Cruisers Forum

This discussion is proudly sponsored by:
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about their products on Cruisers Forums. Advertise Here

Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-02-2014, 09:24   #1

Boat: Islander 32 MII "Brilliant Sea"
FURUNO QUESTIONS!

Hello everyone, looking for some help with a couple radar issues.

The boat I bought last Sept.(Islander 32) came with a Furuno 1720. It turns on and the antenna spins but it doesn't pick anything up. I had the cover off last fall and when I put it back on I didn't know to line up the arrows(I'm a noob) so it could still work. I wont be down to the boat till the 20th so I'll find out if that is what it is(or isn't). I know it's old but if it works I won't complain.

IF it isn't, I have read it could be either the video cable or the magnatron.
1. How can I test the cable without removing it(the cable) from the mast?
2. If it is the magnatron, is it worth it or even possible to change it?
I have read about how to test it so I will post the results as soon as I
can.

My second dilemma is that I bought a used(barely) Furuno 1732c with a 24" radome and a new Garmin gp320b waas antenna. I think it's too big for my boat however it will fit on the old mast mount. Is it too big? I'm worried about the genoa catching on it and how the wind and weight will have an affect. The mount is about 17' off the deck. It(the 1732c) has only seen two seasons on a trawler and is in super duper good condition.

I won't be cruising where I need radar for another year but I want to have either system working so I can train myself how to use them.

If I can get the older model to work and if the newer one isn't overkill I'd like to sell it for a fair price or just sell the newer one for what I paid for it($1,600 with the Garmin). I have had the 1732c temporarily hooked up and it is awesome!

I will keep you all posted if I decide to sell stuff if anyone is interested.