

__________________
DotDun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 16:23   #3
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 703
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

Quote:
Originally Posted by DotDun View Post
page 9-10 of the RD33 manual states it creates PGN130306 from the 0183 sentence MWV and/or VMR.
"Output"....Duh! The manual I first read only had supported parameters.
Have now found the whole deal...very comprehensive. Thankyou!
This will fit my needs without an NGW-1.

It pays to fully alert buying online as some of the documentation is sketchy.
I just bought a actisense NGT-1 ISO as it was linked with a picture of a USB
plug. Me thinking it was the ISO version of the NGT-1 USB. It can be used
with a serial to USB convertor but is not supported by Airmar as is the NGT-1 usb.*
Must be ever vigilant.
*From Actisense engineer.
__________________
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 16:52   #4
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narragansett Bay
Boat: Able 50
Posts: 3,052
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

Have you read this information sheet ? It is very thorough.

http://furunousa.com/ProductDocument...k%20Design.pdf

The Furuno 5002 busbar can certainly work with 0183. The RD33 is a great unit offering more information than a mere mortal can possibly need. Whenever my traditional instruments crap out they won't be replaced. One RD33 does it all.
__________________
savoir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 21-06-2013, 16:56   #5
Registered User

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SW Florida
Boat: FP Belize, 43' - Dot Dun
Posts: 3,423
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

Quote:
Originally Posted by lateral View Post
"Output"....Duh! The manual I first read only had supported parameters.
Have now found the whole deal...very comprehensive. Thankyou!
This will fit my needs without an NGW-1.

It pays to fully alert buying online as some of the documentation is sketchy.
I just bought a actisense NGT-1 ISO as it was linked with a picture of a USB
plug. Me thinking it was the ISO version of the NGT-1 USB. It can be used
with a serial to USB convertor but is not supported by Airmar as is the NGT-1 usb.*
Must be ever vigilant.
*From Actisense engineer.
Glad to help. Be sure to read how to enable the output as it's not on by default.
__________________
DotDun is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 18:01   #6
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 2,941
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

Quote:
Originally Posted by savoir View Post
Have you read this information sheet ? It is very thorough.

http://furunousa.com/ProductDocument...k%20Design.pdf
Thanks for the link. That was very informative.

I helped install an RD-33 last month. I think they have a dedicated connector for NMEA0183 in/out, but the cable is a special order. We fed GPS data to the DSC VHF using that output.
__________________
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 18:25   #7
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narragansett Bay
Boat: Able 50
Posts: 3,052
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

Those things can display so many functions it's crazy.

Did you know that last winter my boat was blocked with a 0.5 deg list to port and 1.6 deg bow up trim ? I complained of course. Their reply had something to do with pineapples.
__________________
savoir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 18:33   #8
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 703
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

In the manual it is listed as MJ-A6SPF0003 which is a standard NMEA connector with pigtail. Looks like they come with no cables. (?)
__________________
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 18:49   #9
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narragansett Bay
Boat: Able 50
Posts: 3,052
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

They come with 6m of cable


Packing List RD33.pdf
__________________
savoir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 19:00   #10
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 703
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

Gotta get rid of that old manual.
Is that from Jan 2010 manual?
Also, do you know whether Furuno is supplying firmware for user upgrades?
And can it be done with any MFD with a sd slot or only 3D up?
(Or return to dealer.)
Thanks Savoir, I seem to be getting conflicting info from the net.
__________________
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 19:39   #11
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narragansett Bay
Boat: Able 50
Posts: 3,052
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

All I can say is that I have one still in the box and there really is 6m of cable inside. Yes, I did open it and look. I bought two a year ago but only fitted one.

The unit will display data from any 0183 or 2000 source.
__________________
savoir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 20:19   #12
Registered User
 
lateral's Avatar

Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: NZ
Boat: S34 Bob Stewart - 1959 Patiki class. Re--built by me & good mate.
Posts: 703
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

The unit will display data from any 0183 or 2000 source.

Beauty! That what I need.
I just bought one online, now I can delete some NX2 displays but keep the FDX data
& display on the RD33. I will do a bench test before getting rid of any displays. Less holes in my cockpit bulkhead. Progress.
__________________
lateral is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 20:39   #13
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 2,941
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

Quote:
Originally Posted by savoir View Post
They come with 6m of cable
6m of NMEA2000 cable.

The NMEA0183 cable is not included. Section 9-3 of the manual.
__________________
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 20:46   #14
Registered User

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Narragansett Bay
Boat: Able 50
Posts: 3,052
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

So ?

There is no cable that takes both systems. You only ever get one or the other and only ever did.
__________________
savoir is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 23-06-2013, 21:05   #15
Registered User

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Toronto
Boat: Sandpiper 565
Posts: 2,941
Re: Furuno RD33 NMEA 0183 in....

Quote:
Originally Posted by savoir View Post
So ?

There is no cable that takes both systems. You only ever get one or the other and only ever did.
Sorry, I thought someone was trying to also get NMEA 0183 in/out of the GP-33. That's why I mentioned about that cable. Cheers.
__________________

__________________
Lake-Effect is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
furuno, nmea

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 20:53.


Google+
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Social Knowledge Networks
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.

ShowCase vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.